We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but make sure you like the tram” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Zuid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Zuid to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Zuid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Leijenberghlaan 221 | Buitenveldert, 1082 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Musica) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #121 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but make sure you like the tram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed almost a week here and I was extremely pleased with everything. The breakfast was superb and the staff was super friendly. I had a room on one of the top floors and had a spectacular view! The room was big and clean and felt very luxurious (at least when you're a student!). They have massage chairs in the basement, which I used almost every day. After a long day of walking around in Amsterdam, it was wonderful to relax in one of those chairs! The beds are really comfortable, so we slept great every night.

The only thing I wish was different was the distance to the city centre. It's a good 20-minute tram ride to the centre. I enjoy train- and tram rides, but it would have been nice to be a little closer.

Thanks for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and wonderful words about our hotel and the staff. I have already shared your nice compliments with the rest of my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated our spacious rooms, the massage chairs, the anti ox breakfast and the view from your room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    227
    101
    30
    17
See reviews for
48
218
22
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Amazing hotel. Absolutely beautiful, from the lobby to the rooms. Bathroom was fantastic had a great big bath and a shower. Very modern and fresh. Great prices. Would stay here again 100% lovely staff and the surroundings are cute. House keeping also do a good job and if you need anything they bring it right up. Tram 5 minute walk, takes about 20min to get into central Amsterdam. Great!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all of your nice compliments about our hotel and staff. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the NH Musica. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Hopefully we could welcome you back at NH Musica in the nearest future.

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had several days and two night in this hotel due to a training in december and january 2013/2014. Sleeping in a room is not nice: there is no good control of the air condiotioning so I had dry eyes and nose after a night stay. The matrass is poor: hard en not flat. I was glad to go home after one night stay.

The food is simple in breakfast and lunch. I had two diners. The first was terrible. Carpaccio of beef with a little bit of salmon from the other choice of starters. Plates were not clean and full of fingerprints. And desert was sent back to the kitchen: response of the waiter: I had no complaints this evening and the cook likes it.........

The second diner in january was better, but I can not advice you to eat in the hotel. The hotel is situated outside city center and public transport is not nearby (walk of 1500 meters).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your feed-back. Within NH Musica we are pleased to welcome all of our guest and give them the best service we are able to offer. It is actually a disappointment that you feel a lack of service. Unfortunately I can’t change that feeling at the moment but please do accept my sincere apologies and I will make sure that it won’t happen again by discussing your comments within my team so we can improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we would like to welcome you again in NH Musica in your next visit to Amsterdam and get the opportunity to show you that we constantly try to improve our services.

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at NH Musica which I booked via Priceline.

I’ve read a similar review regarding the location, I booked what was the Vondlepark and surrounding areas on this website and it came up with this which I was initially worried about after reading some of the reviews. I must say the location is not perfect , but it wasn’t a problem for us. The area is a quiet residential area and a simple enough walk to the tram and metro, it really wasn’t an issue for us and we did this late at night. The location means that you also go through plenty of great areas of the city on the way into town and for us we used this to explore areas we might not have done if we’d been located more centrally.

The hotel was very clean, the staff polite and I didn’t eat at the hotel so can’t comment on the food. If like us you don’t have breakfast included there is a nice Dutch bakery en route to the station as well as a good Colombian eatery so you have a couple of options.

So if you do book this hotel via a 3rd party website don’t worry about the location, it’s actually quicker to get here from the airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and wonderful words about our hotel and the staff. I have already shared your nice compliments with the rest of my team.
About the location of our hotel, we are indeed not located in the city centre but in the heart of Amsterdam's 'Zuidas’ business district. Like you already have mentioned, it is a simple seven-minute walk to the tram/metro stop. We are looking forward welcoming you again at NH Musica.

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is a little far from downtown but it is in a nice area.
The rooms are beautiful and very clean.
The bed was comfortable.
Staff was really professional and they helped us with directions and gave us some advice where to go during our visit.
We booked the rooms early and they were definitely worth more than we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and compliments about our hotel, the rooms and the staff. We are proud of the product of NH Musica. I have already shared your nice compliments with the rest of my team. Please feel free to contact us directly if you are planning to visit Amsterdam again.

Take care and warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is in a quite residential area. There are no restaurants in the area is the one downside. The hotel is clean and of good value. There are bikes to rent which makes travel through the city easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your stay at NH Musica. I would like to inform you that we have a few restaurants in the neighbourhood of the hotel. It`s a two-minute walk to a Korean and Italian Restaurant. At the tram/metro stop, there is a French Restaurant `La Brochette`. It would be great if you can experience these dining possibilities during your next stay at NH Musica We are looking forward welcoming you again at NH Musica.

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Booked the hotel through Priceline - big mistake. Have previously been lucky and booked downtown hotels in Amsterdam and Brussels but this time, seriously messed up! Can't fault the hotel apart from it's location although, actually thinking about it, choice of tv stations was not good and only had one 'english' tea bag and creamer rather than milk.....Very far out and has previously been stated - soulless. Cannot recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMusica, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Zuid, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We always try to provide our guests with the best possible facilities and service and we are disappointed to read you experienced some inconvinces. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. I will definitely discuss your feedback with the Housekeeping department and Maintenance department.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Warm regards,

Alex Jost
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Zuid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Zuid

Address: van Leijenberghlaan 221 | Buitenveldert, 1082 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Musica)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Zuid 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-modern NH Amsterdam Zuid hotel in Amsterdam is located in the heart of the Zuidas business district, just a stone’s throw from the World Trade Center. This trendy neighborhood provides guests with a bevy of shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Zuid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Musica Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Musica Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Zuid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.