We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A happy place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday. We were greeted by a very friendly chap that threw in a little something extra for his birthday which was a really lovely gesture to make, completely didn't expect it at all!
I booked the private room and absolutely loved the recycled band kit they had used; snare drum for the light fixture, flight case bedside table and a drummers stool at the dressing table - we felt right at home!! The bed was a twin pushed together which made for a lot of awkwardness as a couple but then, we do acknowledge this hotel is aimed at bands passing through so were able to dismiss our issue immediately. Although I do admit it is a shame they didn't appear to have a double bedroom when I booked as I I know that bands on tour have brought their other half along in the past!!
It was clean and friendly and their local knowledge was really good - they even saved us a few quid by directing us to the correct bus back to Amsterdam Centraal!
There's a coffee shop in the same block of buildings and loads of little places to eat within a 10 minute walk. Melkweg is literally around the corner as is the bulldog. It's a fantastic location if you want to be out of the really expensive Damsquare/redlight area (which is 10 mins on the tram).

The only real improvement I could really make to this hotel is to the booking procedure and info on their website.
*An acknowledgement email would be useful (Although I did email to confirm the booking - to which I received a prompt reply)
* The option to "pay now" or on check in would be a nice touch
* Info on HOW to get to the hotel by by public transport including tram line/bus numbers from Amsterdam Centraal would be really helpful

A really pleasant stay and we are already planning a return visit in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    105
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
55
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent hotel with great and imaginative decor all in a musical theme. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good central location. Good buffet breakfast. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and of course main music venues

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've stayed at The BackStage a few times, the location is great and although it's quite small (set in a typical historical house) it's very comfortable although it can get a little loud however there are ear plugs by the bed. The hotel has a fun and quirky decor made from flight cases and music equipment which is cool, I appreciated it even as a touring musician :)

The staff were extremely helpful and kind, I checked out quite late but they still made a wonderful breakfast just for me at no charge, I really felt very well looked after.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good location. Quite expensive. Would have liked some coffee in the room as reception was quite an adventure up and down stairs, also there was no phone in the room. Had to carry own case up narrow steep stairs, 4 flights. If you don't fancy this make sure you get downstairs rooms .Asked for the bed to be made up as a double in advance and it wasn't so I ended up in a hole in the middle of the bed. Was there for 3 nights, not offered clean towels the whole time. On the plus side the bar is nice and is open till 2AM. Staff are also nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend 2nd floor or 1st floor due to stairs unless you are very fit. I am told these stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Seven of us stayed at Backstage for the weekend. Staff are lovely, hotel in general looks quirky and is very clean. Rooms on the top floor had much nicer and newer (actually very futuristic!) bathrooms, whereas the rooms on the others didn't, but they were all clean and did the job. A lot more fun than an average hotel, with stage lights above the beds, lightbulb-surround mirrors and drums covering the main ceiling lights. Excellent location too, we walked everywhere without having to use any public transport. We loved our stay (even the steep steps!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed with a friend there for three nights in one of the unrenovated rooms. The bathroom was ok, bathroom ceiling very mouldy, the shower was old but working. Very basic bathroom.

Room was ok, all clean, but very noisy.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the location of the hotel is great as it's near the Nine Streets and Jordaan, in fact everything is in walking distance.

The Rock 'n Roll concept is a great idea but the guys need to keep on top of keeping the hotel in great shape!

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a renovated room and if you have a lot of luggage make sure that you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here just for one night, wish we could have stayed more. The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by restaurants, bars and music gig venues. The hotel is in a rock theme, our room was extremely clean, comfy beds, towels provided, warm (as it was freezing weather!) TV in room, also a iPod Dock. we shared bathroom, very clean, great hot shower with good pressure. The hotel has free wifi, great connection never slow. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. Breakfast was yum, great variety and you can cook your own eggs. Bar downstairs with computer available, pol, table. Only negative was the crazy steep stairs! But no problems really. Easy to get to and from. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, Budget Places, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.