We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Save Saved
You added Frans Hals Loft to your Saves list
Frans Hals Loft
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frans Hals Loft
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wife and I loved this place. Located in a neighbourhood minutes from everywhere you want to be, this apartment has the best of both worlds. It's in a true neighbourhood so you are where people live and can get away from the rest of the tourists (which we needed), yet you're never far away from things!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hired for 4 nights 28 June to 2 July via Expedia ( but can hire direct on their web site Royal Dutch Blu). Known as Frans Hals Loft on most booking sites except here on Trip Adviser where I had difficulty finding it to review.
As others have said, loft spotless, immaculately decorated and all facilities impeccable. Well stocked fridge on arrival.
It's up 4 flights of narrow steep winding stairs- authentic Amsterdam. Don't take large cases!
The young Dutch guy owner met us and was so friendly and helpful. Kept cases safe before check in time so we could wonder off and hire bikes. Let us have a late check out.
Great eating places nearby, recommend the small Surinamese places. Loads of choice of either local or trendy bars. Prices good in area as its more of a locals choice.
A great place to stay for an authentic Amsterdam city break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at this apartment trom 9th to the 12 sep and were extremely happy when we arrived at our apartment, the taxi was reasonable priced from the station(around 20 euros) and the location of apartment was in a quiet street not far from all amenities.

The owner of the apartment was really helpful, friendly and an all round nice guy. The apartment itself was like a home away from home, gorgeous, comfortable, very clean and just like in the pictures. We were pleasantly suprised and very happy with the "breakfast" food in our fridge.......5 stars guys,

We managed to walk to areas quite a fair distance thanks to maps provided in apartment and the tram stops are conveniently just round the corner from apartment.

We will definately be coming back to stay here if we return to Amsterdam and will be recommending this accomodation to any other couples we know as we were so happy with our experience.

Just one last note to say thank you for holding our bags all day on our day of departure.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

- Excellent communication with owners, who speak and write in perfect English
- Easy to get to by tram
- They took our bags in when we arrived early, so couldn't check in, leaving us free to explore the City until the afternoon
- Exceptionally clean
- Very quiet and lovely area
- Fully stocked fridge (cheese, meat, bread, butter, jam, mayonnaisse, bacon, eggs, ketchup, beer, water, juice)
- Plenty of cooking utensils
- Full length mirror, hairdryer, towels, TV, DVD player, Stereo, Wi-Fi
- Wonderfully comfortable bed
- Be aware if you are tall, it's in the eaves of the house
- Don't take large suitcases or bags as you will find it hard to find space to put them in
- Lots of steep stairs (common in Amsterdam)
- Easy access to all local attractions, either by tram, bike, or walking

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This apartment is the perfect place to stay for a long weekend and is ideally suited for a couple. You are given a warm welcome and the well stocked fridge was very much appreciated. If you enjoy the felixibility of going out for a meal or cooking for yourselves this apartment offers both. It is very clean and comfortable and when we visit Amsterdam we would happily stay again. The only thing I would say is watch out for the stairs they are very steap and if you have a lot of luggage you may stuggle. The centre of the city is easy to reach from the apartment just walking down the road you can catch the 24 or 16 tram which travels straight through to Amsterdam Central Station, however the apartment is ideally situated to just explore the many winding streets and canals. Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

A central yet quiet location (apart from giggling girlies next door-bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper to block out neighbours) with extremely helpful and nice owner who thrives to make your stay as convenient and pleasant as possible. You'll get a very warm welcome accompanied by a properly filled fridge-it is so nice to arrive after a tiring journey and not to have to worry about basic life support! The appartment is in impeccable condition and provides a high standard of facilities such as mini-hifi,microwave/grill,juicer (!),dvd player, fluffy towels and an immensly comfortable bed. It is in an excellent location for going out at night and day (famous Albert cypstraat mark is just there),the museums are a stone throw away and the best Indonesian next door (Spang Makandra, gerard doustraat 39). They don't take reservations; be prepared to wait or be early-menu is in dutch but owner is very helpful in finding the best dish for you. Cycles are brilliant to get around - Wienik,the owner, pointed us to macbike. We had a fabulous stay, thanks very much!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

we arrived and were greeted by host who showed us apartment.its on second floor in quiet street.apartment is spacious and spotlessly clean.the fridge is stocked with basic foods to keep you going.it was lovely to walk in ,put kettle on and make a sandwich without having to go out and find the nearest shop.the tram is around the corner and there are restaurants and shops close by.overall great place in quiet location would recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Hals Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.