We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B location in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B & B 1680 to your Saves list
B & B 1680
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B location in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I flew from Boston, Massachusetts to Amsterdam and stayed at Joost and Dennis' B&B 1680 from July 5-7, 2013. Even prior to our arrival, our correspondes with Jooost had been excellent. He is accurate, conscientious and very polite. As for the location, all I can say is that I don't think there can be a more central location than this B&B. It's truly within walking distance to every important tourist sight in the city. The room was safe, clean and very quiet at night even though it's right smack in the heart of all the night action of Amsterdam. The one shortcoming of the room was that the private new bathroom didn't have shelves and the room didn't have a drawer for clothes and a rack to hang clothes. They also are very generous in terms of storing luggage before and after check-in/check-out times. By the end of our stay, due to the location, I felt like I was the mayor of Amsterdam. Joost and Dennis, thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms at this B&B. We didn't see the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The B & B 1680 is a pleasant place to stay in, but it has two big drawbacks (read on for those).
Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was that the b&b was quite hard to find. If you are having trouble, look for the door beside the window with the wedding dress.

The location of the b&b is very central, almost in the middle of the red light district, but still in a reasonably quiet spot.
Our hosts were all very nice and friendly, trying to do their best to make us feel welcome. And here comes one of the two big drawbacks: the stairs. Elderly people and those with some walking disabilities should be aware of the fact that there is no lift up to the room(s), only a very steep and narrow staircase.

We stayed in the black & white room which is located at the back of the house. That means that the room was quiet (sort of, but I'll get to that later), but I can imagine it can get a bit too hot during summer months (no air-conditioning or something similar).
The room itself is large, rather rustic and decorated in a minimalistic, if stylish, way. Big and comfortable double bed (might be on the hard side for some, though it suited me), a sofa with a table, a tv and a large clothing cupboard. There are two large windows towards a backyard.
The en-suite bathroom is reasonably spacious and spotlessly clean, like the room itself. A few hooks in the wall there would be handy for the towels and other stuff, though.
The wifi is free and works perfectly. The breakfast in the morning is "served" in a basket that the hosts put in front of the door to the room in the evening and it's okay, but very basic. Fruits, a carton of juice, powder coffee or tea-bags, bread, butter, marmelade and those funny chocolate/fruit sprinkles that apparently is a dutch breakfast custom to spread on the bread :)
Bring your own shower gel and shampoo since none of these are supplied, only hand soap. You will get towels though and they are changed every day.
And now it's time for the other big drawback: lack of sound insulation. The building is old and apparently there are strict regulations regarding changing and improving the interior. Hence, noise from the flat above was quite intrusive at times, especially when they were having an evening dinner with friends one night. We heard people walking around on the floor boards and furniture being moved about almost as loud as if it had been inside our own room. There is a rather a lot of noise also when people are walking up and down the stairs outside the room.
To be fair, at night the place was very quiet.

But, all in all, I liked this B&B and might consider staying there again, now that I know about all the pros and cons and am prepared for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I think they are having an identity crisis. Don't expect a B and B unless the second B stands for basket - which I may add along with the phone number for the taxi that I needed to phone at 5 am wasn't delivered on our final morning. Really disappointing finish. The toilet seat in the black and white room is cracked hence it pitches you're backside - not the most comfortable thing . No soap/ shampoo provided - even for the sink. Even hostels provide that , didnt feel like a B&B at all - hence identity crisis. More like a private room in a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The B&B is in a very old house without elevator or a/c but with narrow winding wooden steps. It undoubtedly has character and atmosphere but not any more than that.

You should not choose this b&b if you would like to see or talk to one of the staff or owners, if you like milk in your tea or coffee, appreciate a real breakfast if you are older than 40 and/or are not in olympic condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This B&B is in a great location and very central to all the sight seeing areas. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The room was ideal for the over night stay. There is a fridge, hair-dryer, TV and tea and Coffee facilities. Breakfast was served in a picnic basket that was left outside your door, this included, bread, jam. spreads, fruit juice, brioche and fresh fruit. I would use this B&B again, its simple with no frills and good on cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black and White room. It was quiet and relaxing. No view though outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the white room at the back, neat, clean and comfortable with great shower. Breakfast was not spectacular, however there are so many great pastry shops in the area. This location is central to everything which is great for sight seeing. If you are looking for somewhere where you are free to come and go, left alone and still well accommodated then this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadeswiss
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to live like a dutch, this is the place! A typical dutch house at the border of the red light district, 3 minutes walking distance from the Dam. The location is perfect.
The room, well is a room, that's it. Simple, clean, minimal, design.
Free wifi, free telephone calls to everywhere. Hairdryer, TV.
No cupboard for the clothes. No shampoo.
We had the white room, facing the canal. It's a bit noisy because the floor is made of wood, so you hear everybody walking upstairs, there was a bit smell of smoking cigarette. We really liked the idea of the basket for breakfast, but instead putting it in front of the door the night before, I would have preferred to have in the morning with fresh bread. But there is a nice cafeteria just at the corner.
100 euro for a night is ok to be in Amsterdam, but they could do an effort to improve it a bit (shampoo, fresh bread).
The owners were nice. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast 1680
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B 1680, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.