We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinsa's Restaurant

Pinsa's Restaurant
Spaarndammerstraat 770, 1013TG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 386 8680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 2,253 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Ice Cream, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the World Pizza Championship 2013 we are 11 in the world and 1 in Nederland.The reasons why our pizzas are special: We use one of the best Italian mixtures of flour: bio soybean, wheatand rice flour. We leave our dough to rise for 48/72 hours. Features of our Pizza: Thin - Crispy - Low calorieand - Light - Easily Digested. We have special rooms for large groups (26 people). It's still best to book a table in advance (one week) on Thursday, Friday and Saturday
South Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Enjoyed our evening here last week. The pizzas are very good and a wide choice of toppings. It gets busy so may be worth booking or getting there early. We arrived about 5.30pm. It is not fast food so be prepared for a relaxed evening. if you are in a hurry it is not for you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    39
    7
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Authentic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It's about 30mins walk from the centre but a fairly straightforward route which is always well-lit and pedestrian friendly. The interior feels very authentically Italian and it's easy to forget you're in the middle of Amsterdam. The food was excellent (have the bread and oil antipasti, the olive oil has some really tasty spices) and the pizzas are delicious and filling. The prices are cheaper than any upmarket pizza place in the UK. An all-round good meal out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great Pizzaiolo & Great Gluten free pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Was at the restaurant today for the first time.
My friend and I had a great pizza (me gluten free and him normal).
We will for sure go back and advise everyone looking for a good pizza to try this place.
Danilo is also a great host and showed us around the restaurant and told us a few secret about good pizza!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Good service, pizza with aftertaste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 really wanted to find a great pizza place. When we read reviews on Pinsas, we thought we had found it. Guess not.

We ordered 4 pizzas - 2 Margherita and 2 Funghi. When we left, we had over 1 pizza remaining and did not take it home. As some other reviewers mentioned, the pizza has too much of something - garlic, butter, olive oil, ? Something is pooled on top of the cheese and leaves a bad aftertaste. Although the service was great and friendly, we will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pinsas, Proprietario at Pinsa's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

In your profile I read that in one day "October 23 2013" you have wrote 9 reviews, which 8 in Rome and 1 in Amsterdam.
When you wrote the reviews you might have made some confusions of restaurants.

I our pizzas we don’t use any butter and I would like to explain you the reason.

Oils and butter react differently to heat, but in general, the hotter they get the more they break down and start to smoke out. That means that certain oils are better for high heat cooking than others. The temperature at which a given oil will start to smoke is called its "smoke point". To say that an oil has a high smoke point means that it can be heated to a relatively high temperature before it starts to smoke.

There are drawbacks to cooking with butter. It has the lowest low smoke point of any form of fat. Another technique for achieving high-temperature cooking with butter is to use "clarified butter" (which the milk solids and water have been removed) but even in clarified butter the smoke point is not constant.

For this reason in our pizzas we use only the olive oil.

All our pizzas toppings are fresh. We do not use "canned food" that they are full of chemicals (preservatives) and this methods drastically altered the character of the food. For example, for the mushrooms in our pizzas we use only fresh and first quality. The mushrooms are seasoned with fresh parsley, fresh garlic and olive oil.

If you need lessons, we are also Italian cooking school (www.pinsa.com). You can register and we can teach you more about the difference between butter and oil and explain how to use them in the cooking.
Moreover, we are the first and only professional school of pizza in the Netherlands. We have trained persons that have opened there on pizzerias and are now popular.

I hope you will find this information useful

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like pizza...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

...this is where you should go! Great choice, fresh ingredients, very nice pizzas, some with a creative take on toppings. We've had a few happy evenings there and will certainly come back for more. Grazie mille!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinsa's Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pinsa's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinsa's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.