We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Lastage Apartments

Save Saved
You added De Lastage Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
De Lastage Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Valkenburgerstraat 188A, Amsterdam 1011 NC, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Like so many other previous reviews we received late notice on cancellation of our reservation. So late in fact that it was on the day we were due to check in. I was travelling with my family during a time that Amsterdam was showing 85% occupancy! I ended up staying at a beautiful hotel but it made for a very stressful few hours before boarding a train to secure accommodation.

And like so many others before my booking was made and paid in full months in advance!

Save yourself the stress and avoid this establishment!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
72
9
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean VA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed twice before at De Lastage and loved it. I had made reservations again, prepaid in advance through the Web site, and was contacted about five days before my arrival about the problem. Terry, the manager, had already located an equivalent two-bedroom apartment through shortstayreservations.com and arranged for full credit of my payment to be accepted by Short Stay. So it was all rather seamless.

My understanding is that the city of Amsterdam suddenly cracked down on apartment-hotels, making an issue of fire code regulations. Perhaps it is a coincidence, but this happened just after De Lastage got a glowing review in a Dutch newspaper. The place is fully booked, and it must have been a scramble to try to place people while also going to court to deal with this legal challenge, which I suspect came after pressure by regular hotels.

That's no excuse for the problems that others have encountered. But if De Lastage does prevail in court, it really is a terrific place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you very much for your support in this matter. This really means a lot to us.

Unfortunately De Lastage has not (yet) prevailed in court. We are closed for short stay business until further notice. We are working on some angles, but this would not work until somewhere mid 2014.

Should you return to Amsterdam in the future, send us an e-mail to find out where we stand. If we are re-opened we will surely offer you something very nice for your support. Should we still be closed, we are able to help you find an alternative accommodation.

Thanks again!


Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have a similar experiece to the previous reviews. We were already out of the country and was contacted by de Lastage 5 days prior to arrival to Amsterdam that the apartments was closed for legal reasons. We had fully paid for our accomdation 7 months in advance. The staff was not very helpful in finding alternative accomodation and we were left to our own resources. We had 3 young kids with us and this caused a fair bit of stress as we look for suitable accomodation in a busy period in Amsterdam.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like the other posters, we found out a couple of days before staying at De Lastage Apartments that our reservation was cancelled. Expedia called us up and said that De Lastage had a fire code or other issue and needed to suspend operations immediately. As we were already out of the country, this last minute cancellation caused us serious concerns on our trip and we had to spend hours on the phone and on the internet with Expedia to find alternate lodging. Expedia was very helpful in this regard and if anyone ever does book a stay at De Lastage once it sorts out its issues, then I would recommend booking through an outside agency (like Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, etc.). This saved us a lot of money and hassle, since we did not have to pay anything more for the alternate accommodations, which turned out to be very nice (the Radisson Blu on 17 Rusland in Amsterdam, which I highly recommend). I cannot recommend De Lastage to anyone since (i) they had a serious issue that required them to suspend all reservations immediately, and (ii) they did not contact guests directly to inform them of this (I heard from Expedia and not De Lastage, even though I was in communication with their property manager about some requests with our reservation). It was a very annoying experience to deal with and was the one bad aspect of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

One of the reasons that you were informed so late is actually BECAUSE of Expedia. We do not receive guests' e-mail addresses from them, making it very difficult to reach guests in another time zone. Because of the size of their company it takes ages for them to reach you, while we would have contacted you on the day we were closed (September 18) if we had your contact details. So to be honest, we would recommend to book directly through a hotel's website instead of through Expedia or Booking.com. This way you can and will be helped on a much more personal basis.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were informed 5 minutes before we arrived at these apartments that they had been closed down by the local authority. Booking.com found us two hotel rooms at short notice for our 5 day stay however this has cost us hundreds of euros in eating all our meals in restaurants instead of self catering. A dreadful experience that has thoroughly ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Never book these apartments
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked an apartment three months before I was due to stay.
It was cancelled three days before we were due to arrive. I was really looking forward to staying at these apartments. Fortunately Booking.Com found us alternative accommodation of a reasonable level.
Very poor service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself and 3 girl-friends spent 3 nights and 4 days in this facinationg city. The Apartments are situated in an ideal location for getting to and from most desired destinations i.e Dam square, Red Light District, 'Cake Shops',Canal tours etc. There is a supermarket with a cashpoint just up the road and around the corner from the apartment, with an Off Licience next to that. The Trams are very easy to use, and the people were very helpful. The Taxi service offered by De- Lastage was also first class and no more expensive than any of the others. Would definately recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Lastage Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lastage Apartments

Also Known As:
De Lastage Apartments Hotel Amsterdam
De Lastage Apartments Hotel
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 188A, Amsterdam 1011 NC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Lastage Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 De Lastage apartments are equipped with Hastens beds, Smeg kitchen, Flatscreen TV, DVD-player and a stereo system. High Speed Internet (cable) is price-included and telephone is an option if one wants to use one of the rooms as an "office away from the office." Also you will find all the standard household equipment as an iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, hairdryer, coffee machine, water cooker, microwave oven, dishwasher and of course several pans, plates and cutlery. We provide twice-a-week apartment cleaning and linen service by a certified staff under direct management. A professional laundry room has been created in the same building. Other services requested by our guests can also be taken care of. From Monday to Friday our Facility Manager will be in the office in the same apartment building to provide one with personal service for all queries which may arise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your De Lastage Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Lastage Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.