We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & Tasteful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 7106025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty & Tasteful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice restaurant with mostly traditional dishes, although I ordered a fish that was baked in salt. The salt was in a shape of a fish and within it, the actual fish (including head and tail). I expected the fish to be salty, but it was absolute delicious I also ordered fall vegetables, which were grilled to perfection. The restaurant was part of the Hilton Hotel (not my favorite hotel group this one looked much better than many in the US) so quite convenient for business travelers, although less so for tourists as it was outside the city's center.
Even though the food was great, it was quite pricy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jsklnknbrg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we thank you for your kind words. We will gladly share all your comments with the Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    71
    38
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is good restaurant: the staff are helpful and looked after us well. They have a bib gourmand menu and an à la carte. The quality of the food is very good: fresh ingredients and a wide selection. The wine prices (as often in Amsterdam) are a bit on the steep side for what they are.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Magnifico M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind words towards our team members. We will gladly share your comments with Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Waited to get a table and for service. Noted there was a big group but shouldn't everyone have reasonable service? Was finally showed to a table after trying to stop a few wait staff passing by. Pasta was not great, too salty and the lobster tail was not fresh. Didn't bother with dessert as service was so difficult. Had to call for my bill twice!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Suetz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience in Roberto’s Restaurant. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the service and food level and we have meanwhile briefed both kitchen and service teams to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Thank you for visiting the Roberto’s Restaurant and we hope to welcome you back on another occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great service and food. Not necessarily cheap. Good knowledge around the wines, very enjoyable meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Chrisl54,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and we thank you for your kind words towards our team members. We will gladly share your comments with Roberto’s team.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s
Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very upscale Italian menu - I had the pasta dish with shaved truffles - to die for!!! excellent service and a good wine list

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Roberto's, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear 501Marj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Roberto’s Restaurant.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we thank you for your kind words regarding our team members. We will gladly share all your comments with them.

Our team is doing its utmost to deliver the highest levels of service and quality. Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy.

We thank you for visiting Roberto’s Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.