We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Double Dutch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Dutch
Kloveniersburgwal, 1011JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bath, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was the first time I have been to Amsterdam, and it was great. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the Central station. When we arrived we were greeted and given maps and shown to our rooms, they were up quite steep stairs but this is what most bed & breakfasts are like as they are traditional dutch houses. The rooms were each decorated differently with different dutch themes. Very nice. We didnt have breakfast but this didnt bother us as there are so many eating establishments around this bed and breakfast, There is use of a fully equipped Kitchen and a little outside Patio area in the middle of the house for smoking. Just a walk over two little bridges and you are in the heart of the red light district and only about 15 mins walk Dam Square, we went to Anne Franks house whilst in amsterdam which is a must.

I would use this bed and breakfast again but would also like to stay in its affliated hotel the Barangay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed here for three nights with my partner on a weekend break. Not long after we arrived the electrics went and we rang the owner on his mobile. He came within the hour and informed us there was an electrical fault, he would get it fixed but meanwhile showed us where the tripswitch was (on the ground floor; we're on the 2nd) in case it happened again. It did happend again, in fact, continously throughout the weekend. Mid shower, or using the hairdryer or getting in late at night and suddenly plunged into total darkness. This is followed by several minutes of stumbling blindly, possibly wet from the shower, tripping over shoes and into furniture, several more minutes of heated argument over whose turn to go and flip the tripswitch. Now throw into the mix the bloody house cat, which shoots into the room the moment the door is opened and then weaves inself around your legs as you try to negotiate two flights of almost vertical stairs in total darkness.. Add copious alcohol. If you want rid of your spouse in an 'unfortunate accident' this is the place for you. Check you have adequate insurance before you stay here. Good location though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimmo, Owner at Double Dutch, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
First of all, we thank you for your humorous review !!
And of course we are very sorry to hear that you did not have nice stay at the Double Dutch !! Hopefully it did not ruin your Amsterdam experience !!

Anyway, to answer you quirky review.... we just want to state our side of the story.
1. An electrical device caused the electrical problem and we had no idea which device it was. It could be anything using electricity. In the past if something happened like this, it was caused by our guests' (110v) hair dryers.
2. To solve the problem, we unplugged our electrical machines, one by one and after a while it happened again. In the end, we found out it was the (bread) toaster, immediately we replaced it for a new one.
3. As to Loytje the cat, he is the sweetest cat there is and loves people.

OUR GUARANTEE... , you can welcome you in Double Dutch without worrying about the 'safety of you spouse' !! Tot ziens !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I was staying at the Barangay Double Dutch (don't mix it up with the Baragay which is at a quite different place) alone during a business trip in March 2011 (actually a conference in Hilversum). First important point about the Double Dutch: it is quite central - close to the main railway station (centraal station), and close to the shopping areas (e.g. Dam), the Chinese quarter and the red light district. Furthermor it's typically Dutch: narrow, steep staircases. The team there is really friendly and gave me a lot of infos. The room (I had the room in the top floor) was clean and had plenty of space (hold true even for two). There was a problem with the handle of the shower, which should be fixed soon, I think. So it could have been a perfect stay, if there had not been a birthday party in the house opposite the room (which is not under the control of the team there). I had two evenings of long conversations and loud laughing outside. Otherwise the room was really quiet. The price is quite average for a single, but even better for a couple. Of course, you will meet and carress the cat: she is wonderful! And don't miss the restaurant exactly opposite the channel, "De bekeerde Suster", with an own excellent brewery.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The location is great near the Nieuwmarket with cafés all around. No transport necessary because evreything is within walking distance. We got a warm welcome and the room was really charming in this ancient Dutch house, whose rooms are certainly not as insulated as modern ones . The room was really spacious, the bathroom small but clean - just a new not squeaking bed with a hard mattrass would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This guesthouse is absolutely perfectly located in the heart of Amsterdam. We were within walking distance (up to 30 minutes) of most of the key sites and attractions meaning we didn't need to use the convenient public transport.
It was a charming, large room run by the ever attentive Wimmo and Godwin. They came round with a surprise bottle of cava to help us celebrate the New Year, which was a lovely touch!

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

It is a very typical old Dutch style house, few minutes from Dam Square.
The ideal place where to live Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Wonderful place with engaged, informed staff.
The room was cozy and clean.
Wimmo took time to ask us what we were interested in seeing and gave us great tips, for entertainment, dining and recreation/
We were there for a special occasion and they organized flowers and champagne for the room.
We will be back.
As with many places in Amsterdam...no elevator. The rooms are high up. Pack accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Double Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch

Address: Kloveniersburgwal, 1011JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms Two rooms are both big and has authentic details that are a few hundred years old (17th & 18th centuries). No worries though, the facilities inside the room offer the comforts of the 21st century , including a modern bathroom, cable TV, fridge, radio-alarm clock, hair dryer, and coffee/tea making facilities. The rooms are decorated in a unique Dutch style. The Location The Guesthouse is located on Kloveniersburgwal, one of the oldest canals of Amsterdam. It is situated in the middle of the historic city centre, next to the Nieuwmarkt. Together with Zeedijk, the Nieuwemarkt forms part of "Amsterdam's Little China Town." The Zeeijk is a nice lively street with shops, cafes and (Asian) restaurants connecting the Central Station with Nieuwmarkt. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Dutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Double Dutch to your Saves list