We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are exactly as shown in the pictures and cosy. A bit off the tourist trail but convenient. Staff is very helpful and always available to answer all sorts of "tourist questions". Breakfast are all worth it. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    106
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
56
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darjeeling, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here after researching some decent budget hotels in Amsterdam. The rooms were very different and quite liked the musical concept and layout! The staff were super friendly, and gave me valuable information on places of interests and visits. The bar is a cool place, where I got to meet some locals and travelers. Altogether a very warm & friendly place to stay and worth each euro!

Room Tip: Try and take rooms above the ground floor instead of basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here on a hen weekend in April and had two of the 5 person rooms between the group.

Apart from negotiating the steep stairs in heels we had an excellent time. The staff were very helpful on local information and taxis and we returned twice late at night with no problems

The bathrooms were very small but the rooms themselves had a very fun feel and a pleasant balcony for the evening air.

Id definitely return here on another occasion as everything was on the doorstep and walking distance to the trams and airport buses.

Room Tip: The 5 bedroom rooms are ideal for groups - but mind the stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Whenever we go to Amsterdam, we always stay around Leidseplein Square. It's the perfect location, there are plenty of bars, clubs, restaurants etc and even a casino nearby, and it's within a 10 minute walk to Dam Square/Red Light District etc. So a really great location

The hotel is a little basic, but not overly so. Their bar area is cool (and 24 hours), they have a pool table and play some good music.

The rooms differ in size, some are quite spacious but others can be VERY cramped. Some even have a PS3 and guitar hero in them! The decor is really cool with a music theme. There's a drum on the ceiling for a light shade, the mirror is like a backstage theatre/dress mirror. There is also a UK plug socket which was very handy. The ensuite bathrooms (in the rooms with ensuites) were decent, especially the showers.

There are 4 floors, no lift, and the stairs are typically Dutch...VERY steep. If you're on the 4th floor like I was then getting up and down several times a day can be a bit of a struggle. Try to limit the amount of times you need to go back up there...and make sure you pack light. I wouldn't like to drag a heavy suitcase up those stairs!

They offer breakfast for €6. It's somewhat basic (fits on a covered pool table), but actually quite tasty, with complimentary tea/coffee. We first thought this was too expensive, however after having a pancake and coffee for €13 in a cafe nearby on the first morning, we soon realised the price wasn't so bad. And relatively speaking the €6 is certainly value for money.

The hotel is good for large groups, and if we had another party with a large group I'd definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We went for a hen do over the Easter weekend. This hotel ticked all the boxes: great location, affordable and perfect rooms. There were 10 of us so we had two 5 bed rooms, which were good size, clean and brilliantly decorated. As we were there for a drink fuelled weekend the hotel is ideally located to bars and clubs. The staff were really helpful and polite. Yeah stairs are a bit of a nightmare but you'd be hard press to find a building in Amsterdam without stairs so steep! The hotel really helped make the weekend so memorable for all of us. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to young couples/groups who want to enjoy amsterdam for what it is!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed for 2 nights in June 2012 for my Hen weekend. We booked two of the 5 people rooms, one of which was the amazing Jagermister room which had its own balcony overlooking a beautiful canal. This hotel was exactly what we wanted, clean, comfy beds, fridge, ipod docking station, LCD TV, and a huge theatre dressing room type mirror. We LOVED our rooms, they were perfectly big enough for all of us to get ready, and the lockers were run to keep our clothes in! The location is perfect, just a two minute strut in our heals to some fantastic bars and clubs. Also a five minute walk to trams stops, and also the canal where you can get the tour boats. I would defo stay again next time I am in Amsterdam. Warning... The stairs are very very steep!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really nice hotel manged by friendly people. We had a 5 beds room: it was OK and funny decorated on "rock-style" and with a big mural painting sponsored by Jagermaister. Great position, you can avoid public transportatio to go anywhere.
Just one problem: you should be well trained to climb the steep stairs to go upstair.

Room Tip: The four-five beds room in the first floor on the building's corner is really nice 'cause it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.