We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location! Excellent Loft!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frans Hals Loft to your Saves list
Frans Hals Loft
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location! Excellent Loft!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the loft for three nights for a mini break! We absolutely loved everything about the loft! A proper Amsterdam experience!! The loft is located in a very nice area! Quiet and beautiful! There are plenty of restaurants and bars very close by and the centre of Amsterdam is a ten minute tram ride away!! You can walk to the national museum and Vondel park from the loft! Also there is a very nice market literally a two minute walk away!

The loft itself is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! It has everything that you could possibly need! Other reviews mention steep stairs but my husband and I found the stairs no problem at all! So do not let that put you off as you will truly be missing out on a great experience! When we arrived which was quiet late in the evening the owner Wienek was there to greet us and took us up to the loft carrying one of our bags! We found that the Fridge was stocked with Breakfast items and even beer which was greatly appreciated after our flight! Tea, coffee, fresh bread! Perfect!!! There as even shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom for us! Wienik could not have been more welcoming or helpful, we forgot to bring our tickets for the heiniken experience and he printed them out for us! On departing the loft he ordered us a taxi and prior to arriving emailed me directions on how to get to the loft and provided me with a list of local restaurants and bars! Perfect!

The loft itself was very good value for money! As i mentioned it is in a gorgeous area of Amsterdam! It is very easily located! And the loft itself is very very clean and very nicely decorated, layed out, and has all amenities that one would need!

I very strongly recommend that you book this loft on your next trip to Amsterdam!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really loved our 4 nights stay in this loft apartment. The owner was lovely and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The fridge came fully stocked and the apartment had everything we needed to cook a few nights dinner. Great location, around the corner from the Heineken Brewery and within walking distance of some other sights. It's located in a nice little street which was quiet during the day with a few bars and local hangouts opening at night. It felt like the 'real' Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April...The apartment is very comfy. and clean . The small kitchen is very functional and the fridge was VERY well stocked....( eggs, bacon, milk, cheese, bread ,butter and more )..The bed is extremely comfortable...As almost everyone else has said , the stairs up to the room are quite steep and narrow but really worth the effort .( heavy cases not recommended ) The apartment is flooded with sunshine in the morning and really quiet at night...As for the location...PERFECT...Close to the market, museums , and lots of restos and cafes nearby. ( very good coffee )...There are 2 supermarkets around the corner. The host was on hand to check us in and even printed our airline tickets on check out...Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful city. .Hope to stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This apartment is a little gem. You DO need to be fit (not necessarily young) to get up and down the narrow and steep stairwell. Be realistic; if you’re 80+lbs over and have bad knees, this is NOT the place for you. That said, this charming attic apartment is in a great spot--not too far from anything. There are lots of good restaurants nearby and the wonderful Albert Culp market. Wienik, the owner, is right on! The fridge was well stocked---good quality products. We stayed a week and hope to return.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband booked this place for 4 days stay in May 2013. One of his colleagues recommended this place and it was really a perfect choice. Whenever I recall the time we spent here, I am completely lost in the beautiful memories. Staff members were very accommodating; they never behaved liked strangers and were very friendly. Every request was properly heard and considered. Rooms were very beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed was comfortable and washroom was luxurious. Food was mind blowing. We had a great time together in this gorgeous property. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great apartment, has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean, stocked fridge on arrival. Fantastic location is in a residential area so has the advantage of great eating places away from the sometimes tacky (but great fun) tourist areas. Within walking/cycling distance of all attractions but good transport links if your not feeling so active. Would not hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.