We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Max Euwenplein 22, 1017MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
3120638808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,216 of 3,029 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $90
Cuisines: Grill, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Even from the beginning you can feel the warmth in the treatment. The ambient was not noisy, the music was low, which gave a great deal of tranquility.
The food was really superb, well balanced; some dishes were really awesome, one of the best my picky daughter even tried.
The personal was attentive, nice and skillful.
An absolutely must-go when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElrosMZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food & Skillful Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were invited for dinner at this restaurant. The moment you walked in, you would be impressed by the set up and decor of the place.

We were given a few types of soya sauce/ seasoning to eat with our food. The chef cooked in front of us and we were very impressed with his skilfullness at chopping, slicing and cutting the ingredients. He was very skilfull and fast with his hands.

The service was good too. If I go back to Amsterdam, I will visit the place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BorneoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good rest with reasenable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for a company dinner, the good was good and the price as well. Actually 200 euros for 3 persons, including 2,5 bottles of saque. The place is nice for a date amd also for a different company meeting. Worth to try.

Helpful?
Thank Mchaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The sushi was excellent, very fresh. We ordered a la carte for the teppanyaki and we had too much food! The meat was excellent with great flavours and perfectly cooked. The rice and vegetables was again lovely, certainly one to remember! The wine menu was good although expensive. The service was very friendly although you should NOT expect the tappanyaki 'show' you get in most places - it is a much more Japanese approach than American!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
208 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I love Teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After visiting the ArtZuid, openair exhibion in Amsterdam we spoiled ourselves an had a nice meal in the main Japanese restaurant on the Max Euwe square in Amserdam. Again a great experience, good food, well prepared in the hot plate in front of us, and not to forget a goog glass of hot Sake. Although expensive, especially compared with what we were used to during our trip to Japan, we recommend it to eveybody

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing