We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
Herenstraat 25 | Grachtengordel/ Jordaan, 1015BZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31206380148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #617 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $55
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

lovely restaurant with friendly owners. We had fantastic local asparagus with ham, followed by the seabass. if you want some local Dutch food then this is a special treat....it wasn't cheap particularly but it was delicious and some great wine as well. Service was good and the restaurant is cosy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winter Springs, FL
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place was recommended by our B & B for a special dinner. The restaurant is small, but cozy. Service was good but a little slow. My wife and I ordered the Sea Bass and we were both very disappointed. My wife orders Sea Bass quite often, but we both agreed it was too mushy and maybe was not fresh. The menu is very limited. They had mentioned they did not get a fresh delivery that day and I guess that should have been a red flag to us. I might try this place again, just because of it's reputation. But it would depend on what the menu was that day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pretty restaurant located in a pretty street. Food is good but limited. Friendly service in a soft tuned ambiance. Recommended for a classic romantic evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Prego was recommended by our B&B. The restaurant is small, but the atmosphere is great, the staff is very kind and helpful and the food is delicious. The menu is not big, but lovely, with meat, fish and vegetarian options. As it was spring, we had the white aspargus starter - mine with ham, my husbands with smoked salmon. The mains were white fish and Dutch lamb - absolutely delightful. Price was OK - abourt 90,00 euros with wine and water. The restaurant seemed very popular (it was full), so booking is recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jugazolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This resaurant was recommended by our B&B. It is not difficult to find, being on a road which connects the Prisengracht and Keisergracht canals, near the northern end.
We were greeted by the owner / manager, a very helpful and charming man. There is a very short set menu. Bread and butter was provided and a small amuse-bouche of red pepper and chorizo soup, very tasty. Wines were available by the glass.
We shared a first course of shrimp croquettes, very good, with recognisable pieces of shrimp, not just a mash. Then we waited, and waited, and waited. Service was SO SLOW - even with the help of an equally charming and friendly waitress. Finally our steak arrived - well cooked exactly as we had requested, with bearnais sauce, fat chips and a salad of frisee and rocket which cut through the richness of the sauce.
We decided that as it had taken so long to receive two courses - nearly two hours - that we would skip dessert.
The cost was approximately 85 euros for one starter, 1 half carafe of wine, 1 bottle of water and 2 main courses.
I would have given this restaurant an extra star but for the slow service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetQuantock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing