We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly inn at canal area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #205 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Friendly inn at canal area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful making you feel welcome. Location is relatively good. Overall price-worthy stay at Amsterdam city area.
There is narrow stairs as at all small hotels at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is busy street at front side, back side is quieter. No elevator but best rooms are still at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    62
    17
    25
See reviews for
18
100
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I, both nearly 60, had a wonderful 3 night stay a week or so back. Room small but clean and perfectly acceptable for cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to trams. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and 3 other friends stayed at hotel iris for 4 nights, me and my friend had the ground floor room which was very small.. had to squeeze to get into bed, balcony door was broken so there was a constant draft and we couldnt lock it..and in the bathroom the shower door wouldnt close properly! other than that great stay..breakfast is overpriced save ur money and go to the lidi over the road, staff are great,helpful, very friendly, the hotel is good value for money would most properly stay here again if came on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
thnx for the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Really relaxed staff, friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely narrow and quite soft but ok. Location wise Iits at the southeast of the centre which is great if u dont want to be in the middle of all the tourists. Best to get a bike-which they have to rent. its very close to pijp which has a street market and lots of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My sister, 2 young nieces (age 1 & 3), and I stayed at the Hotel Iris for a night and it was a fun experience! The room was very clean and the staff are extremely friendly. They even let us put the stroller in storage so we didn't have to bring it up the stairs to our room on the top floor. The stairs are a little steep and skinny but the experience is worth it, super cute hotel and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you pack light, the stairs are steep and can be tough to bring suitcases up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have never used tripadvisor as we believe you need to see for yourself... Hotel Iris yes has steep stairs and yes has small bathrooms but isn't that part of the Dutch experience? We are all here to embrace their culture and lifestyle TRUE???
The breakfast is continental, fresh and vast. Coffee, tea, juices, cereals, waffles and muffins not forgetting local ham and cheeses with freshly cooked breads.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and have comfortable beds. The water pressure is strong and plentiful.
And last but not least the lovely staff, you seriously can not fault them. They always have a friendly smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We loved staying there and look forward to our return.
Love from the Girls in room 7 :) xxxxx

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is recently in 2012 totally renovated. This renovation is finished at the 1th of June.We have 19 rooms. We have nice cosy small rooms. WE HAVE A NICE GARDEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.