We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Fab, Outside Shab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Musica

Save Saved
You added NH Musica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Musica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Leijenberghlaan 221, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #134 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Inside Fab, Outside Shab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

There aren't many hotels in Amsterdam that don't have a bus or a tram going past the front door. The Nh Musica doesn't have either and the only thing that lets this hotel down is its truly dreadful location. It sits in the middle of what looks like an estate of council housing, and if I were in such a location in London, I think I might fear for my life.

However once you step through the doors you get into what is a rather chic minimalist hotel. The rooms though basic, are stylish and tasteful. The bathrooms are elegant (nasty toiletries though).

I had a problem with the air conditioning in the 1st Room that was in and after being visited by a chambermaid who wasn't keen on helping, one of the reception staff came up to the room and move me to a room next door with the minimum of fuss and the maximum care and attention.

Breakfast is not brilliant and the staff serving breakfast really did have an attitude problem. Breakfast itself was mainly of the continental variety, although you could have omelettes and pancakes made for you- a facility that had ended by 9:30 AM when I came down to breakfast.

All in all a nice hotel, much much better than the NH Carlton in the middle of town, but I wouldn't have thought it was a great location for anybody wanting to do sightseeing in Amsterdam given that it's a 30 minute tram ride into the centre and a walk from the hotel to find the tram in the 1st place.

It is convenient for the financial centres of Amsterdam Zuid and as such represents a good place to stay for people working there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    188
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
37
173
18
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Access is not easy to this 4star hotel if you are relying on public transport. There is a good 20 minute walk for trams or trains.

The Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. Be aware if you say you are having breakfasts - they will charge you when you leave whether you take the breakfasts or not. We had to amend the bill at the end - it worked out ok.

The room itself was very nice - decent size, some chairs to sit on, TV, En-suite, temp controls that are adequate. My one complaint is the bed/s. Very comfortable - but we are a married couple and this room had two single beds shoved together - the castors were very well maintained and so the beds kept drifting apart leaving a fall potential crevasse in the middle. Not good.

Room service is available and the housekeeping was good.

The Location is good, nice quiet neighbourhood that is the modern day Jewish quarter of Amsterdam. A few of Kosher Restaurants around the area - also Korean and Japanese eateries. There is also an ATM nearby and some general stores.

The breakfast is the buffet type - cold meat, salad, cereal, toast - some bacon and scrambled egg, mushrooms, fruits etc. A cooked breakfast is available on request.

I'd recommend a short stay here. Very nice and very clean and modern

Room Tip: Ask staff for directions to other places including public transport. If you are unable to walk any d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great hotel, we decided not to go for breakfast as there is a supermarket down the road and at £22.50 it isn't worth it!

If we were to visit again we would go to a hotel closer to the capital, realistically it is a 10 min walk and then a 15/30min tram.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get the right room! We paid for a double, were given a twin and had to complain to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is ok. The hotel is clean and modern. However it's location isn't great. It is kind of near the RAI conference centre but there are nearer hotels. It is not too near a metro/train station either and there isn't a huge amount of restaurants near it. The food is ok. The breakfast is 22.50 and in my opinion not worth it. Not the kind of place you should stay if you are visiting for a weekend. "Free" wifi was also very slow (256kps) so you'll end up having to pay 10e for decent internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having flown in early, we were allowed leave our bags here, so went sightseeing immediately. The staff were very helpful in their guidance to the tram (about 25 mins walk). Buy a 24 hour pass, as it works out cheaper. The hotel room was clean and spacious. Would recommend this hotel, as long as you are able-bodied to walk to the tram. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked through a groupon deal so cant comnent on value but it was always clean and tidy staff more than happy to help! Shame not more staff on the front desk at check in and check out times but otherwise brilliant service. Location good about a 20 min tram ride away which is easy to get to and staff can direct you where to go to catch. I had a lovely meal highly recommend the egg noodles with shrimps A****. Bit slow though but we werent in a rush so no problem. Breakfast was a bit undirected but just ask the staff and they will help. Lovely stay cant complain bed well comfy and quiet! Would defo stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We usually stay at this hotel when we go to concerts or soccer games at the Amsterdam arena. Check in is always easy and the staff is extremely nice. You also have the option to do a late check-out for free. Hotel is good for business trips too. The rooms are nice and clean. The beds are super comfy. The bathrooms are great with bathtub. The bar is also very nice but a little expensive. Breakfast at the hotel is very good and has lots of variety. Will stay here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Musica

Address: Van Leijenberghlaan 221, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Musica 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Musica Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Musica Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Musica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.