We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Zebra

Save Saved
You added Botel Zebra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botel Zebra
PO Box 2430, 1000CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Very good for the price you pay.
Friendly and helpful staff,
Small but functionally and clean rooms with private bathroom and toilet.
Very good breakfast
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay in amsterdam with amsterdam. The botel is located near the Amsterdam Centraal Station, (10 minutes walk) just look the NEMO science center ( the green shiplike building). The space is clean and cozy. Excellent water pressure (had a nice bath!)

They serve excellent selection of breakfast (cereals, pastries, fruits, and different types of cheese!)

The hospitality is very warm and i had a nice time and will definitely comeback here :)

Experience Amsterdam in a unique way by checking in a botel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Botel Zebra, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
This man was not even inside our botel, he could not not find it because he did not read our mails with directions how to go to the botel. Then he checked in by one of our colleges and now he is very angry that we withdraw the first night of his credit card.
While he was not even inside by us, how can he know about: Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. He did not even see a bed!!!
This is revenge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, i think some of the reviews are very over exagerate. The rooms were small, but there was enough room to get changed, have a shower, and sleep comfortably. The moisture on the ceiling only occurs if the shower door is open or the port hole is not open, this only happened to us on the last day, but my boyfriend and i both had showers everyday and had no problems at all. If you don't want a wet floor - put towels down.

The atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed and really nice, the staff were very helpful and not at all rude. Breakfast is continental as is with most hotels and hostels (this was our 7th visit to Amsterdam), there is a fruit bread, bread rolls, cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, yoghurt etc.

We thought the botel had a very nice quirky feel and we will be DEFINATELY be booking to stay there again.

Room Tip: Always take extra socks and plasters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've read a lot of negative reviews for this place both on TripAdvisor and on HostelWorld and I have to say, I didn't think it was that bad. We only stayed for two nights, and although I wouldn't say it was the best lodging I've ever had...it was safe, it had free wifi, and it was clean enough. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay, especially if you consider yourself a more high maintenance person. The rooms are really just for sleeping (very small) and the bathroom situation is...temperamental (their toilet system is prone to having issues), but overall, you get what you paid for and it is relatively cheap considering it is Amsterdam.

I'm going to say 'yes' to recommending this hotel, but I really only direct this towards people traveling on a budget or planning on a short stay in Amsterdam. Otherwise, I suggest looking elsewhere.

PS something not listed on HostelWorld: they have a dog, for those of you with allergies.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Botel Zebra's cabins are soooooo tiny and not very clean. The beds are made for 5 year olds. The tiny bathrooms are dirty and the shower curtains might be 100 years old. The "continental" breakfast consist of dry old bread and tasteless cold meet. I would really not recommend this botel to ladies or "romantic couples". Hope this helps. ;-)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, España
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Extremely tiny rooms, so much humidity inside the rooms you can't barely breathe, you can see water drops everywhere because of the humidity, toilet doesn't flush properly. I stayed there for 3 nights and I couldn't sleep at all, the first night I was shivering, the second night we turned on the heating and it was so hot it was unbreathable. On the third night we found ourselves another hotel nest to central station and it felt like a palace. Themlocation was good, and the breatfast was ok, the lady and the man there were very friendly, but honestly, this botel is deterred, there's hardly any cleaning, it's uncomfortable, small, cold, humid, noisy(due to paper thin walls), and the list of negative aspects goes on and on and on...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botel Zebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Zebra

Address: PO Box 2430, 1000CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Botel Zebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Zebra Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Zebra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.