We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B & B 1680

Save Saved
You added B & B 1680 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B 1680
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
jadeswiss
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to live like a dutch, this is the place! A typical dutch house at the border of the red light district, 3 minutes walking distance from the Dam. The location is perfect.
The room, well is a room, that's it. Simple, clean, minimal, design.
Free wifi, free telephone calls to everywhere. Hairdryer, TV.
No cupboard for the clothes. No shampoo.
We had the white room, facing the canal. It's a bit noisy because the floor is made of wood, so you hear everybody walking upstairs, there was a bit smell of smoking cigarette. We really liked the idea of the basket for breakfast, but instead putting it in front of the door the night before, I would have preferred to have in the morning with fresh bread. But there is a nice cafeteria just at the corner.
100 euro for a night is ok to be in Amsterdam, but they could do an effort to improve it a bit (shampoo, fresh bread).
The owners were nice. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back from staying here for the weekend and have to say it was so friendly.We stayed in the white room which was very cosy and clean and linen and towels changed each day. Breakfast was ok. Met by Eugenie on arrival and she was so friendly and Joost came to see if we were ok as my boyfriend had sciatica and he gave us tablets which didnt really help but the thought was there, they both could not do enough for you. Would recommend these rooms to anyone thinking of going Amsterdam as they are in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, but wish it had been less(nothing to do with rooms, I just did not like Amsterdam). The room is very basic, clean, ensuite is adequate but small. Breakfast is alright, but its the same every morning, which gets boring quickly. Good price for Amsterdam, only met Eugenie, she was very friendly & helpful. Overall, alright place, be mindful of the stairs they are very narrow & hard to manoeuver with luggage. Also, they need a sign out the front, its difficult to find.

Room Tip: White room is very small, bed is inbuilt in floor which was awkward, choose other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise departing Amsterdam. We stayed in the Black and White room at the back of the property which was spacious and quiet. The main problem was the very steep spiral staircase to get the room made it difficult to get luggage up. They explained that due to heritage limitations with the age of the building they were unable to modify, which is fine, but guests should be aware of this when booking.
While the room was spacious, the bed was uncomfortable and pillows flat. There was also limited airflow in the room which made it very stuffy, and no fan or air con in the room. One window would only stay open a little, while the other was screwed shut.
The breakfast was delivered in a basket outside the bedroom door the night before, so if you are after interaction with your hosts over breakfast, you won't find it here.
There is also no signage at the front of the property to identify it, so we walked past a couple of times before we realised which canal house it was.
I would also recommend a taxi from Centraal Station (if arriving by train) as there are a lot of cobble stones that would test most luggage - it is probably a 15 minute walk with luggage.
If you are after a central location at a reasonable price and prefer to be left alone, then this may be the place for you, but it wasn't really what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this room after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. The price was incredibly reasonable compared with everywhere else in Amsterdam.

The location was perfect for having a taste of the red light district without having to be fully submerged. I imagine that the rooms can be a little noisy at night on the weekends, but it wasn't an issue while we were there. It was an absolute pleasure to stay in a traditional canal side building.

We stayed in the 'Black and White room', the room was very spacious, with bed down one end and large dining table and kitchen area at the opposite end. We didn't use these at all as we were only there briefly. Room also included an ensuite shower/toilet, which was nice.

The only reason we are giving 4/5 is that breakfast left much to be desired. A rather strange mix of bread, jam, chocolate sprinkles and fruit. No tea or coffee at all, so we went out for breakfast both mornings.

The owners kept to themselves though very kindly offered to look after our bags on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Delightful stay in the white room, joost was a great host and gave lots of good recommendations! Breakfast was good- no fresh coffee though. The room had a great view onto the canal! Only downside- very close to the wild red light district!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We only stayed a night and hope we had stayed another night so we can see more of Amsterdam. The B&B is very conveniently located, which makes walking around the city, and catching a train out of Amsterdam Central very easy. It's just at the cusp of the Redlight district, so for 2 female travelers that was an eyeopener, but we didn't feel uncomfortable or unsafe at any point.
We stayed in the room at the back of the house (it's very quiet at night) and it's really cute with original tiles that we thought were very quaint. We wanted a genuine experience of staying in an Amsterdam house and we got it here at B&B1680. Eugenie was very nice and friendly, and we had a fantastic time in Amsterdam. Will not hesitate to return to B&B1680 if we get a chance to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room at the back of the house so it was very quiet at night, the room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast 1680
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B 1680, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.