We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower in the Suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Musica

Save Saved
You added NH Musica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Musica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Leijenberghlaan 221, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Tower in the Suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Attending a conference at the VU Free University, the NH Muscia provided an affordable option just 15minutes walk away. It's nicely situated in the middle of the suburbs of Amsterdam and has good shopping facilities close by. The nearest Metro and Tram station is also 15 minutes walk away, but not much of a problem if you don't mind walking in the summer. Would be less convenient in the winter - for then I'd check out the NH Amsterdam Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    185
    82
    28
    14
See reviews for
33
168
17
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location is pathetic! There is nothing around (and I mean absolutely no restaurant/café/food place and traveling to the city is about 30 mins (taking into the walk from the hotel to public transit and then taking the train to the city centre). The service standard is extremely poor. The staff is helpful however, they are constantly in a "fixing" mode. If anything goes wrong, they will fix it. But there is no minimum standard of service, which is quite shocking. On our check in, the room was not clean. There was used soap and some other stuff left in the room. We complained and the room was changed. We were told it never came up in their system, which I really did not understand. In fact it is an excuse that I believe the hotel uses frequently as I have read in some of their other reviews. We asked for a taxi to be booked to go to the airport the day before our departure. No one requested the taxi. When we were checking out at reception which by the way was very early in the morning at 4:30 am, the representative confirmed that no one had requested the taxi and called one and we waited for about 10 mins before the taxi arrived. The hotel caters to primarily business people since it is situated in the RAI Centre. However, there was no iron/ironing board in the room. We had to request for it every time we needed one. Finally, I think Priceline misled us to an extent. We thought we were getting something in the Museum Quarter, which would have been super, when in fact it was in the Rai Centre. Given the distance between the two and the fact that the Rai Centre is practically out of the city, the two areas should by no means have been combined together. Please be cautious when booking through Priceline, (we have to be as well) especially since it is final sale and there are no exchanges etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

take bus 62 and take off and then take tram, (they were all connected)
Going to the central station was not bad except the 1st trial.
but when i arrived at the hotel, there were no person at the reception!!
OMG!! i couldn't belive the fact!!
room was tiny, but i can accomodate,
no staff at the reception? it is not 4 star hotel.
If you want to stay at the NH musica hotel, you should regard it as 3 star hotel or inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

NH Musica is located outside the busy center of Amsterdam, but is close to Station Zuid and Station RAI. It is easy to get to the hotel from the airport, and the location makes it a great place to stay for meetings at RAI. The rooms are spacious and clean, but not particularly interesting. The staff is friendly and competent, there is a gym and a restaurant, and many possibilities for eating nearby. The hotel is also close to the river Amstel and Amstelpark, good places to go for a jog or a walk. A fine hotel for a business stay, but for a holiday I would recommend hotels in the middle of the city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

bus stop within 5 minute walk, close to Amsterdam Rai conference centre, free wifi, it is not a bad choice. In business area, so very quiet after 5pm.
rooms are clean and tidy, and there are black out blinds built into windows, so flimsy curtains are not a problem. showers are temperamental, going hot and cold intermittently so beware! nice sized room safe. Ask for 2 keys in the summer, so that the air con remains on throughout the hot days, especially when your room faces west with the afternoon sun. air con is quiet, but it takes a good while to cool down the room.
I did not find beds too hard, but pillows are too soft.
Breakfast are identical nearly everyday, but the fresh fruit are very good.
Dinner was an entirely different matter - of the mains menu, only 4 out of 8 items were available. steaks or fish of the day were the only choices - in the middle of a congress, on a monday, seriously? fish was poorly cooked, lots of bones unpicked from a halibut fillet, and uncooked unions, not good at all. the burger was standard no frills, and costed 15 euro with wedges and standard side salad. very poor fare.
bar is next to reception, and was closed when we arrived back from dinner, before 12. room service for a bottle of water was available, but the cost of the delivery was more than the cost of the water. room minibar was empty, so if you want to stay hydrated, go round the back of the hotel where a local supermarket sells bottled water from 20c a bottle, before you head out to dinner.

Room Tip: slow lift, but good wide stairs, so choose lower floor and use the stairs. close the black out blind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel never having visited Amsterdam. It is very clean and on a quiet street. Yes it is a bit off the main area but the tram ride is simple and the walk to the hotel is quick and on a well lit street.Tram line 5 goes through many great areas and the museum district is on the tram line. The room itself is very nice, I love that there ars no carpets in the room. It took me awhile to figure out the room key/electricity thing. Free wifi throughout the entire building.
I truly appreciate that Ellen at the front desk was able to accommodate me showing up at 9:30 am completely jet lagged and in need of a bed right away.
I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Musica

Address: Van Leijenberghlaan 221, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Musica 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Musica Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Musica Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Musica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.