We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Lastage Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Lastage Apartments
Save Saved
You added De Lastage Apartments to your Saves list
Valkenburgerstraat 188A, 1011 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like the other posters, we found out a couple of days before staying at De Lastage Apartments that our reservation was cancelled. Expedia called us up and said that De Lastage had a fire code or other issue and needed to suspend operations immediately. As we were already out of the country, this last minute cancellation caused us serious concerns on our trip and we had to spend hours on the phone and on the internet with Expedia to find alternate lodging. Expedia was very helpful in this regard and if anyone ever does book a stay at De Lastage once it sorts out its issues, then I would recommend booking through an outside agency (like Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, etc.). This saved us a lot of money and hassle, since we did not have to pay anything more for the alternate accommodations, which turned out to be very nice (the Radisson Blu on 17 Rusland in Amsterdam, which I highly recommend). I cannot recommend De Lastage to anyone since (i) they had a serious issue that required them to suspend all reservations immediately, and (ii) they did not contact guests directly to inform them of this (I heard from Expedia and not De Lastage, even though I was in communication with their property manager about some requests with our reservation). It was a very annoying experience to deal with and was the one bad aspect of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

One of the reasons that you were informed so late is actually BECAUSE of Expedia. We do not receive guests' e-mail addresses from them, making it very difficult to reach guests in another time zone. Because of the size of their company it takes ages for them to reach you, while we would have contacted you on the day we were closed (September 18) if we had your contact details. So to be honest, we would recommend to book directly through a hotel's website instead of through Expedia or Booking.com. This way you can and will be helped on a much more personal basis.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    43
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
72
9
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were informed 5 minutes before we arrived at these apartments that they had been closed down by the local authority. Booking.com found us two hotel rooms at short notice for our 5 day stay however this has cost us hundreds of euros in eating all our meals in restaurants instead of self catering. A dreadful experience that has thoroughly ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Never book these apartments
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked an apartment three months before I was due to stay.
It was cancelled three days before we were due to arrive. I was really looking forward to staying at these apartments. Fortunately Booking.Com found us alternative accommodation of a reasonable level.
Very poor service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good morning,

We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage.

We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated to have these permits. Because of the incompetence of civil servants in Amsterdam, a lot of our guests were suddenly standing in front of a closed door.

We have relocated most of our guests ourselves, all extra expenses paid by us. Unfortunately you were one of the guests we couldn't relocate due to lack of time (your arrival date was very close to the date we were actually closed) and/or availability in one of our partner's apartments.

Again, we are very sorry. This is not the way we do business. You can see this from all the other reviews we have on Trip Advisor.

We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam regardless of the way it started. We really do.


Kind regards,


Thierry Smagge
De Lastage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself and 3 girl-friends spent 3 nights and 4 days in this facinationg city. The Apartments are situated in an ideal location for getting to and from most desired destinations i.e Dam square, Red Light District, 'Cake Shops',Canal tours etc. There is a supermarket with a cashpoint just up the road and around the corner from the apartment, with an Off Licience next to that. The Trams are very easy to use, and the people were very helpful. The Taxi service offered by De- Lastage was also first class and no more expensive than any of the others. Would definately recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank you to De'lastage management for making our stay simple,comfortable with no complications and also helping our delayed friend find us ! Firstly id say this is the Mayfair of Amsterdam surrounded with very nice restraunts ,peaceful with a couple of handy supermarkets all with English produce cheaper than home milk,butter,tea bags ect with the top three best coffee shops all on the door stop , one left and ur in the hussle an bustle that is Dams Red light carry on further ur in Dam central ! id reccomend to any1! we all had our own space very spacious aptmnt, made use of the very clean,fully functioning easy to use modern appliances ! with 2 teenagers myself and a friend myself staying in alternative accm in the past i will be returning here on all future visits to Amsterdam ,

Room Tip: we were on 6th floor with veiws over looking the church and clock towers very pretty & relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay with our 2 children.

Good location close to centre, comfortable and spacious. Courteous and attentive staff. Clean and well stocked. Free WIFI, DVD with cinema sound

Comfortable beds - looked like memory foam topers on there to me

Have no fear in booking these apartments - very, very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family, including two girls aged 11 and 14, recently stayed in a two bed apartment for three nights. The apartments feel safe, are spacious, modern and clean - you can make yourself at home and get more space than you would in a 4/5 star city centre hotel (as well as better value for money). The furnishings are fine, although the sofas in the lounge were not especially comfortable.

As for location, we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go and only used public transport twice. I have no idea which route a previous reviewer who took 40 minutes to get to Dam Square used, as we did it in 10-15 minutes comfortably. There are plenty of bars and cafes locally and a large supermarket just around the corner. Note that the supermarket does not accept credit cards, just certain debit cards and cash.

Be aware that the apartments are on a busy main road. The lounge in our apartment was at the front (on the road) and it was noisy with the windows open - if you can shut them then it's quiet. Bedrooms are at the back overlooking a courtyard and were very quiet. There is some construction work going on, but we honestly didn't notice it - this maybe because our apartments were further away from the work than others reviewed here (we were in the '198' block).

All in all would recommend and we would use again if visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Apartments at the back of the development will be quieter as they are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Lastage Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lastage Apartments

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 188A, 1011 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 De Lastage apartments are equipped with Hastens beds, Smeg kitchen, Flatscreen TV, DVD-player and a stereo system. High Speed Internet (cable) is price-included and telephone is an option if one wants to use one of the rooms as an "office away from the office." Also you will find all the standard household equipment as an iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, hairdryer, coffee machine, water cooker, microwave oven, dishwasher and of course several pans, plates and cutlery. We provide twice-a-week apartment cleaning and linen service by a certified staff under direct management. A professional laundry room has been created in the same building. Other services requested by our guests can also be taken care of. From Monday to Friday our Facility Manager will be in the office in the same apartment building to provide one with personal service for all queries which may arise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Lastage Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Lastage Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.