We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam, dam fine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added B & B 1680 to your Saves list
B & B 1680
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amsterdam, dam fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I had a 3day, 2 night stop in Amsterdam. 1680 was central to everything. We walked our legs off in every direction. Our room was big, with a soaring ceiling, huge windows, making the room light and airy. Although we did not see our hosts the email correspondence prior to our stay was prompt, courteous and very helpful. As promised the room was quiet and spotless. Lots of places to eat nearby. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted to be inthe thick of the action!
Breakfast was simple, selection of bread rolls, jams, butter, fruit and juice, delivered to your door in the evening. As a diabetic I would have preferred a cheese rather than so much yummy sweet spreads, but that's my issue.

Room Tip: Tip have an early shower as the hot water could be just tepid if you rise late and everyone else has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I flew from Boston, Massachusetts to Amsterdam and stayed at Joost and Dennis' B&B 1680 from July 5-7, 2013. Even prior to our arrival, our correspondes with Jooost had been excellent. He is accurate, conscientious and very polite. As for the location, all I can say is that I don't think there can be a more central location than this B&B. It's truly within walking distance to every important tourist sight in the city. The room was safe, clean and very quiet at night even though it's right smack in the heart of all the night action of Amsterdam. The one shortcoming of the room was that the private new bathroom didn't have shelves and the room didn't have a drawer for clothes and a rack to hang clothes. They also are very generous in terms of storing luggage before and after check-in/check-out times. By the end of our stay, due to the location, I felt like I was the mayor of Amsterdam. Joost and Dennis, thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms at this B&B. We didn't see the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The B & B 1680 is a pleasant place to stay in, but it has two big drawbacks (read on for those).
Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was that the b&b was quite hard to find. If you are having trouble, look for the door beside the window with the wedding dress.

The location of the b&b is very central, almost in the middle of the red light district, but still in a reasonably quiet spot.
Our hosts were all very nice and friendly, trying to do their best to make us feel welcome. And here comes one of the two big drawbacks: the stairs. Elderly people and those with some walking disabilities should be aware of the fact that there is no lift up to the room(s), only a very steep and narrow staircase.

We stayed in the black & white room which is located at the back of the house. That means that the room was quiet (sort of, but I'll get to that later), but I can imagine it can get a bit too hot during summer months (no air-conditioning or something similar).
The room itself is large, rather rustic and decorated in a minimalistic, if stylish, way. Big and comfortable double bed (might be on the hard side for some, though it suited me), a sofa with a table, a tv and a large clothing cupboard. There are two large windows towards a backyard.
The en-suite bathroom is reasonably spacious and spotlessly clean, like the room itself. A few hooks in the wall there would be handy for the towels and other stuff, though.
The wifi is free and works perfectly. The breakfast in the morning is "served" in a basket that the hosts put in front of the door to the room in the evening and it's okay, but very basic. Fruits, a carton of juice, powder coffee or tea-bags, bread, butter, marmelade and those funny chocolate/fruit sprinkles that apparently is a dutch breakfast custom to spread on the bread :)
Bring your own shower gel and shampoo since none of these are supplied, only hand soap. You will get towels though and they are changed every day.
And now it's time for the other big drawback: lack of sound insulation. The building is old and apparently there are strict regulations regarding changing and improving the interior. Hence, noise from the flat above was quite intrusive at times, especially when they were having an evening dinner with friends one night. We heard people walking around on the floor boards and furniture being moved about almost as loud as if it had been inside our own room. There is a rather a lot of noise also when people are walking up and down the stairs outside the room.
To be fair, at night the place was very quiet.

But, all in all, I liked this B&B and might consider staying there again, now that I know about all the pros and cons and am prepared for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I think they are having an identity crisis. Don't expect a B and B unless the second B stands for basket - which I may add along with the phone number for the taxi that I needed to phone at 5 am wasn't delivered on our final morning. Really disappointing finish. The toilet seat in the black and white room is cracked hence it pitches you're backside - not the most comfortable thing . No soap/ shampoo provided - even for the sink. Even hostels provide that , didnt feel like a B&B at all - hence identity crisis. More like a private room in a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The B&B is in a very old house without elevator or a/c but with narrow winding wooden steps. It undoubtedly has character and atmosphere but not any more than that.

You should not choose this b&b if you would like to see or talk to one of the staff or owners, if you like milk in your tea or coffee, appreciate a real breakfast if you are older than 40 and/or are not in olympic condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This B&B is in a great location and very central to all the sight seeing areas. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The room was ideal for the over night stay. There is a fridge, hair-dryer, TV and tea and Coffee facilities. Breakfast was served in a picnic basket that was left outside your door, this included, bread, jam. spreads, fruit juice, brioche and fresh fruit. I would use this B&B again, its simple with no frills and good on cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black and White room. It was quiet and relaxing. No view though outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the white room at the back, neat, clean and comfortable with great shower. Breakfast was not spectacular, however there are so many great pastry shops in the area. This location is central to everything which is great for sight seeing. If you are looking for somewhere where you are free to come and go, left alone and still well accommodated then this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#143 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast 1680
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B 1680, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.