We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam - what a city!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amsterdam - what a city!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed with a friend there for three nights in one of the unrenovated rooms. The bathroom was ok, bathroom ceiling very mouldy, the shower was old but working. Very basic bathroom.

Room was ok, all clean, but very noisy.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the location of the hotel is great as it's near the Nine Streets and Jordaan, in fact everything is in walking distance.

The Rock 'n Roll concept is a great idea but the guys need to keep on top of keeping the hotel in great shape!

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a renovated room and if you have a lot of luggage make sure that you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    129
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
73
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here just for one night, wish we could have stayed more. The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by restaurants, bars and music gig venues. The hotel is in a rock theme, our room was extremely clean, comfy beds, towels provided, warm (as it was freezing weather!) TV in room, also a iPod Dock. we shared bathroom, very clean, great hot shower with good pressure. The hotel has free wifi, great connection never slow. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. Breakfast was yum, great variety and you can cook your own eggs. Bar downstairs with computer available, pol, table. Only negative was the crazy steep stairs! But no problems really. Easy to get to and from. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Backstage Hotel it's a rock mood hotel between the west and the south canal ring.
Well located, with an amazing staff, we can play some instruments at the bar or even at the room.
Tursdays there's a "Open Microphone" contest at the bar until 12:00pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place by far exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 3 nights and had a private twin both nights with a shared bathroom. First off, every person that we spoke with on the staff was super friendly and helpful..they were all just great. The rooms were also very large and had a great design (drums as lights on the ceiling), vanity with lights to get ready and each room had a sink in it which was also very continent. The beds were comfortable as well. The hostel is in one of the best locations possible..you are by tons of restaurants and places to hang out / drink. You can easily walk to anywhere from the hotel so it's super convenient. I could not recommend a better experience. It was by far the best hostel I have stayed in over 8 weeks through Europe and South America!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really enjoyed and loved this hotel during my vacation.Stuff is very helpful for every little thing!If you wanted to stay near city center, this hotel is best!It's near tram and bus stop either -if you rent a bike- it's very close to bikeparks.You just lock your bicycle and walk about 1 minute then you're in BackStage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just got back from Amsterdam following a two night stay at the backstage hotel. Location wise the hotel was really easy to get to from the airport. Bus number 197 from the airport takes you direct to Liedsplein in 30 minutes and 4 euros and then the hotel is only a short walk away.

We arrived at the hotel quite early, around 11am, and the girl on reception was very friendly and made our day when she said we could check in early as the room was all ready to go. This made a great start to our trip. We then went out exploring into Leidsplein, where there was a Starbucks, McDonalds and many restaurants and bars to choose from. It was a great location and we didn't need to walk far for most of the sites like the i amsterdam sign.

On the second day we reaslied our room door wasn't locking and we were able to open the door from the outside without a key. When i spoke to the male on receptionist about this he actually asked us to go find the housekeeping team member and ask him to take a look at it. I asked if he could call him and he replied "he doesn't answer his phone". So off i went to look for this housekeeping team member of one of the floors. He came to the room and was unable to fix it and he then asked us to go back down to reception to let them know. At this point, i was quite annoyed as there didn't seem to be any communication between housekeeping or reception.Then the receptionist turned up saying he spoke to his manager and should now be able to fix the door himself, which he did.

I would of rated this hotel 5 stars had the male receptionist handled the situation a bit better.

The room iteself was very clean and spacious. There was five of us in their 5 person bedroom and we didn't feel like it was small for all five of us.

All in all, a good visit and highly recommened you staying here. Very reasonably priced in comparison to a lot of other hotels in the area for that time of year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just the kind of hotel for those of you who travels alone. Affordable, only a walking distance to the major attractions especially Dam Square, a very happening place. Tram stops and bus stops are easy to reach. Though I get the feeling that smoking inside the hotel lobby isn´t forbidden cause I can smell the smoke from my room. My room was just above the entrance. Be careful with the stairs though as they are pretty steep and small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.