We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prego

Prego
Herenstraat 25, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Improve this listing
Ranked #539 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

lovely restaurant with friendly owners. We had fantastic local asparagus with ham, followed by the seabass. if you want some local Dutch food then this is a special treat....it wasn't cheap particularly but it was delicious and some great wine as well. Service was good and the restaurant is cosy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, FL
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place was recommended by our B & B for a special dinner. The restaurant is small, but cozy. Service was good but a little slow. My wife and I ordered the Sea Bass and we were both very disappointed. My wife orders Sea Bass quite often, but we both agreed it was too mushy and maybe was not fresh. The menu is very limited. They had mentioned they did not get a fresh delivery that day and I guess that should have been a red flag to us. I might try this place again, just because of it's reputation. But it would depend on what the menu was that day

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pretty restaurant located in a pretty street. Food is good but limited. Friendly service in a soft tuned ambiance. Recommended for a classic romantic evening.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Prego was recommended by our B&B. The restaurant is small, but the atmosphere is great, the staff is very kind and helpful and the food is delicious. The menu is not big, but lovely, with meat, fish and vegetarian options. As it was spring, we had the white aspargus starter - mine with ham, my husbands with smoked salmon. The mains were white fish and Dutch lamb - absolutely delightful. Price was OK - abourt 90,00 euros with wine and water. The restaurant seemed very popular (it was full), so booking is recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This resaurant was recommended by our B&B. It is not difficult to find, being on a road which connects the Prisengracht and Keisergracht canals, near the northern end.
We were greeted by the owner / manager, a very helpful and charming man. There is a very short set menu. Bread and butter was provided and a small amuse-bouche of red pepper and chorizo soup, very tasty. Wines were available by the glass.
We shared a first course of shrimp croquettes, very good, with recognisable pieces of shrimp, not just a mash. Then we waited, and waited, and waited. Service was SO SLOW - even with the help of an equally charming and friendly waitress. Finally our steak arrived - well cooked exactly as we had requested, with bearnais sauce, fat chips and a salad of frisee and rocket which cut through the richness of the sauce.
We decided that as it had taken so long to receive two courses - nearly two hours - that we would skip dessert.
The cost was approximately 85 euros for one starter, 1 half carafe of wine, 1 bottle of water and 2 main courses.
I would have given this restaurant an extra star but for the slow service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.