We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ambitious, but also pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 7106025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 2,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very ambitious, but also pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

For starters we had some Italian classics. My linguini was nothing short of perfect! It still "haunts" me. The guinea fowl that followed was nice, but nothing special accompanied by just boiled spinach. My wife had a tasty but slightly soggy lobster ravioli. The ambition (and price) level at Roberto's is very high. The value for money does not deserve five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Bo M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, especially the linguini. We will share your comments with Roberto’s Team Members.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Season’s Greetings, Bo M.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    41
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUMMMY!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Food was great - service fun ... and the largest pepper grinders on planet earth --- lol --- recomend for business or pleasure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear WorldTraveler 1300,

Thank you for your positive review of Roberto’s Restaurant. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your meal – in particular the huge pepper grinders which you have helped make famous: http://on.fb.me/1hqI5wC

We have shared your kind comments about the fun service with our Team Members.

Thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and for taking the time to leave this review and we hope to welcome you back here soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
“Very good-mannered staff, friendly and polite. Tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I'd recommend this one to everybody who visits Hilton in AM. Staff is friendly and helping.
Very positive attitude with taste of Italian hospitality.
Had a 4 course mean and enjoyed every one of the meals. Well worth it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ivaylo H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. We will gladly share your comments with Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The opportunity for a quiet, elegant dinner at Roberto's is too much to resist when in Amsterdam, particularly if staying at the Hilton. Service is outstanding from entry through departure. Diners there are guided to appropriate dishes because the staff is professional and obviously trained to listen to the customer.
Even allowing the staff to chose for a diner who likes a diversity of Italian foods brings surprises and new experiences with the food. Appropriate portions make the experience even more enjoyable as guests are not expected to overeat or feel obligated to ask for "doggy bags" rather than feel guilty about waste. From appetizer, through salads, mains, and dessert, everything was the right size.
Atmosphere is comfortable with a variety of table sizes and configurations which you can choose based on your mood. This is not a place where all diners sit in their straight-backed chairs or are forced to eat on couches/lounges. Again, choose the style, even fireplace seating, if that is to your liking. The small bar is also inviting as a place to have an outstanding wine or something small to eat.
Always a repeat and of high value for the price paid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Montanacouple,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you have made Roberto’s a must visit destination in your Amsterdam visits and that you enjoyed your meal with us this time as much as all the previous ones.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. We will gladly share your comments with them.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited Roberto's at the Hilton when I was staying there and it was a Sunday brunch with great quality of food and wine...Service is excellent and great value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your nice words towards our service team as well and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.