We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good value good location the stairs are steep but this adds to the character of the place great do your own breakfast and the staff can't do enough for you, if there are four of it will pay to get a taxi. From the airport as the ticket system can be abit confusing

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    143
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
77
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I bought tickets for me and my mom to a concert, so we decided to stay the night in Amsterdam and do some shopping the next day before heading home. The central location of this hotel and the positive reviews on tripadvisor convinced us to book this hotel.
Well, the staff was quite nice and helpful. However, this is basically a hostel with twin rooms!

Just to mention some things: you had to bunk the door to open it, as the lock got stuck every time; the towels were stained; pillow covers and sheets were creased; the walls were very thin(!!) and you could hear others easily, also there is a bar on the ground floor, so if you open your windows in the summer you can practically join the conversation, plus due to its location there are taxi and bus honks throughout the night (even a heavy sleeper like me struggled); but most importantly.. it STANK! The smell was awful! You couldn't turn in your bed, because the smell of the sheets would wake you up.

I have stayed in many hostels during my travels, and I usually don't mind the things I mentioned (just bring perfume and earplugs). However, it was stated as a HOTEL and we paid together 120 euros just for 1 night!

On a positive side, the breakfast was amazing, but you had to pay an additional 6,50euro.

So, if you plan to party until early in the morning and then chat with people at the bar, have breakfast and catch an early flight, it's fine. Just think of it as a very expensive hostel due to its location.

P.S. I would give it 2 stars, because of nice staff and breakfast, but the high average is so misleading, I feel obliged to bring it down a bit by giving it 1 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 2 different nights last month. I love it. Many things in this city are tricky to find so do learn your directions first. Download the directions to your phone first.

The rooms are designed to make you feel like a rock-star in a green room before a concert. That's how I felt. Both times I stayed in the basement and curious pedestrians often peep down into the room. I felt extra rock star when that happened. I must admit the second time I went there, the room did have a bit of a stinky BO smell to it... but I didn't complain because I could imagine at least my favourite singer coming off stage and rolling around in the sheets, somehow made me like it more. Then the drum kit fitting light covers became an absolute delight.

The rooms are clean, very clean, so were the showers and toilets. The staff were really friendly, cracked jokes, carried my stupidly heavy and giant bag up and down the stairs with the smile. Even the front door too - when they saw the case was bigger than me.

I would stay there again and again in fact I will... I will be booking accommodation there in July very shortly.

Room Tip: I liked basement room 4 better than room 3 because the shower was more private in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the Backstage Hotel for 3 nights last weekend. I was really happy with the location of the hotel. It's very close to the museums, and only 20-minute walk to Dam Square, Anne Frank's House and everything you'd want to do whilst in Amsterdam.

The hotel was a little tricky to find, because we got the bus from the airport. It dropped us in Leidseplein, which isn't far to walk but when you don't know where you're going it does take a while. We just asked locals though who were friendly and pointed us in the right direction.

We arrived early (at around 9:30am) and couldn't check-in until around 2:00pm which didn't bother us at all. We left our luggage behind the bar (we felt it was safe enough though) and went out for the day. The staff were really friendly and we asked for recommendations for cool bars to go to in the evenings, and the best way for getting home at night, etc.

The stairs in the hotel are steep (same as everywhere else), but luckily we were on the first floor so we only had to climb one flight of stairs. Toilets and shower were shared, so in the hall way, but we had a sink in our room. I really liked our room; it was clean, had a nice tv in it, good lighting. It was basic but we weren't looking for luxury, we were looking for good location.

My only 2 negatives to say are that the hotel is a bit pricey (137 Euros a night (for 2 people)), but then it is in the centre and we personally couldn't find much cheaper. Also the walls are very thin so you can hear pretty much everything going on. When someone unlocked their door in the room next to ours in the middle of the night, it sounded like someone was unlocking our door and coming into the room! Scared us a couple of times! But actually our sleep wasn't disturbed and overall the hotel seemed quite quiet; guests that weren't there didn't exactly make a racket.

Overall I'd stay here again. The biggest pro is the location and when you're in Amsterdam for only a few days, location is everything.

Room Tip: Go for the first or second floor (if you're going to be there on a Tuesday which is their open m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clogher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel was a disaster to find. The place was covered in net and scaffolding. I was convinced it was where I thought it was, but I could not see it at all, very frustrating, a sign on the street was 100% necessary. Google Maps was needed to actually show we were standing beside it.

Hotel on entry was absolutely fine, nice, modern but very basic.
Service at front desk was ok, the guy didn't seem very sure of himself and was a bit awkward but all was sorted after 5mins.

We had booked a room with a shared bathroom which we had no problem with. These rooms are located in the basement. A total of 3/4 rooms are down there, as well as 2 toilets and a shower. The facilities were fine, no issues. We were fortunate to be located directly opposite them and this was a great bonus.

The room itself was rotten with weed. Window had not been opened since it was cleaned and the place smelled awful, it did eventually pass. It was a very basic room, done to an ok level. Lighting had to be extremely dark or extremely bright. The window in the room wasn't all that accessible either and we had to stand on part of the wall to reach it. Sink worked, towels provided and keycard/security was all fine.

The beds were basically tight together, only that 2 single duvets covered them as opposed to a double. Pillows were fine and all was comfy. iPod dock was a fantastic extra for us, we constantly listened to music, TV was barely used. There was NO aircon in the room and that was a real disaster. There was a fan in the 'wardrobe' but it just pushed warm air around the room. There is one UK power source in the room and around 3 european ones, would have loved another UK option but that is a minor complaint.

Our room was not serviced after our first night, we came back and nothing had been done. I requested fresh towels and the receptionist offered to hoover the room. A nice gesture but fresh linen was the least they could do. We did not have this problem after our second night.

I picked this hotel on the basis that we were attending a gig in the Melkweg. We were 2mins away and this was fantastic however we soon grew bored of our area. We had to taxi to the places we wanted to go at night and worked out our area was only beneficial for one night of our stay. A place near central station would have been a much wiser choice.

This hotel was good and completely acceptable, the above criticisms are purely for those that are under the illusion this place is something completely different. I would not take my girlfriend here but it was perfect for myself and a friend. It was used as a place to sleep and shower and it served those purposes without any issue.

Pros
+ Better than average hotel for a good price.
+ Ipod Dock, TV, power options and free WIFI.


Cons
- No aircon
- Basement feels forgotten about.
- Proximity to the main attractions
- Any noise from bar/main entrance is sent directly to the lower rooms.

Room Tip: For shared bathroom, ask for room 3, it's directly opposite them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Excellent value for money for Amsterdam. Friendly staff and a cool atmosphere in the bar downstairs. The bedrooms are uniquely and thoughtfully decorated. The location is excellent if you are into music and nightlife, and you have the top coffeeshops in town about 800 meters away.

Only disappointments were:
- painters looking through our curtains at 9.30 in the morning, which wasn't okay....
- another guest drunkenly trying to knock down/ collapsing into our door at 3AM. The soundproofing isn't great either.

Overall I would stay here again, just hopefully without the intrusions!

Room Tip: Stairs are steep, but rooms close to the bar may risk noise from open mic nights..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here with friends for a weekend away. The hotel is in a great location a minutes walk away from Leidseplein square, which is full of bars and restaurants and the hotel is also pretty close to the Museum Quarter if you are more into sight seeing. The staff where very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean. Myself and everyone I travelled with said they would stay again and recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,342 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#44 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#88 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#244 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.