We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B & B 1680

Save Saved
You added B & B 1680 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B 1680
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Albany, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very basic, ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, but wish it had been less(nothing to do with rooms, I just did not like Amsterdam). The room is very basic, clean, ensuite is adequate but small. Breakfast is alright, but its the same every morning, which gets boring quickly. Good price for Amsterdam, only met Eugenie, she was very friendly & helpful. Overall, alright place, be mindful of the stairs they are very narrow & hard to manoeuver with luggage. Also, they need a sign out the front, its difficult to find.

Room Tip: White room is very small, bed is inbuilt in floor which was awkward, choose other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise departing Amsterdam. We stayed in the Black and White room at the back of the property which was spacious and quiet. The main problem was the very steep spiral staircase to get the room made it difficult to get luggage up. They explained that due to heritage limitations with the age of the building they were unable to modify, which is fine, but guests should be aware of this when booking.
While the room was spacious, the bed was uncomfortable and pillows flat. There was also limited airflow in the room which made it very stuffy, and no fan or air con in the room. One window would only stay open a little, while the other was screwed shut.
The breakfast was delivered in a basket outside the bedroom door the night before, so if you are after interaction with your hosts over breakfast, you won't find it here.
There is also no signage at the front of the property to identify it, so we walked past a couple of times before we realised which canal house it was.
I would also recommend a taxi from Centraal Station (if arriving by train) as there are a lot of cobble stones that would test most luggage - it is probably a 15 minute walk with luggage.
If you are after a central location at a reasonable price and prefer to be left alone, then this may be the place for you, but it wasn't really what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this room after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. The price was incredibly reasonable compared with everywhere else in Amsterdam.

The location was perfect for having a taste of the red light district without having to be fully submerged. I imagine that the rooms can be a little noisy at night on the weekends, but it wasn't an issue while we were there. It was an absolute pleasure to stay in a traditional canal side building.

We stayed in the 'Black and White room', the room was very spacious, with bed down one end and large dining table and kitchen area at the opposite end. We didn't use these at all as we were only there briefly. Room also included an ensuite shower/toilet, which was nice.

The only reason we are giving 4/5 is that breakfast left much to be desired. A rather strange mix of bread, jam, chocolate sprinkles and fruit. No tea or coffee at all, so we went out for breakfast both mornings.

The owners kept to themselves though very kindly offered to look after our bags on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Delightful stay in the white room, joost was a great host and gave lots of good recommendations! Breakfast was good- no fresh coffee though. The room had a great view onto the canal! Only downside- very close to the wild red light district!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We only stayed a night and hope we had stayed another night so we can see more of Amsterdam. The B&B is very conveniently located, which makes walking around the city, and catching a train out of Amsterdam Central very easy. It's just at the cusp of the Redlight district, so for 2 female travelers that was an eyeopener, but we didn't feel uncomfortable or unsafe at any point.
We stayed in the room at the back of the house (it's very quiet at night) and it's really cute with original tiles that we thought were very quaint. We wanted a genuine experience of staying in an Amsterdam house and we got it here at B&B1680. Eugenie was very nice and friendly, and we had a fantastic time in Amsterdam. Will not hesitate to return to B&B1680 if we get a chance to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room at the back of the house so it was very quiet at night, the room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I found this place on the internet. We stayed on the top floor of of the building. It has big windows, a big wooden table where we had breakfast. a bed with canal-view, sofa, tv, free wi-fi. We felt like we were staying in a private apt. Throughly enjoyed our stay. The owners, Eugenia ,Joist, and Dennis made the trip an experience we won't forget. When we went to Paris for a few days they offered to hold our other suitcase there so we would have to lug it around. They even carried our luggage up and down the steep stairway, did our laundry and called the taxi for us. I would highly recommend this place. One other thing, great location, in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Take the top apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

For the price, this is a great B&B. Booking via e-mail was easy and efficient. I received the bigger B&W room, although I'd ooked the smaller one. The room was large (very large in A'dam standards), very clean and well equipped. Breakfast, tea & coffee were delivered to my room the evening before.
Location is as good as it gets - straight in the centre, close to shopping, the dam square, tram line, nightlife andthe metro.
The only word of warning is for elderly or disabled visitors - the stairs to the room are typical Amsterdam - very steep and narrow so could be a problem for some.
Overall highly recommended for a short stay, for singles or couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast 1680

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B 1680, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.