We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Zuid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Zuid to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Zuid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Leijenberghlaan 221 | Buitenveldert, 1082 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Musica) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

it is to say, that the hotel is outside from the city centre, a 15min walk to the tram and a 20 min tram ride.
We chose this hotel bec we had a car, and they had free parking at the weekend.
It is a huge 70's style hotel which has been recently and elegantly renovated. very spacious rooms, clean and quiet.
The NH chain is my new favorite would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    236
    102
    30
    18
See reviews for
48
225
22
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had a 3 day workshop at this hotel with my company and have very mixed feelings – mostly negatively.

Pros: Nice rooms, okay standard, okay food.

Cons:
The fridge in the room was so noisy and uncovered (i.e. exposed and facing the bed) I had to unplug it in the middle of the night.

Reception messed up an important taxi-booking for 20 people so we were 30 minutes late for a meeting and they didn’t seem to be really bothered.

VC facilities not available except at extremely high cost.

WIFI was free but exceptionally slow.

Location is not fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Got an amazing deal through Priceline on this hotel - as others have noted, access to public transportation is a real drag, and what keeps me from rating this higher. Clean, good service, and close to the RAI (I walked it most days, 20m). Not sure I could stay her at full published prices, but for a last minute booking at a steep discount, it was very handy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a really lovely stay, the room was always very clean, the service was ok but one evening they were very rude which is unacceptable when you are paying!
The location was abit rubbish if you wanted to be in the city its a 15-20 min tram ride but really near a beautiful park and a cycle ride and was quiet nice to spend a day outside of the city!

Room Tip: if you like to escape the city this is your hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

There aren't many hotels in Amsterdam that don't have a bus or a tram going past the front door. The Nh Musica doesn't have either and the only thing that lets this hotel down is its truly dreadful location. It sits in the middle of what looks like an estate of council housing, and if I were in such a location in London, I think I might fear for my life.

However once you step through the doors you get into what is a rather chic minimalist hotel. The rooms though basic, are stylish and tasteful. The bathrooms are elegant (nasty toiletries though).

I had a problem with the air conditioning in the 1st Room that was in and after being visited by a chambermaid who wasn't keen on helping, one of the reception staff came up to the room and move me to a room next door with the minimum of fuss and the maximum care and attention.

Breakfast is not brilliant and the staff serving breakfast really did have an attitude problem. Breakfast itself was mainly of the continental variety, although you could have omelettes and pancakes made for you- a facility that had ended by 9:30 AM when I came down to breakfast.

All in all a nice hotel, much much better than the NH Carlton in the middle of town, but I wouldn't have thought it was a great location for anybody wanting to do sightseeing in Amsterdam given that it's a 30 minute tram ride into the centre and a walk from the hotel to find the tram in the 1st place.

It is convenient for the financial centres of Amsterdam Zuid and as such represents a good place to stay for people working there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Access is not easy to this 4star hotel if you are relying on public transport. There is a good 20 minute walk for trams or trains.

The Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. Be aware if you say you are having breakfasts - they will charge you when you leave whether you take the breakfasts or not. We had to amend the bill at the end - it worked out ok.

The room itself was very nice - decent size, some chairs to sit on, TV, En-suite, temp controls that are adequate. My one complaint is the bed/s. Very comfortable - but we are a married couple and this room had two single beds shoved together - the castors were very well maintained and so the beds kept drifting apart leaving a fall potential crevasse in the middle. Not good.

Room service is available and the housekeeping was good.

The Location is good, nice quiet neighbourhood that is the modern day Jewish quarter of Amsterdam. A few of Kosher Restaurants around the area - also Korean and Japanese eateries. There is also an ATM nearby and some general stores.

The breakfast is the buffet type - cold meat, salad, cereal, toast - some bacon and scrambled egg, mushrooms, fruits etc. A cooked breakfast is available on request.

I'd recommend a short stay here. Very nice and very clean and modern

Room Tip: Ask staff for directions to other places including public transport. If you are unable to walk any d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great hotel, we decided not to go for breakfast as there is a supermarket down the road and at £22.50 it isn't worth it!

If we were to visit again we would go to a hotel closer to the capital, realistically it is a 10 min walk and then a 15/30min tram.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get the right room! We paid for a double, were given a twin and had to complain to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Zuid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Zuid

Address: van Leijenberghlaan 221 | Buitenveldert, 1082 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Musica)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Zuid 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-modern NH Amsterdam Zuid hotel in Amsterdam is located in the heart of the Zuidas business district, just a stone’s throw from the World Trade Center. This trendy neighborhood provides guests with a bevy of shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Zuid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Musica Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Musica Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Zuid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.