We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Alp Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alp Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

After my Girlfriend and I spent three days previously in the Delft, we made our way to Amsterdam so we would be close to the Airport when we left and we still had much sightseeing to do. I had heard about The ALP hotel over the website booking.com where the rooms looked modern and relaxing. We booked a standard twin room with a balcony which was a reasonable price for the two of us. Each of us had been to Amsterdam many times before this stay, so we wanted something not to central, but still close by to all attractions as we wanted to see some more of the Museums and Churches.

We arrived at the ALP Hotel within the evening after visiting The Keukenhof Gardens, so we were both very tired. The ALP hotel is located on De Clercqstraat, which was a street neither of us had passed down before. After asking the VVV ( Tourist Information Desk ) at Centraal Station, we found what tram number we needed to take us to the Hotel. If anyone is staying here and is unsure of what Tram to take, take Tram 14 and listen out for the stop Marnixstraat, that will take to to De Clerqstraat. If you want dropped right outside the Hotel door, stay on the tram for one more stop and you will get off the tram at Bilderdijkstraat. When you get off at the Bilderdjikstraat, the ALP Hotel is right across the street. So, it may be a little out of the central, but still within distance to main attractions and there are always trams going up and down this street getting you to various parts of Amsterdam.

Upon arrival, the Receptionist greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome. We checked in straight away. We were given an welcome drink or we could help ourselfs to a large bowl of fresh fruit which was very nice. The receptionist was extremly helpful and polilte rather than a too formal. There was a small Bar area at the back with a selection of wines, a coffee machine and at the very back near the garden area, there was a small room with two computers, both with internet access and a number of English guide books. The Receptionist carried my heavy backpack to my room. Beware, those of you who have never been to The Netherlands/ Amsterdam before, the Dutch stairs are very steep and is a common feature to many Dutch Houses and Hotels. There was a small staircase and our rooms were on the first floor.

Our room was of a normal size, very airy and bright with two comfortable single beds joined together, again a common feature in European Hotels. On the wall there was a lovely new plasma TV with a good selection of Dutch, French, German, English and American programmes. There was a small table just below the TV for storage and there was a small bowl of fresh fruit layed out, which we could help ourselfs too and fresh bottels of mineral water. On our beds were two small bars of Milk chocolate which were delicious. At the side of the wall, there was again storage space, with hangers and a place to leave your clothes. If you had any valuables, there was a small safe to leave in your money, passports etc Beside the small table at the front of the room were two good sized chairs, perfect for relaxing in at night and chatting.

The WC was quite small, but again, perfect if you are just a couple travelling. There was a toilet, a sink and a mirror and to the right there was a large shower in the corner. The only thing I could fault was the shower door was broken, but this didnt really bother me as water didnt get out the shower. There was many clean towels for us, small bottles of showergel and bodywash and shoeshine towels if your shoes got scuffed from walking about too much. On the wall there was a very modern hairdryer that started automaticlly when you picked it up. This hairdryer I would say is designed for travel purposes, its small but more for people with shorter hair. If you are fussy about your hair and the way you style it, I would maybe advide to bring your own hairdryer. But it does the job. The shower had nice warm water, its just a shame the shower door had broke. When you finnished getting ready in the morning, there was a large full length mirror at the side of the wall back in the room.

As we stayed in the ALP Hotel in mid March, it was still slightly cold during the day, so we never really made much use of the Balcony. It was certainly nice to leave half open at night if the room got a little stuffy and it was good to walk out in during the early morning before breakfast. I would advide couples travelling in the Summer months to invest more in the twin room with the Balcony as it would be great for sitting out on in an early summer evening with something to drink. The balcony was very nice and over looked into a back garden with a view of Dutch apartments.

My Girlfriend and I usually went down for breakfast around 9am. The Breakfast was lovely and Continental. You could help yourself to a selection of cereals, fresh bread, butter and preserves,eggs, cold meats, fresh fruit, yogurt and warm pastrys. You could help yourself to the self service coffee machine which gave you a small selection of various coffees to choose from. If you like tea with your breakfast, there was a small selction of tea bags at the back. Beside the coffee machine were two large jugs of either apple juice, orange juice and fresh milk. If you wanted to read, there were some Amsterdam guide books at the Reception desk and a back-room with a bookshelf and magazines. If you wanted to catch up with the news, there was again, another large Plasma TV screen with CNN running so you could watch the daily headlines. There were no newspapers at the Hotel, although if you wanted to buy one, there was a shop just at the corner selling all kinds of newspapers. If your visiting Amsterdam for a short weekend, I would advise you to take advantage of the discount tokens in the Hotel that give you money off major attractions, not only in Amsterdam but in The Netherlands.

