We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away From Home.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Alp Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alp Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Home Away From Home.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I did not know what to expect, because of the price, but I made the reservations anyways because most of the hotels I wanted were fully booked. When we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and he was very helpful. He checked us in, made us comfortable, took our luggage to our room and offered us free drinks as a welcome. He told us that breakfast was from 7-10 AM. Our room was simple and clean and comfortable, and as picky as I am the bathroom was also clean and something I can do for our 5 day stay. It is centrally located and walking distance to most attractions. The next morning, we woke up and went down just to find out that we were 45 minutes late for the breakfast, so we just got our cups of coffee and to our surprise, the guy asked us if we wanted breakfast. I was so embarrassed to say "yes", so I just looked at him and smiled. After all, we were late coming down. To our surprise, he got the whole trays from the kitchen and put everything like it was and so as if we never missed anything! Except for the steep stairs, which I believe is norm is Amsterdam, everything was great. We enjoyed our stay and after a hard day of walking and enjoying Amsterdam, we go home to this humble place and I feel safe. Everyone was great and made us feel at home. If ever we will go back to Amsterdam, I don't mind going back to this place! Thanks everyone for such a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a back room so it is quiet. Also, get a 2-3 beds so your room is bigger. Ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    93
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
27
108
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

To begin, I'd like to say that this hotel would not be the same if not for the staff. Everyone welcomed us with a genuine smile, helpful hand and eagerness to help. Alp hotel is family owned and operated and it shows with all they try do for their guests. When we arrived we were immediately offered coffee/tea/water/fruits. We arrived late and a person at the front desk offered numerous restaurants that were still open. They were also helpful with directions and really knowledgeable about most of the city's points of interest. Only 10 minutes walking distance to Westerkerk and Anne Franks House + another 5 minutes to Dam Square from there.
The rooms were although simple but large enough and nicely decorated with a personal touch (apple and a piece of chocolate on the  pillow every morning).
TV, plumbing, and a fan worked fine; however, Wi-Fi was spotty, which was probably the only downside.
Also, I really have to mention this: BRACE YOURSELVES for a very steep climb up the stairs, especially if you are on the last 5th floor. There is no elevator. I was out of breath by floor #4 without bags.
Overall, nice stay! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Delighted by my stay in this hotel located in a quiet area, I'll go back for sure on my next trip to Amsterdam! Very clean rooms and hotel in general, excellent and varied breakfast, wonderful welcome by a helpful and competent staff! Rear rooms have a balcony furnished with table and chairs, there is also a rear courtyard on the ground floor where you can have breakfast or a drink (coffee or tea offered on arrival). There is no lift but the staff is ready to help going up and down the luggage (there is a safe luggage room too)! Definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very helpful staff , good location , good breakfast loved the spa bath ( don't use too much bubble bath though ) generally a good value hotel, we really enjoyed our stay - can also recommend Mike Bikes tours of the city !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We discovered the Alp Hotel through booking.com and reserved our room less than an hour before arriving; I selected this lodging based on what I felt was a reasonable rate, the convenient location, free WiFi, free breakfast & numerous positive reviews on Booking.com & TripAdvisor.

Even though we arrived about about 40 minutes after making the reservation & 2 hours before normal check in time the associate at the front desk was very organized with our information and more than happy to accommodate us with an early check in.

Immediately after checking you in you are are offered to sit outside at one of the tables in the walled garden patio and enjoy a "Welcome Beverage" which was either a soft drink, a cold glass of beer or wine; we selected a beer for me (Heineken) and white wine for my wife. This is a very nice touch and we appreciated a chance to relax and chat in the peaceful setting the hotel provides.

After giving us 10 minute or so to relax the associate (Onur Alp) returned to provide us information about the hotel, the immediate areas and to answer any questions we had. Onur was wonderful at making you feel welcomed & appreciated for choosing to stay with them.

We would come to learn over the next three days that all of the staff associated with this hotel were extremely friendly and always willing to be of service however they could

Our rooms (we had two over the two nights we stayed there) were very clean, comfortable & very adequate in size for the two of us.

The first one had a nice balcony that overlooked the walled garden patio area in the back, the second was larger and had a sink & mini refrigerator, this one was street side so you were able to watch the action and had a nice view of the wonderful old buildings up and down the street.

We were very pleased with both of our accommodations & personally I found the age/history of the building very charming. I would have to say though both of our rooms were on the "first floor" (there are no street level rooms) so we did not have to carry our bags up to the higher floors, which would have been a real workout I'm sure.

We would hot hesitate and look forward to staying at the Alp Hotel on future visits and highly recommend the lodging to anyone traveling to Amsterdam - I am certain you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for six days, the staff were very helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome.
The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was excellent with a good selection.
The hotel is situated in a convenient location for transport links.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took tram 13 from Centraal station and arrived on De Clercqstraat st. but didn't see the hotel initially. After exiting the tram walk across the street...stay to your right and the hotel is in the next block right past the corner bookstore, nail shop and clothing store. The hotel registrar offered us something to drink and a cookie with our cappuccinos. We sat in the courtyard while he gave us a map and some suggestions for enjoying the city. I had a piece of fruit and noticed the two computers provided by the hotel for internet access were occupied by two young adults. If you're in excellent shape, then you'll have no difficulty negotiating the steep stairs at this hotel. We were grateful for the exercise, but grew a little tired of having to climb the stairs. This hotel capped off a three week vacation traveling around Europe and of all the hotels we stayed in, this was far from what we were accustomed to, given the size of the room. The hotel was reasonably priced, and the amenities nice. We wanted to be centrally located, have internet access, free breakfast, and a shuttle to the airport. Most of the reviews were excellent, but wished I'd been more attentive to the comments regarding the size of the rooms. Otherwise, this hotel satisfied all our conditions at a great price with the exception that the shuttle is a taxi ride for 39 euros. The 2nd floor room facing the street was extremely cramped but clean, had a chocolate and an apple on each bed and no way to cool the room with the exception of the window with no screen, so we propped it open as best we could and still felt the heat and stuffiness even though the window was open as far as we could get it to open. You will have to deal with the noise on the street and earplugs are provided. Both of us are "city" dwellers and the outside noise was not a problem for us. When we asked about a larger room, the receptionist gave us a key to a fourth floor room also facing the street that was a tiny bit more spacious for 20 euros more, but given the exertion on the stairs we opted to stay where we were. The internet worked fine, and breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Meats, cheeses, yogurts, breads, jams, orange juice, cereals, boiled eggs, a fruit salad and a green salad too for the health conscious. The Anne Frank house is within walking distance and strolling along the street was fun too. I am doubtful I would stay here again in the summer, unless I am traveling alone and it is the only room available. All things considered it is a good hotel if you are physically fit and don't mind the small space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alp Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Hotel Amsterdam

Address: De Clercqstraat 52, 1052NH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small-scale hotel offers elegant, practical accommodation right in the city center, near the lively shopping and entertainment areas. Have your breakfast in the cozy common room and use the free Wi-Fi to stay in touch with the home front. Weather permitting, you can sit out in the garden and sip a drink. Step outside the main entrance to catch a typical Amsterdam tram right in front of the hotel towards all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alp Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alp Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.