We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay at Hotel Iris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #220 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3 night stay at Hotel Iris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After reading previous posts I was terrified of what I might find at this hotel. Needn't have worried. Yes, the room was small but as we were only using it for somewhere to sleep/ clean up it fitted our needs. Staff were helpful and polite, beds were comfortable and there were no noise issues with neighbouring rooms.
If you want a no frills place to stay I would recommend Hotel Iris

Room Tip: Typical of all old Amsterdam houses, stairs are narrow and steep so contact manager and request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    42
    15
    20
See reviews for
14
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and 3 other friends stayed at hotel iris for 4 nights, me and my friend had the ground floor room which was very small.. had to squeeze to get into bed, balcony door was broken so there was a constant draft and we couldnt lock it..and in the bathroom the shower door wouldnt close properly! other than that great stay..breakfast is overpriced save ur money and go to the lidi over the road, staff are great,helpful, very friendly, the hotel is good value for money would most properly stay here again if came on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
thnx for the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Really relaxed staff, friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely narrow and quite soft but ok. Location wise Iits at the southeast of the centre which is great if u dont want to be in the middle of all the tourists. Best to get a bike-which they have to rent. its very close to pijp which has a street market and lots of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My sister, 2 young nieces (age 1 & 3), and I stayed at the Hotel Iris for a night and it was a fun experience! The room was very clean and the staff are extremely friendly. They even let us put the stroller in storage so we didn't have to bring it up the stairs to our room on the top floor. The stairs are a little steep and skinny but the experience is worth it, super cute hotel and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you pack light, the stairs are steep and can be tough to bring suitcases up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have never used tripadvisor as we believe you need to see for yourself... Hotel Iris yes has steep stairs and yes has small bathrooms but isn't that part of the Dutch experience? We are all here to embrace their culture and lifestyle TRUE???
The breakfast is continental, fresh and vast. Coffee, tea, juices, cereals, waffles and muffins not forgetting local ham and cheeses with freshly cooked breads.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and have comfortable beds. The water pressure is strong and plentiful.
And last but not least the lovely staff, you seriously can not fault them. They always have a friendly smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We loved staying there and look forward to our return.
Love from the Girls in room 7 :) xxxxx

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked to stay for 3 nights paying nearly 300€ for a room, as it was our first holiday, online as the photos of the hotel looked very clean, spacious and comfortable. When we arrived there, we learnt truly how pictures can be deceiving as we were given a room that was the same width as the height of an average man with 2 single bed squeezed into it. To get into the bathroom, you had to side shuffle and the blind for the room were very see through meaning whoever was in the back garden could see into our room whether or not they were closed. When we first complained, the receptionist claimed that she could do nothing about the room and that she would simply put a sheet over the two single bed to make it a double, which was impossible as they were 2 different heights and very uncomfortable. After a 2nd complaint on our very first day we were moved to hotel max over the road and were told by the same receptionist because of their mistake we owed them an extra 10€. The second room, despite being on the top floor, was much nicer in size, however the key failed to work 3 times meaning we were locked out and had to keep running back and forth to Iris to complain. Also my boyfriend was badly bitten by bed bugs in the new room, which did get the 10€ fee waived but wasn't taken seriously by the same receptionist.
The staff were unbelievably rude towards us and left us feeling very angry and stressed during the holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, absolutely appalling service, rooms, hygiene and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Iris R, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hotel Iris Staff and Management would like to contribute the following information:

1. Hotel photos are in fact of our hotel. It is not possible to publicize pictures of every single room, so guests may stay in an accommodation that has not been featured on our website or through one of our online partners.

2. Accurate dimensions of guest rooms are provided on all online publications and available to potential guests prior to making a reservation. This is specifically done to avoid misunderstandings and false expectations.

3. All of our accommodations are equipped with both black-out drapes and sheer curtains. It is also not certain as to why the guest feels that their room could be looked into as the garden is on the ground floor and the guest's room was on the first. It The hotel was not informed of this dissatisfaction from the beginning of the stay until check-out.

4. The guests were upgraded to a larger room and no 10 euro fee was charged.

5. Room key cards become demagnetized when in close proximity of mobile phones or credit cards. The guests were informed of this after the first incident. They were also informed that in the event that they needed further assistance, the doorbell could be used to call Hotel Iris and avoid having to walk back.

6. When the guests claimed to be bitten by bed bugs, they were immediately offered a room move to which they declined! After several unsuccessful attempts to convince them of the severity of this claim, the guest requested to stay in the same room for the last night. With all due respect to the wishes of each individual, we found it unusual that someone would want return to a room with bed bugs.

7. Regardless of the fact that Hotel Iris is truly selective during the hiring process and prides itself on providing genuinely good service, these guests were not poorly treated. It is understandable that expectations may not have been met and that there are aspects of the hotel that can be improved. Suggesting that our team was rude due to this fact is simply untrue.

With this information we hope to have provided our past, present and future guests with a better understanding of the situation.

We encourage anyone interested in our hotel to please see all of our publications and/or to contact us directly for more information.

With kind regards from Amsterdam,

Hotel Iris Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is recently in 2012 totally renovated. This renovation is finished at the 1th of June.We have 19 rooms. We have nice cosy small rooms. WE HAVE A NICE GARDEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.