I was sad to leave the ALP Hotel as it was so welcoming and friendly. I believe the Receptionist was very informative and helpful with any questions regarding the Hotel itself or about Amsterdam. I must inform anyone who is staying at the ALP hotel and is leaving from here to please make good use of there Taxi service back to Schiphol Airport. You will find the number at the Reception Desk. If you have alot of luggage and you have to be at Schiphol Airport early in the morning, please ask the Receptionist to call you a taxi. Its a set price for only 12,50 euro each and it takes you direct to your terminal. The taxi wont come for you straight away as they only pick up at set times through-out the day. They do run from early morning to late in the evening- Please make use of this as you will probably pay more taking a tram and then a train back to Schiphol. The Taxi driver was very Polite. So, please make use of that.

the ALP Hotel is ideal for a short weekend break to Amsterdam, or even longer, you will feel very welcomed and taken care of. My Girlfriend and I will be back here in October 2009.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    93
    18
    8
    13
See reviews for
25
105
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

The Alp was great from beginning to end, and way above our expectations of a 2 star hotel. The receptionists were very friendly, the room was fantastic (wooden floors, duvets rather than blanket/sheet arrangement, nicely decorated, flatscreen TV, newly refurbished bathroom, balcony) and faced the back of the building towards a quiet backyard area. The breakfast was good and the location was fine too - could have been more central, but the walk was no problem.

  • Liked — The room and bathroom
  • Disliked — Couldn't turn the radiator off so it got a bit too warm in the night.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

My husband and i have just spent 3 nights at this hotel. We had a jacuzzi in our room which was fab, Our room was spotless and cleaned every day. The good thing about this hotel also is the trams stop right outside, taking only 10/15 mins to either central station, dam square etc. I can honestly say that when we return to amsterdam we will definately try and book here again. Pls dont hesitate to contact me should you need and other queries. All in all a fantastic hotel and high upon my list. So get booking to stay here.

  • Liked — convienently situated, and of course the jacuzzi.
  • Disliked — cant say i didnt like anything, fantastic place to stay.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

I stayed with eight friends at this hotel(stag do),and i must say this hotel was fantastic! It was clean,with flat screen tv's,(with bbc 1,2,etc),the manager went out his way to help us,even giving us coffee and rolls after we got up 2 hours late for breakfast!! yes,the stairs are steep but every hotel in amsterdam has steep stairs! clean towels every day,brand new showers,all for £50 each a night! tram 13 is out side the hotel, and runs to dam square every 7 mins,taxi is 5 euros back(when you stumble back in the early hours!) I highly recommend this hotel to any one,also has a newsgent next door which sells english newspapers and tobacco at the same price as duty free at the airport!!(what else can you ask for!!)

  • Liked — free safe,clean towels,lovely showers,great tv's..
  • Disliked — stairs are little steep,but they are every where in amsterdam!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I did not stay in the hotel my self, its my brother visiting
me who stayed here as its not far from my house.

I found this hotel by passing by it. and looking in,
the hotel looks great, it newely opend 2 star hotel
but its 10 times better then most 3 star hotels in amsterdam.
its really has a botique style to it. should be a 4 star!

really and recomandation for short or long term stays, my brothers room even had a fridge and a small stove kitchennete.
but unbelivable was the bubbelbath ! really a rare thing to find in a 2 star property!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the state of the rooms
  • Disliked — no elivator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbounre
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Alp for 3 nights and found it to be okay. It is a little bit out of town but having said that there is a tram stop right outside the door.

The hotel is clean and tidy and not too expensive compared to other hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Clean and free internet
  • Disliked — Breakfast, location
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alp Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Address: De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small-scale hotel offers elegant, practical accommodation right in the city center, near the lively shopping and entertainment areas. Have your breakfast in the cozy common room and use the free Wi-Fi to stay in touch with the home front. Weather permitting, you can sit out in the garden and sip a drink. Step outside the main entrance to catch a typical Amsterdam tram right in front of the hotel towards all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alp Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.