We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Dutch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Dutch
Save Saved
You added Double Dutch to your Saves list
Kloveniersburgwal, 1011JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Both the room and the hosts were amazing. Exceptional service with a friendly and helpful staff that make you feel like you're home. We also loved the cat. :)
The Double Dutch (and Barangay B&B) is recommended to everyone planning a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My honey and I, and another couple stayed at the Double Dutch for four nights in April. Since there are only two en-suite bedrooms, besides the room for the person that maintains the place, we had the whole place to ourselves; definitely a plus. The Double Dutch is not a B&B since breakfast is not served; you either stock your own or go to one of the many cafes in the immediate area. From a location perspective, excellent, on a pretty canal, next to a lively square, in the heart of happening Amsterdam.

I am finding it a little difficult to write this review because among the four of us our feelings about the Double Dutch were split between the guys and the gals. The guys found the place interesting, quirky, comfortable, and convenient. The gals probably would have preferred a more "up-scale" place, though I am not sure that is the right word, sine they also liked the Double Dutch. There biggest issue for them was the next door fish market, associated smell (only outside; not in the apartment), and the accompanying garbage piled in front. Us boys overlooked or ignored that, for the most part, given the positives mentioned above. The immediate area of the square also tended to have accumulations of garbage because of the weekend market in the square; expected to some degree; and the market itself is a plus, so, good with the bad.

We all found the cat to be a nuisance; ensuring it did not run out of the place when we came or went; keeping it out of our rooms; or off our laps when sitting in the living room; scratching at our clothes and luggage; and cleaning up after it, the one time it pooped in the living room. But cat people will probably love the critter. (I am not sure if when I made the reservation I knew there would be a cat or not - though it is mentioned in some of the other reviews).

Lastly, my wife and I found our bed uncomfortable (room on top floor); the other couple were ok with theirs.

I think that my buddy and I would not have a problem staying here again; our wives would not stay again. I rated the Double Dutch as very good, but it is probably, for us, somewhere between average and very good given the differences of opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I decided to take our first trip to Amsterdam. We book the Double Dutch before we left the US. We both feel like this B&B absolutely MADE our trip to Amsterdam. When we arrived we were greet by Wimo (the owner). Wimo is such a nice guy and he helped us with any questions we had about Amsterdam. He gave us the keys and we could come and go as we pleased. The location is PERFECT. Sooo close to everything. If you are thinking about booking. YOU SHOULD!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our room was very spacious with a very small bathroom. The stairs and windy and steep but worth it.
Ed greeted us and was very friendly and had great tips about the city.
I would recommend this hotel and stay there again if in Amsterdam.
There was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Double Dutch is in a great location, close to Centraal station. Although central the B&B is not in the crazily busy area of Amsterdam where all he tourists & stag parties congregate. Zeedijk is a street very nearby where there are lots of nice restaurants & bars (mentioned in Time Out Guidebook). We were greeted by Ed who was super friendly & gave us a map of the area & told us were the good restaurants were.
Our room was very spacious with fridge, tea & coffee making facilities & a small but very nice bathroom. Everything was very clean & decorated in a quirky & charming way. The rooms are at the back of the house so are peaceful. We made friends with the resident cat who is very sweet.
The kitchen downstairs was well equiped & a nice place to make your breakfast as none is provided. There are lots of lovely cafes nearby though.
I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was the first time I have been to Amsterdam, and it was great. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the Central station. When we arrived we were greeted and given maps and shown to our rooms, they were up quite steep stairs but this is what most bed & breakfasts are like as they are traditional dutch houses. The rooms were each decorated differently with different dutch themes. Very nice. We didnt have breakfast but this didnt bother us as there are so many eating establishments around this bed and breakfast, There is use of a fully equipped Kitchen and a little outside Patio area in the middle of the house for smoking. Just a walk over two little bridges and you are in the heart of the red light district and only about 15 mins walk Dam Square, we went to Anne Franks house whilst in amsterdam which is a must.

I would use this bed and breakfast again but would also like to stay in its affliated hotel the Barangay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed here for three nights with my partner on a weekend break. Not long after we arrived the electrics went and we rang the owner on his mobile. He came within the hour and informed us there was an electrical fault, he would get it fixed but meanwhile showed us where the tripswitch was (on the ground floor; we're on the 2nd) in case it happened again. It did happend again, in fact, continously throughout the weekend. Mid shower, or using the hairdryer or getting in late at night and suddenly plunged into total darkness. This is followed by several minutes of stumbling blindly, possibly wet from the shower, tripping over shoes and into furniture, several more minutes of heated argument over whose turn to go and flip the tripswitch. Now throw into the mix the bloody house cat, which shoots into the room the moment the door is opened and then weaves inself around your legs as you try to negotiate two flights of almost vertical stairs in total darkness.. Add copious alcohol. If you want rid of your spouse in an 'unfortunate accident' this is the place for you. Check you have adequate insurance before you stay here. Good location though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimmo, Owner at Double Dutch, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
First of all, we thank you for your humorous review !!
And of course we are very sorry to hear that you did not have nice stay at the Double Dutch !! Hopefully it did not ruin your Amsterdam experience !!

Anyway, to answer you quirky review.... we just want to state our side of the story.
1. An electrical device caused the electrical problem and we had no idea which device it was. It could be anything using electricity. In the past if something happened like this, it was caused by our guests' (110v) hair dryers.
2. To solve the problem, we unplugged our electrical machines, one by one and after a while it happened again. In the end, we found out it was the (bread) toaster, immediately we replaced it for a new one.
3. As to Loytje the cat, he is the sweetest cat there is and loves people.

OUR GUARANTEE... , you can welcome you in Double Dutch without worrying about the 'safety of you spouse' !! Tot ziens !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch

Address: Kloveniersburgwal, 1011JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms Two rooms are both big and has authentic details that are a few hundred years old (17th & 18th centuries). No worries though, the facilities inside the room offer the comforts of the 21st century , including a modern bathroom, cable TV, fridge, radio-alarm clock, hair dryer, and coffee/tea making facilities. The rooms are decorated in a unique Dutch style. The Location The Guesthouse is located on Kloveniersburgwal, one of the oldest canals of Amsterdam. It is situated in the middle of the historic city centre, next to the Nieuwmarkt. Together with Zeedijk, the Nieuwemarkt forms part of "Amsterdam's Little China Town." The Zeeijk is a nice lively street with shops, cafes and (Asian) restaurants connecting the Central Station with Nieuwmarkt. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Dutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.