We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alp Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Alp Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Banchory, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“small but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A well situated hotel on tram and bus lines. Very friendly and helpful staff, coffee/tea available in the lobby and lots of fresh fruit. Excellent breakfast.The rooms are small and there is no lift and typical Amsterdam steep stairs, stay somewhere else if this is a problem. There is a lot of street noise, mostly trams, during the day but almost none between midnight and 6am when the trams don't run.

Room Tip: A room at the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    20
    9
    12
See reviews for
28
115
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokkaichi, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here from December 22 through the 26th of 2013. It was a fantastic experience. First off, the staff was uniformly friendly and very helpful. The woman who greeted us even brought one of the suitcases up the stairs, even though I could have easily done it myself (and probably more easily than her!). Every time we came back from wherever, the staff would get us any kind of tea or coffee we wanted. There was a ton of fruit free for the taking all day on the front counter.

A number of other guests groused about the steps. They ARE steep, there's no getting around that. However, they are not impossible - ever for smaller people like I and my wife. Plus, it's a mark of being a REAL traditional Amsterdam house. I found them quite interesting. No problems at all.

The breakfast was really stunning too. LOTS of things to choose from. A massive spread of cheese, bread and meats were out there every morning. There was also cereal, yogurt, and fruit. If you take advantage of the breakfast, you can probably skip a meal later!

The bed also felt softer than I usually like... at first. Nevertheless, I slept very soundly and woke with not only no back pain, but the back pain I had come with disappeared. (Back pain after sleeping is something I often have. Not here!)

Finally, I'm not sure what all of the other complaints are about the trams. They are out there. You can hear them if you're looking for it, but it was nothing that would wake me up. Maybe this was just us. I grew up in suburban Detroit where nighttime gunfire is fairly common and I live in Japan now where people are packed in pretty tight most places. If you have problem with (mild) noise, Alp Hotel gives you some free earplugs. We didn't need them at all.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANT1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very friendly & helpful staff. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Excellent location. Nice garden view from my balcony at the back. This is the way it should be done. I wish them every success, they deserve it.

Room Tip: If you are over 60, infirm, or you have heavy luggage, you might want to ask for a room on the 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently stayed at The Alp for 4 nights. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a boutique hotel close to the City centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was by far the best continental breakfast we have ever had in Europe. The hotel was approximately 15 minutes walk to the Dam and there is a tram stop directly outside the hotel. We booked a small room with an ensuite and that's exactly what it was, very small but the room was serviced daily and was extremely clean. We complained that the window would not close on our first night and the window was immediately fixed. Try this hotel, you will be very pleasantly surprised. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great atmosphere and rooms were descent. The location was very close to the center, 10 min. walk. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. When they cleaned our room the were leaving two apples, two chocolates and 2 small bottles of water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Located 10 minutes from the main railway station, the hotel is easily reached by tram 13 which stops outstanding. A small, stylish hotel with the warmest of welcomes and lots of nice touches including a drink on arrival and free tea coffee and fresh fruit for guests throughout the day. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast selection is exceptional.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street - back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel, small rooms but adequate, large balcony over looking the rear courtyard, reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good, all fresh and tasty, also there was a good choice.
It's easy to get to, tram 13 stops right outside, it only took 45 minutes from Schiphol to being checked in, we were allowed to check in 3 hours early which was helpful.
But loses 2 stars from us, I particularly booked a room that provided a kettle and coffee making facilities, there was not a kettle or any hot drink facilities.
Overall I would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alp Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Address: De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small-scale hotel offers elegant, practical accommodation right in the city center, near the lively shopping and entertainment areas. Have your breakfast in the cozy common room and use the free Wi-Fi to stay in touch with the home front. Weather permitting, you can sit out in the garden and sip a drink. Step outside the main entrance to catch a typical Amsterdam tram right in front of the hotel towards all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Alp Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.