We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had fun fun fun til daddy took the tbird away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Margarita

La Margarita
Langebrugsteeg 6, 1012GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31(0)20 6240529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,340 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: A little background about us….La Margarita, Mexican Cafe Restaurant, by the regulars just called “the Mexicans!” has been a landmark restaurant for more than thirty years. Full of Mexican warmth, buzzing with a crazy Latin atmosphere, it really is hard to believe you are in the centre of Amsterdam, yet here , you can let your imagination go wild and enjoy many specialties from the Yucatan region of Mexico. Various delicious dishes like Fajita's, Taco, Burrito's, Tournedos Ranchero and Marinated Niños Eros adorn our menu. Naturally we also serve Mexican beers, Margaritas and other cosmopolitan cocktails to enjoy with these dishes. You can end your dinner with a tasty dessert or, for the true enthusiast, a strong Mexican coffee with Kahlua, Tequila and Cream! But, La Margarita is more than just a restaurant, it’s so flexible! Atmospheric enough to provide a perfect cosy dinner for two yet supple enough to cater for weddings, other receptions and groups of 10 or more at a table. A maximum of 98 people can be catered for “a la carte” if you wish, or, you can choose from a selected menu to suit your needs. We also offer a varied monthly menu from just 19.50 Per Person. For people requiring a gluten-free diet, we always have at least ten dishes on the menu that are gluten free. If you fancy a dish on the menu, which is not gluten free, our chef will gladly adjust the ingredients for you. To find us – Our address is Langebrugsteeg 6, between Rokin and Nes.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We had fun fun fun til daddy took the tbird away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great owner, great food, great experience, their Sangria was to die for. Best Mexican meal I've had outside of Mexico, California or Texas. I only compliments to give here. Everyone enjoyed themselves here including our party. We had a long slow liesurely dinner and enjoyed every minute. I even went upstairs and thanked the cooks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    5
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - shame about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The atmosphere is nice and the service friendly but the food is not good. We had the worst Fajitas we have ever ordered in a restaurant. Everything came cold with micro portions of guacamole, salsa and cheese. Definitely not worth the very expensive price.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Skip La Margarita and go to an Authentic place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

La Margarita has a friendly staff and a cozy atmosphere, but the food is horrible. It appears that the kitchen is confused on what Mexican food is versus Asian food, versus ???. This is our second visit and we decided to write another review because it's that bad. They literally do not know what they are doing.

If you think that wrapping anything in a tortilla qualifies for mexican food then you will be well suited at La Margarita. Otherwise, seek out an authentic mexican restaurant. It's tough to do in Amsterdam, but there are two.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you don't want to wait 90 minutes for you food, we will microwave it next time you come.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

Thus the answer of the waiter for having to wait 90 minutes for the food to arrive, not to mention the Margarita which after a wait of 30 minutes, did not make it in time for the bill.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“friendly, cosy cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

After a very tiring day walking around the buzzing city it was nice to find a little restaurant called La Margarita. I didn't eat here but I can highly recommend the Margaritas - well made by very friendly, competent staff and very inexpensive (for a cocktail in a city) at 7,50 Euros. We sat on the terrace which runs alongside the canal. Really lovely little spot! Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Margarita also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.