We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Max Euwenplein 22, 1017MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31-(0)20-638808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #778 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I eat a lot of sushi and this was one of the freshest I have eaten. The hand made rolls were amazon and the maki rolls were great as well. Service was good and although expensive you get what you pay for

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Even from the beginning you can feel the warmth in the treatment. The ambient was not noisy, the music was low, which gave a great deal of tranquility.
The food was really superb, well balanced; some dishes were really awesome, one of the best my picky daughter even tried.
The personal was attentive, nice and skillful.
An absolutely must-go when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food & Skillful Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were invited for dinner at this restaurant. The moment you walked in, you would be impressed by the set up and decor of the place.

We were given a few types of soya sauce/ seasoning to eat with our food. The chef cooked in front of us and we were very impressed with his skilfullness at chopping, slicing and cutting the ingredients. He was very skilfull and fast with his hands.

The service was good too. If I go back to Amsterdam, I will visit the place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“One of my favorite in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Believe me, if you want to eat good sushi, you need to pay some money, sushi is not a king of "all you can eat" food, so I do not think Hosokawa is pricey. I have been in Japan and had several chances to eat sushi in good places (including Tsukiji market) and I can easily say nigiri in Hosokawa as good as that I had in Japan like fatty tuna, unagi (eel), uni (sea urchin) are very delicious, rice is very well balanced and having a really good flavor. They also have robata grill and I recommend you to try beef if you would like to. I like there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good rest with reasenable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went for a company dinner, the good was good and the price as well. Actually 200 euros for 3 persons, including 2,5 bottles of saque. The place is nice for a date amd also for a different company meeting. Worth to try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosokawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.