We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I loved this music themed hotel!! Amsterdam isn't large, so it is walking distance to everything. Rooms are secure with a safe; my single room was small, but suited me fine as a solo traveller. I had a perfect view of the canals!! The staff are really cool people and speak brilliant English and are willing to help. Breakfast is 6.50 euro and has a great selection; you can eat as much as you like. There is one shower and one toilet on each floor - the floors aren't massive. They are kept very clean. The only downside to them was the shower. The water heated up to 50 degrees no matter what setting you had it on...I had to finish washing my hair in the sink in my room. The other only downside is the noise. Amsterdam is a noisy city, and the hotel is on a corner of a main street. Maybe it was just my room considering I was right on the corner, but the loud party goers could be heard very clearly at night (I also had inconsiderate neighbours who sat outside my room taking in loudspeaker in Spanish at 1:30am 3 nights in a row), so it took a while to get to sleep. I think you will have this problem at many places in this city, however. The wifi was fantastic!!! And free which is always good. All in all, a great hotel that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    104
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
54
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were slated to stay at BackStage for 3 nights and unfortunately that didn't happen.

We arrived in Amsterdam and took a taxi from the airport (AMS) to BackStage, it took about 20 minutes. When arriving we were kindly greeted, the staff was very nice. They told us we would have to wait about four hours for our room, as they were cleaning them. They held our bags in the kitchen and we set out for breakfast to kill time.

When we came back we were told they just finished cleaning our room and gave us our keys. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a private bathroom. The stairs, like mentioned in every review, are very steep and narrow, they were not lying - there is no elevator. Things started to look bad when we had to step over piles of laundry and people sitting with their legs sprawled out in the hallway.

After getting into our room, we were less than pleased. We have put up with a lot while traveling, but this was upsetting. Again, we had to wait for them to clean the room. There was yellow liquid (guessing urine) in the toilet, stains on the chairs and rolled up used kleenex in the comforter. We saw the front desk worker, who was extremely nice and showed him the room - his reaction indicated as well that it was unacceptable and told us there were no other rooms for our stay. We asked kindly if we can change our plans and look elsewhere for a place to stay and he was more than accommodating, as he said they could probably fill the room and let us check out.

It seems like a great atmosphere, so we were a little disappointed. The location cannot be beat, right in the heart of Leidseplein and walking distance to everything. We were able to find another room on AirBnb and had a great stay. If you're looking for a cheap room, with a great location, I would recommend this place, but caution the cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are exactly as shown in the pictures and cosy. A bit off the tourist trail but convenient. Staff is very helpful and always available to answer all sorts of "tourist questions". Breakfast are all worth it. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here after researching some decent budget hotels in Amsterdam. The rooms were very different and quite liked the musical concept and layout! The staff were super friendly, and gave me valuable information on places of interests and visits. The bar is a cool place, where I got to meet some locals and travelers. Altogether a very warm & friendly place to stay and worth each euro!

Room Tip: Try and take rooms above the ground floor instead of basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here on a hen weekend in April and had two of the 5 person rooms between the group.

Apart from negotiating the steep stairs in heels we had an excellent time. The staff were very helpful on local information and taxis and we returned twice late at night with no problems

The bathrooms were very small but the rooms themselves had a very fun feel and a pleasant balcony for the evening air.

Id definitely return here on another occasion as everything was on the doorstep and walking distance to the trams and airport buses.

Room Tip: The 5 bedroom rooms are ideal for groups - but mind the stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Whenever we go to Amsterdam, we always stay around Leidseplein Square. It's the perfect location, there are plenty of bars, clubs, restaurants etc and even a casino nearby, and it's within a 10 minute walk to Dam Square/Red Light District etc. So a really great location

The hotel is a little basic, but not overly so. Their bar area is cool (and 24 hours), they have a pool table and play some good music.

The rooms differ in size, some are quite spacious but others can be VERY cramped. Some even have a PS3 and guitar hero in them! The decor is really cool with a music theme. There's a drum on the ceiling for a light shade, the mirror is like a backstage theatre/dress mirror. There is also a UK plug socket which was very handy. The ensuite bathrooms (in the rooms with ensuites) were decent, especially the showers.

There are 4 floors, no lift, and the stairs are typically Dutch...VERY steep. If you're on the 4th floor like I was then getting up and down several times a day can be a bit of a struggle. Try to limit the amount of times you need to go back up there...and make sure you pack light. I wouldn't like to drag a heavy suitcase up those stairs!

They offer breakfast for €6. It's somewhat basic (fits on a covered pool table), but actually quite tasty, with complimentary tea/coffee. We first thought this was too expensive, however after having a pancake and coffee for €13 in a cafe nearby on the first morning, we soon realised the price wasn't so bad. And relatively speaking the €6 is certainly value for money.

The hotel is good for large groups, and if we had another party with a large group I'd definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We went for a hen do over the Easter weekend. This hotel ticked all the boxes: great location, affordable and perfect rooms. There were 10 of us so we had two 5 bed rooms, which were good size, clean and brilliantly decorated. As we were there for a drink fuelled weekend the hotel is ideally located to bars and clubs. The staff were really helpful and polite. Yeah stairs are a bit of a nightmare but you'd be hard press to find a building in Amsterdam without stairs so steep! The hotel really helped make the weekend so memorable for all of us. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to young couples/groups who want to enjoy amsterdam for what it is!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Budget Places, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;