We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 2 more sites!
Frans Hals Loft
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Frans Halsstraat 74, Amsterdam 1072 BV, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great apartment, has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean, stocked fridge on arrival. Fantastic location is in a residential area so has the advantage of great eating places away from the sometimes tacky (but great fun) tourist areas. Within walking/cycling distance of all attractions but good transport links if your not feeling so active. Would not hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This little apartment is a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam! The owner was very nice, carried our bags up the small staircase and even suggested some great places to eat that were close by. Keep in mind that this apartment is located on the top floor of a forth floor walk up. The staircase is EXTREMELY tight and steep, so this place might not be suitable for older and younger people. Other than that, the apartment was clean, cozy, and in a Great location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wife and I loved this place. Located in a neighbourhood minutes from everywhere you want to be, this apartment has the best of both worlds. It's in a true neighbourhood so you are where people live and can get away from the rest of the tourists (which we needed), yet you're never far away from things!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hired for 4 nights 28 June to 2 July via Expedia ( but can hire direct on their web site Royal Dutch Blu). Known as Frans Hals Loft on most booking sites except here on Trip Adviser where I had difficulty finding it to review.
As others have said, loft spotless, immaculately decorated and all facilities impeccable. Well stocked fridge on arrival.
It's up 4 flights of narrow steep winding stairs- authentic Amsterdam. Don't take large cases!
The young Dutch guy owner met us and was so friendly and helpful. Kept cases safe before check in time so we could wonder off and hire bikes. Let us have a late check out.
Great eating places nearby, recommend the small Surinamese places. Loads of choice of either local or trendy bars. Prices good in area as its more of a locals choice.
A great place to stay for an authentic Amsterdam city break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at this apartment trom 9th to the 12 sep and were extremely happy when we arrived at our apartment, the taxi was reasonable priced from the station(around 20 euros) and the location of apartment was in a quiet street not far from all amenities.

The owner of the apartment was really helpful, friendly and an all round nice guy. The apartment itself was like a home away from home, gorgeous, comfortable, very clean and just like in the pictures. We were pleasantly suprised and very happy with the "breakfast" food in our fridge.......5 stars guys,

We managed to walk to areas quite a fair distance thanks to maps provided in apartment and the tram stops are conveniently just round the corner from apartment.

We will definately be coming back to stay here if we return to Amsterdam and will be recommending this accomodation to any other couples we know as we were so happy with our experience.

Just one last note to say thank you for holding our bags all day on our day of departure.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

- Excellent communication with owners, who speak and write in perfect English
- Easy to get to by tram
- They took our bags in when we arrived early, so couldn't check in, leaving us free to explore the City until the afternoon
- Exceptionally clean
- Very quiet and lovely area
- Fully stocked fridge (cheese, meat, bread, butter, jam, mayonnaisse, bacon, eggs, ketchup, beer, water, juice)
- Plenty of cooking utensils
- Full length mirror, hairdryer, towels, TV, DVD player, Stereo, Wi-Fi
- Wonderfully comfortable bed
- Be aware if you are tall, it's in the eaves of the house
- Don't take large suitcases or bags as you will find it hard to find space to put them in
- Lots of steep stairs (common in Amsterdam)
- Easy access to all local attractions, either by tram, bike, or walking

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, Amsterdam 1072 BV, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 169 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frans Hals Loft to your Saves list