We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware-Hidden Fees and Surly Owner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Save Saved
You added Frans Hals Loft to your Saves list
Frans Hals Loft
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frans Hals Loft
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware-Hidden Fees and Surly Owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked this accommodation through Hotels.com, with our reservation it did not state anything about contacting the owner prior to our stay, nor did he bother to contact us until literally the hour before we were due to check into the Frans Hals Lofts.
To our surprise we were informed that we need to pay a $200 damage deposit, in addition to the agreed amount with hotels.com and a tourist tax of 5%, this all had to be in cash. We did not expect this, we were going to pay for our stay with a credit card. We told this to the owner and he was very rude about it, stating that we should have contacted him and he only takes cash. Again, we told him as per Hotels.com they said we could pay credit and they said we did not need to contact him, we even produced the copy of the contract from hotels.com. At that point we should have walked away but we were too fatigued to look for another accommodation. He just proceed to tell us we need to find a bank and get his money.
Once we got into the apartment, his manner continued to be abrasive, he was irritated that we had a large size suit case and made that very clear. He continued to say that we should have contacted him. My question for the owner is since you have so many specific rules, why would you not contact your clients prior to their stay? A suggestion would be to establish contact a month prior rather than the hour before they are due to check-in outlining your many requests, this gives all parties involved a fair chance to cancel if need be. This experience left us with a bad perception of your customer service skills, perhaps if we had been prepared for what your expectations were then this may not have created a substandard impression of the Frans Hals Loft. It appears to be all about the money. This place is not worth the poor treatment we received. Anyone looking to book here, you can find something better in Amsterdam.
We can say the location is quaint, out of the way from major traffic but the hospitality from the owner is seriously lacking. The room itself is clean however became very hot as there is no a/c it did create an uncomfortable sleep.
Hopefully the owner reads this and improves upon his customer service skills, also you (owner) may want to start considering the use of credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wienik, Owner at Frans Hals Loft, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Laura,

We are very sorry you feel this way. However, you could have read about most of the things you found as as reasons to write your crushing review, on the Hotels.com page.
Allow me to quote the Hotels.com page for the Frans Hals Loft:

"Key facts

Special Instructions: There is no front desk at this property. Please contact the property ahead of time to make arrangements for check-in.
Please note that the Loft is located on the top floor and is reached climbing narrow steps, so big or heavy luggage cannot be brought along.
As of January 2012, all reservations are excluding taxes.

Required at check in

Cash deposit required
Government-issued photo ID required"

"Mandatory fees

You’ll be asked to pay the following charges at check in or check out:

A 5.5 percent city/local tax will be charged

Deposit: EUR 200 per stay (cash only)"

We have no way of editing or even seeing the confirmation e-mails Hotels.com send to our guests. So we can't help but feel heart-broken and frankly, slightly offended by your review blaming us for your failure to read the information before placing the booking, and for the mixed messages Hotels.com sends. Even more information could have been found if you would have taken the time to Google us. The rating is just uncalled for, even if we failed to hide our mild irritation with the large luggage (mostly aimed at Hotels.com, not at you) and failed to notice we had had no contact yet. You also didn't mention or show any discontent in person, so you gave us little chance set things straight.

We are indeed very sorry for not not being able to hide our irritation with misinformed guests, again, this irritation is aimed at Hotels.com, not our guests. We are also sorry we were too late in noticing we had had no contact yet. We will work on this.
If you would have asked we would have brought a room fan, old buildings usually don't have ac in Amsterdam. We have very little hot days a year.
Our business is too small to accept credit cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the loft and found it to be ideal for us - very comfortable and plenty of character. Yes, it's four flights up a very narrow spiral staircase, but the owner was there to take our bags up when we arrived and down when we left. The loft is compact but surprisingly open. The kitchen was very well supplied with everything we needed including breakfast items in the fridge. Bonus - possibly the best freshly-ground coffee we've had in Europe. Comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. The location was also great, in the district called De Pijp ("The Pipe") which has plenty of restaurants and bars close by, and 5 minutes from the Albrert Cujp Market. Will definatly come back to enjoy life in Amsterdam?

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the loft for three nights for a mini break! We absolutely loved everything about the loft! A proper Amsterdam experience!! The loft is located in a very nice area! Quiet and beautiful! There are plenty of restaurants and bars very close by and the centre of Amsterdam is a ten minute tram ride away!! You can walk to the national museum and Vondel park from the loft! Also there is a very nice market literally a two minute walk away!

The loft itself is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! It has everything that you could possibly need! Other reviews mention steep stairs but my husband and I found the stairs no problem at all! So do not let that put you off as you will truly be missing out on a great experience! When we arrived which was quiet late in the evening the owner Wienek was there to greet us and took us up to the loft carrying one of our bags! We found that the Fridge was stocked with Breakfast items and even beer which was greatly appreciated after our flight! Tea, coffee, fresh bread! Perfect!!! There as even shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom for us! Wienik could not have been more welcoming or helpful, we forgot to bring our tickets for the heiniken experience and he printed them out for us! On departing the loft he ordered us a taxi and prior to arriving emailed me directions on how to get to the loft and provided me with a list of local restaurants and bars! Perfect!

The loft itself was very good value for money! As i mentioned it is in a gorgeous area of Amsterdam! It is very easily located! And the loft itself is very very clean and very nicely decorated, layed out, and has all amenities that one would need!

I very strongly recommend that you book this loft on your next trip to Amsterdam!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really loved our 4 nights stay in this loft apartment. The owner was lovely and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The fridge came fully stocked and the apartment had everything we needed to cook a few nights dinner. Great location, around the corner from the Heineken Brewery and within walking distance of some other sights. It's located in a nice little street which was quiet during the day with a few bars and local hangouts opening at night. It felt like the 'real' Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April...The apartment is very comfy. and clean . The small kitchen is very functional and the fridge was VERY well stocked....( eggs, bacon, milk, cheese, bread ,butter and more )..The bed is extremely comfortable...As almost everyone else has said , the stairs up to the room are quite steep and narrow but really worth the effort .( heavy cases not recommended ) The apartment is flooded with sunshine in the morning and really quiet at night...As for the location...PERFECT...Close to the market, museums , and lots of restos and cafes nearby. ( very good coffee )...There are 2 supermarkets around the corner. The host was on hand to check us in and even printed our airline tickets on check out...Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful city. .Hope to stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This apartment is a little gem. You DO need to be fit (not necessarily young) to get up and down the narrow and steep stairwell. Be realistic; if you’re 80+lbs over and have bad knees, this is NOT the place for you. That said, this charming attic apartment is in a great spot--not too far from anything. There are lots of good restaurants nearby and the wonderful Albert Culp market. Wienik, the owner, is right on! The fridge was well stocked---good quality products. We stayed a week and hope to return.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband booked this place for 4 days stay in May 2013. One of his colleagues recommended this place and it was really a perfect choice. Whenever I recall the time we spent here, I am completely lost in the beautiful memories. Staff members were very accommodating; they never behaved liked strangers and were very friendly. Every request was properly heard and considered. Rooms were very beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed was comfortable and washroom was luxurious. Food was mind blowing. We had a great time together in this gorgeous property. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.