We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frans Hals Loft to your Saves list
Frans Hals Loft
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really loved our 4 nights stay in this loft apartment. The owner was lovely and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The fridge came fully stocked and the apartment had everything we needed to cook a few nights dinner. Great location, around the corner from the Heineken Brewery and within walking distance of some other sights. It's located in a nice little street which was quiet during the day with a few bars and local hangouts opening at night. It felt like the 'real' Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April...The apartment is very comfy. and clean . The small kitchen is very functional and the fridge was VERY well stocked....( eggs, bacon, milk, cheese, bread ,butter and more )..The bed is extremely comfortable...As almost everyone else has said , the stairs up to the room are quite steep and narrow but really worth the effort .( heavy cases not recommended ) The apartment is flooded with sunshine in the morning and really quiet at night...As for the location...PERFECT...Close to the market, museums , and lots of restos and cafes nearby. ( very good coffee )...There are 2 supermarkets around the corner. The host was on hand to check us in and even printed our airline tickets on check out...Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful city. .Hope to stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This apartment is a little gem. You DO need to be fit (not necessarily young) to get up and down the narrow and steep stairwell. Be realistic; if you’re 80+lbs over and have bad knees, this is NOT the place for you. That said, this charming attic apartment is in a great spot--not too far from anything. There are lots of good restaurants nearby and the wonderful Albert Culp market. Wienik, the owner, is right on! The fridge was well stocked---good quality products. We stayed a week and hope to return.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband booked this place for 4 days stay in May 2013. One of his colleagues recommended this place and it was really a perfect choice. Whenever I recall the time we spent here, I am completely lost in the beautiful memories. Staff members were very accommodating; they never behaved liked strangers and were very friendly. Every request was properly heard and considered. Rooms were very beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed was comfortable and washroom was luxurious. Food was mind blowing. We had a great time together in this gorgeous property. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great apartment, has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean, stocked fridge on arrival. Fantastic location is in a residential area so has the advantage of great eating places away from the sometimes tacky (but great fun) tourist areas. Within walking/cycling distance of all attractions but good transport links if your not feeling so active. Would not hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This little apartment is a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam! The owner was very nice, carried our bags up the small staircase and even suggested some great places to eat that were close by. Keep in mind that this apartment is located on the top floor of a forth floor walk up. The staircase is EXTREMELY tight and steep, so this place might not be suitable for older and younger people. Other than that, the apartment was clean, cozy, and in a Great location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.