We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock and roll for under thirties” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rock and roll for under thirties”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Backstage so that our teenage daughter could enjoy her trip to Amsterdam with her boring middle aged parents. It it fulfilled our expectations. Our daughter loved it and we had to suspend our usual critical faculties.
Backstage is a rather run down hotel aimed at under thirties. Some of the rooms are in the basement and some have shared facilities. We had two reasonably sized rooms on the top floor that was reached ascending (and also descending) four flights of almost vertical stairs. Avoid the top floor in hot weather as it will be like a sauna and is only partially alleviated by a rather ineffectual fan. The bathroom was fine but there were let downs such as a bath towel looking like it had the residue of lipstick on it and really tatty curtains that at the very least needed cleaning.
On the plus side the guys on the desk were excellent. The breakfast was very good value at six euros. The hotel is very well situated being near Leidsplein, museums and a whole area with a mass of restaurants. If you walk about ten minutes away from the centre you cross the city centre boundary and hit a local neighbourhood where apart from getting to eat better food, you get to observe real Amsterdammers at play.

Room Tip: Avoid top and basement floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    104
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
53
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My friends and I stayed here in the Jagermiester room when we were in Amsterdam siteseeing. The room had a great ambience and style to it. It had five beds, lockers, a big screen television, a table, chair, plenty of windows and a balcony. It was the perfect size for our group. The beds were fairly comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. It was a definite plus to have a bathroom and shower in our room. The staff was friendly and we were able to get drinks from the bar on the first floor whenever we wanted. We were also able to rent bikes from Mikes Bike Tours so everything seemed fairly close to the hotel as well. Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a group and request the Jagermiester room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice. Location:a few minutes walk to the Leidseplein, with lots of shops, bars, concert halls, tourism office with shorter lines than the one at the train station, and the main entertainment district. Very convenient to tram and bus. A 10 minute walk to Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, and Heineken Experience. No red light type stuff in this area so it is more family friendly, also. Front desk staff could not be more helpful, Hans especially is a peach of a guy. A small but tall place, lots of steep, narrow steps. If you don't like steps, request the first floor and you will only have one flight. Reception area has funky but fun room that serves as breakfast room (buffet with breads, egg, cheeses, jams, etc. served on the pool table), a cute little bar for guests only, and has musical instruments on the walls, which you are allowed to play. Most rooms sport brand new bathrooms, yes the rooms are basic and functional but with musical decor: the lampshades are drum-heads, the chairs are equipment trunks. My room was clean, functional, modern-ish, and absolutely fine considering the price. A good place for younger people. I brought my students here twice as it is an excellent price, staff is very helpful, it is clean, near museums and nightlife, and it's a bit different and unique. You can't walk with bags from train station, you'd want the tram 1, 2, or 5). And, you have to ask at the desk for a hair dryer, which is no big deal. Oh, the water from the shower may get on the floor as there is little threshold between them, however this can happen in fancier places as well. The automatic bathroom light kept cutting off during my shower, but I reported it and they said it would be adjusted. Not a big deal during the day but at night it would be problematic. Overall I would recommend the Backstage to cost conscious travelers who don't mind stairs, and appreciate a place that is a bit unique.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Don't get sucked in by the theme of the BackStage Hotel. Yes the rooms have a rock and roll look to them, but the theme has been implemented cheaply and it really only serves to gussy up what is essentially a pretty cheap place to stay in Amsterdam.

The BackStage Hotel is well located, it's a long walk to the Damn and Central Square but that also means you aren't in the thick of things. It's also not far from the museums and a number of good restaurants and bars.

Beware that four of the rooms are located downstairs under the bar and under street level. These have a tiny window that opens to the street and you can hear the street car each and every time it passes by. I stayed in a room that had shared facilities which were clean.

My biggest gripe is the condition of some of the things in the room. My room had two twin beds and one of them was absolutely shot. The beds are just north of cots. Also some of the lights in the room didn't work and because it was below the street the room felt pretty stuffy. There's NO AC but the room had a fan that did an OK job.

Ultimately there's really nothing really remarkable about this hotel. Have medium to low expectations and you'll do ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get rooms 1-4 they are all below ground and suck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I loved this music themed hotel!! Amsterdam isn't large, so it is walking distance to everything. Rooms are secure with a safe; my single room was small, but suited me fine as a solo traveller. I had a perfect view of the canals!! The staff are really cool people and speak brilliant English and are willing to help. Breakfast is 6.50 euro and has a great selection; you can eat as much as you like. There is one shower and one toilet on each floor - the floors aren't massive. They are kept very clean. The only downside to them was the shower. The water heated up to 50 degrees no matter what setting you had it on...I had to finish washing my hair in the sink in my room. The other only downside is the noise. Amsterdam is a noisy city, and the hotel is on a corner of a main street. Maybe it was just my room considering I was right on the corner, but the loud party goers could be heard very clearly at night (I also had inconsiderate neighbours who sat outside my room taking in loudspeaker in Spanish at 1:30am 3 nights in a row), so it took a while to get to sleep. I think you will have this problem at many places in this city, however. The wifi was fantastic!!! And free which is always good. All in all, a great hotel that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were slated to stay at BackStage for 3 nights and unfortunately that didn't happen.

We arrived in Amsterdam and took a taxi from the airport (AMS) to BackStage, it took about 20 minutes. When arriving we were kindly greeted, the staff was very nice. They told us we would have to wait about four hours for our room, as they were cleaning them. They held our bags in the kitchen and we set out for breakfast to kill time.

When we came back we were told they just finished cleaning our room and gave us our keys. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a private bathroom. The stairs, like mentioned in every review, are very steep and narrow, they were not lying - there is no elevator. Things started to look bad when we had to step over piles of laundry and people sitting with their legs sprawled out in the hallway.

After getting into our room, we were less than pleased. We have put up with a lot while traveling, but this was upsetting. Again, we had to wait for them to clean the room. There was yellow liquid (guessing urine) in the toilet, stains on the chairs and rolled up used kleenex in the comforter. We saw the front desk worker, who was extremely nice and showed him the room - his reaction indicated as well that it was unacceptable and told us there were no other rooms for our stay. We asked kindly if we can change our plans and look elsewhere for a place to stay and he was more than accommodating, as he said they could probably fill the room and let us check out.

It seems like a great atmosphere, so we were a little disappointed. The location cannot be beat, right in the heart of Leidseplein and walking distance to everything. We were able to find another room on AirBnb and had a great stay. If you're looking for a cheap room, with a great location, I would recommend this place, but caution the cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are exactly as shown in the pictures and cosy. A bit off the tourist trail but convenient. Staff is very helpful and always available to answer all sorts of "tourist questions". Breakfast are all worth it. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.