We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Japanese Food & Skillful Chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosokawa

Hosokawa
Max Euwenplein 22, 1017MB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31-(0)20-638808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #787 of 2,553 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: In the very heart of Amsterdam, chef Hiromichi Hosokawa has been welcoming to his restaurant guests from all over the world, for almost 20 years.Hosokawa, which translates to “narrow river”, will bring you to ancient Japan with its traditional Robata grill, Teppan grill and Sushi style of cooking, but surrounded in a cosmopolitan Amsterdam with its modern and sophisticated ambience.Welcome. And be prepared to be delighted.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food & Skillful Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were invited for dinner at this restaurant. The moment you walked in, you would be impressed by the set up and decor of the place.

We were given a few types of soya sauce/ seasoning to eat with our food. The chef cooked in front of us and we were very impressed with his skilfullness at chopping, slicing and cutting the ingredients. He was very skilfull and fast with his hands.

The service was good too. If I go back to Amsterdam, I will visit the place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good rest with reasenable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went for a company dinner, the good was good and the price as well. Actually 200 euros for 3 persons, including 2,5 bottles of saque. The place is nice for a date amd also for a different company meeting. Worth to try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The sushi was excellent, very fresh. We ordered a la carte for the teppanyaki and we had too much food! The meat was excellent with great flavours and perfectly cooked. The rice and vegetables was again lovely, certainly one to remember! The wine menu was good although expensive. The service was very friendly although you should NOT expect the tappanyaki 'show' you get in most places - it is a much more Japanese approach than American!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“I love Teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After visiting the ArtZuid, openair exhibion in Amsterdam we spoiled ourselves an had a nice meal in the main Japanese restaurant on the Max Euwe square in Amserdam. Again a great experience, good food, well prepared in the hot plate in front of us, and not to forget a goog glass of hot Sake. Although expensive, especially compared with what we were used to during our trip to Japan, we recommend it to eveybody

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was over 16 years ago that I had teppanyaki at this place and wanted to give it a try... Not all staff is as friendly and the chef preparing was not very skilled (but very friendly).

The food was good but a bit overprized, we will not come back any time soon. Decorum is very middle of the road... When I spend almost 300 euro for 2 I want all to be perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosokawa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hosokawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosokawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.