We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BackStage Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really nice hotel manged by friendly people. We had a 5 beds room: it was OK and funny decorated on "rock-style" and with a big mural painting sponsored by Jagermaister. Great position, you can avoid public transportatio to go anywhere.
Just one problem: you should be well trained to climb the steep stairs to go upstair.

Room Tip: The four-five beds room in the first floor on the building's corner is really nice 'cause it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    143
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
77
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the Backstage Hotel at the end of Feb for three nights; here's some info on the hotel, location, etc.:
Rooms: The first night we were in a twin room which was pretty small, and we were then switched to a double room for the second two nights. The double room was a decent size, and the bed was super comfortable (as were the beds in the twin room). Bathrooms in both rooms were small but clean and the shower was good too. There was no hairdryer in either room, but the reception was able to give us a lend of one, which was great.

Stairs: we read some reviews that the stairs in the hotel were steep, but we didn't realise just what people meant until we'd to climb up four flights of winding steps to our room, just how steep they were - there's no lift, so we'd no choice. if you're anyway infirm, they might be too much, especially if you're higher than the first floor.

Breakfast: We didn't bother with paying for breakfast in the hotel (which is served on the pool table in the hotel) as there are lots of cafes close by (which were open on a Sunday too), which served nicer food for about the same price.

Location: Get the Tram - Line 1, 2 or 5 from the Central Station to Leidseplein, take the first right, walk past Melkweg cafe, and you're there at the hotel. Hotel is in a very nice part of the city - the Apple store is just a short stroll at Leidseplein, and isn't in the Red Light District.

Sights: we highly recommend a trip to the De Prael Brewery (http://deprael.nl) as an alternative to Heineken - and it tastes better too. And if you're looking to try some amazing beer, check out Gollem (http://cafegollem.nl) - over 200 bottles of deliciousness!

Room Tip: Email the hotel when you book and ask for a double instead of a twin - much bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in walking distance of everything you would want to do in the city.
The rooms are average. Nothing Special. The walls are paper thin. I would however recommend getting a room with a private bathroom.
The hotel staff were very friendly,courteous & very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Valais
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hi everybody,

We stayed at the Backstage hotel during 2 nights. The location is perfect, really close to the center. When you are tired, you are happy to walk only 5 minutes from the main center of the city.
When we arrived, the service was really nice, I think it was the boss that welcomed us. After this first day, the service was really poor. The two other employees were really bad with us and just because of it, I won't recommend this hotel.
We booked and double room and we were downstairs just under the bar. I couldn't sleep because people were having a party upstairs and in the room next to us, a couple was having fun all night long...

Room Tip: Ask a room upstairs if you book this hotel, otherwise you will have trouble to sleep even if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far corner of Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazingly helpful staff, couldn't do enough for us at any time of the day.
Hotel, room and bathroom were spotlessly clean - we were in room 106 (triple ensuite).
Location is perfect, few hundred metres from Leidseplein Square which is close enough to stumble back to but far enough that you don't get any of the noise!
Didn't have the breakfast as we were never up in time but it looked and smelt nice.
The only thing I will say is don't have the beer on tap at the bar, didn't taste great and even the barman didn't know what it was!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by lots of steep stairs, it's the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Just rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Backstage Hotel for 4 nights and had a really enjoyable stay. Beds were super comfortable the rooms were very clean. We slept so well here!
I really liked the decor; backstage style mirror with bulbs around, over bed spot lights and the iPod dock was really good! Shower was great (it was set out in the walk in wet room style). Always hot & clean.
The staff were all really friendly and willing to help out with anything. (Even a toastie at midnight, haha) The bar area was nice, although we didn't see many other people around.
Location is good, very close to Leidseplein (about 5 mins walk) and there are loads of shops, cafe's and places to eat here. It is about a 15-20 min walk to Dam Square/Red Light District and 20 mins to the Museumplein, so it is quite easy to get around and see everything.
We would stay again here on our next trip to Amsterdam, due to the friendly staff, clean rooms & great location! Great value for money here.
The only downside is the extremely steep stairs, but if you know anything about Amsterdam you will know that they can't be avoided wherever you stay! (It's much easier to crawl up than walk!) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were allowed to check-in a bit earlier and check-out a bit later just by asking one of the staff. The bar was not as lively as advertised, but still nice. The bed was really comfortable just needs to be shuffled back into place sometimes. The lights around the room vary a lot. The one around the mirror are really strong, whereas the ones over the bed and in the ceiling barely light up the room. The rooms aren't very big but have a surprising amount of storage (with a tall closet, and an ottoman that opens).

Room Tip: Remember you need to request a double bed when you book if you need one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,342 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#44 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#88 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#244 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BackStage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.