We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tot Ziens!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam B&B Park9

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam B&B Park9 to your Saves list
Amsterdam B&B Park9
Sarphatipark 9, 1073 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tot Ziens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Because I'll be back when next in Amsterdam. The house is great, and Peter couldn't have been more helpful, with restaurant suggestions, directions, tickets etc etc. The Pijp neighbourhood is sometimes referred to as the Left Bank of Amsterdam, there's always something going on, and the famous street market in particular is just around the corner. There's a wine shop and small markets nearby in addition to restaurants, pubs, and cafes.
Nevertheless, it's quiet and as Peter and Robert live upstairs, guests have full use of the main floor in addition to the two suites. Couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here as 2 couples and so we had the whole place to ourselves, which was great. The main floor is beautifully decorated with antiques but they're the kind that are comfortable to use. You have access to a beautiful back garden with lots of ferns and green plants, a patio with tables and chairs, very quiet but full of birdsong. A little table overlooking the garden has a laptop hooked up to the internet. We had no connection problems but couldn't connect well downstairs in the bedrooms. The kitchen was fine except for the lack of a microwave but they seem to be unusual over here. Bedrooms are down a very steep flight of stairs but the handrail is excellent. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms great... all very modern. Comfortable beds. The weather was chilly and we were a little shy about turning up the heat, my only regret. Peter was a charming and attentive host, doing a little clean-up each day while we were out, which we didn't expect. He provided the makings of delicious breakfasts, even croissants some days. The house is across from a beautiful park, close to many good ethnic restaurants, and just a couple of blocks from the great Albert Cuyp street market. There are bus lines and a bike rental place a block away (we biked all over town). We are very glad to have stayed 5 nights in B&B Park 9!

Room Tip: I recommend the back because of a peek-a-boo view of the garden and a bathtub, but the front is pret...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was realy my home away from home.The rooms are spacious and you get to use the whole place,just like home. Peter and Robert are gracious hosts,extemely helpful and can get you passes for any major event in the area. Everything is within walking distance,the Rijks,Van Gogh ..Resteraunts..Hieneken Museum..take out places so you can eat at the Home if you want.Had a great time for the 11 days here and would recomend this place to anyone...going again next year for 13 days..would not stay anywhere else.See you then Peter and Robert and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The room in back has a bath for those who are interested...the showers are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed at Park9 for a few nights during a business visit. Was referred there by another B&B that was full, and I wasnt disappointed. The rooms were stylist, of very high quality and spacious. The owners were very friendly and make you feel at home. There is a lovely back garden and rambling large living room for guests to use. The guest kitchen has great food and it is nice to have access to a proper kitchen. Across the road is a beautiful park with many good restaurants near by (this is a student/uni area and the owners will recommend places). Walking to major sights is easy and public transport is plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was wonderful. The house is absolutely beautiful. The room is spacious and has an incredible bathroom. There is a wonderful back yard to enjoy and the location is perfect. The park across the street is beautiful and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is not in the tourist part of Amsterdam (which in my opinion is good) but it is easy to get to wherever you need to go. Really loved it. Some friends rented one of their apartments during the same time and it was incredible too. Great value!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I, early 60’s Australians, stayed 5 nights during May, 2011. We had the rear room in the basement which, as previous reviews indicated, was renovated in 2010 to minimalist style. To iterate the room is spacious, bright, spotlessly clean and certainly for this room noise was not a problem .
Something for older people to consider is the stairs down to both rooms are steep. With our heavy suit cases it didn’t present a problem going down however for going up we decided to take the bags upstairs partially empty and complete the packing of our remaining clothing capsules and other items etc. Peter was suffering a very painful back problem at the time which tests revealed required surgery. I’m sure had Peter been able he would have assisted with the bags. For the steepness of the stairs Peter did say, “this is Amsterdam”, and we can only imagine this type of stairs are common place.
Breakfast is self-serve from a well stocked fridge and larder. From our personal experiences with B & B’s in Ireland, France, Belgium, Chicago and Washington DC self-service has been the case in only in two instances, here and Washington DC. Whilst it isn’t a problem we’ve always enjoyed talking to the owners at a laid out buffet or a la carte style breakfast and, whilst they didn’t join us, were around the breakfast area each morning. Again because of Peter’s back problem this would not have been appropriate for him to join us.
The B & B is well located to public transport, we used the tram, and convenient to most sights when we got used of the system. The area around the B & B is busy and lively, plenty of restaurants to choose from and Peter will make the names and types of cuisine available.
Peter was up front at our initial meeting with his request for the total cost, in cash, of the accommodation. Whilst we were prepared for this from emails and the website it was disconcerting as other B & B proprietor’s websites state this however in practice it was the first time it has ever been desired and generally it has been left up to us when paid i.e. during or on the last day of our stay. This was not an issue for us, it was our intention, just a surprise and one got the feeling we were considered a flight risk. No doubt Peter’s experience has warranted this course of action and we are sensitive to being asked for payment . Had we have not had time to get the cash from the bank beforehand I’m sure Peter would have understood and an arrangement for payment would have been reached.
We certainly would recommend the B & B to friends and tripadvisor readers however will make mention of the steep stairs to older people and the fact full payment will be required upon check in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at Amsterdam Park 9 in June 2011 for 4 nights with my sister.

The accommodation is unusally spacious for a B&B with a large bedroom and full size bathroom - these are located in the basement. On the ground floor there is a loungeroom and dining room which span from front to back of the house and this space is dedicated solely to the use of the guests. In addition there is a kitchen stocked with a full range of breakfast ingredients and these can be used all day.

The bedroom accommodation has been completely renovated and was completed in 2010. The ground floor has a stylish mix of old and new and looks over a courtyard garden which is also available for guests.

Peter runs the B&B with panache and provides excellent assistance in helping his guests with information about Amsterdam. On our last afternoon in Amsterdam, my sister unfortunately fell and sprained her ankle badly. Without Peter's help in organising 'special assistance' assistance at Amsterdam things would have been a whole lot more difficult.

Linda
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam B&B Park9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam B&B Park9

Address: Sarphatipark 9, 1073 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very modern and stylish bed rooms (2) extra's : separate dining room for the breakfast, a lounge room, a garden many restaurants for lunch and dinner, bars, a daily market, around the corner the museums like, the van Gogh, are on walkeble distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam B&B Park9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam B&B Park9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.