We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine paring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Utrechtsedwarstafel

Utrechtsedwarstafel
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 107, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 625 4189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $77 - $140
Cuisines: Italian, French, Organic, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Within strolling distance from Theatre Carré there is the stage of Hans Verbeek and Igor Sens, the two culinary artists from restaurant Utrechtsedwarstafel. Their performance is a ballet of wine and food. Indulge yourself with the culinary compositions by Igor the Chef and the wines of Sommelier Hans. An adventurous evening awaits.The commercial concept of Utrechtsedwarstafel is straightforward and easily explained. Igor purchases the freshest produce of the season and subsequently composes fine delicate dishes for a multiple course menu. Just mention the number of courses you wish to eat.For every menu Hans creates the perfect wine arrangement. Every course is accompanied by the right match of wine. However, the arrangements vary with respect to the complexity and quality.The bare essence of Utrechtsedwarstafel is that every course is a fertile marriage of wine and food. Its fruits bear your palate a sheer joy.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent wine paring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

The concept is simple: choose the number of courses (3 to 5) and choose your wine level (normal or premium). Nothing more to do, except enjoying the fine cuisine from the chef and the atypical wine selection served from one of the owners of the place. One of the many positive points of the restaurant is the service: friendly, efficient and with personality. Both owners come to your table and spend some time explaining their cuisine or wine choice. You get the eyes, the taste, but also the history behind a wine. The place is tiny but the space is well arranged so that every table has its privacy. Dim lights and candles make it a very romantic place.
We enjoyed our evening there and would warmly recommend this place for an "out-of-the-ordinary" culinary experience in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    11
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Tiny restaurant in which you choose your number of courses (3-6) only. The chef supplies those courses with only input about allergies and items you can't eat. Each course comes with wines chosen to complement the food. The result is a wonderful experience

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow, Wow, Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My husband and I ate at this wonderful restaurant during a weekend trip to Amsterdam, and I want to go back to Amsterdam primarily to eat here again (don't get me wrong, Amsterdam is lovely, but this restaurant was unforgettable!). The food is marvelous, the wine is perfect, and everything is chosen for you so all the thinking is taken out of it! The owner pairs all the courses with wines from his cellar, and he definitely knows his wine and exactly which types of food will complement the wines perfectly, and vice versa! When we arrived we were warmly greeted by another one of the servers, and the owner made sure to be the one to talk us through each wine that we had (5 pairings in total!) throughout the night. The service was absolutely perfect, and people were always there when you needed them but weren't intrusive in any way. I was also quite happy that they were able to accomadate my preferences, since the only meat I eat is chicken and fish (my husband has no restrictions so we had a few courses that were different). The restaurant is small and intimate, but not too small to feel crowded - the ambiance definitely feels like you've stumbled across a high class, local gem (if that makes sense). Overall, a fantastic, wonderful experience, and I cannot WAIT to return!! Five + stars to the owner and his entire staff.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had the best food in our whole trip of Amsterdam. There is no choice so you have to go open minded! We went for the four courses with wine pairings and it was all fabulous. No fancy gimmicks just excellent quality, cooking and knowledgeable service with the wines. Really fantastic evening and can't wait to go back again!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect food, amazing wine, great service;best restaurant visit ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We were lucky to get a table for valentines and our entire night was just perfect. This is a proper hidden gem and we felt like there was excellent value for the price. Lovely staff, adorable atmosphere, epic food and the wine was so good we had to buy some bottles with us home! Highly recommended. Booking a table the moment our next Amsterdam visit is clear.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utrechtsedwarstafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Utrechtsedwarstafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utrechtsedwarstafel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.