We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you! X” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #217 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thank you! X”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have never used tripadvisor as we believe you need to see for yourself... Hotel Iris yes has steep stairs and yes has small bathrooms but isn't that part of the Dutch experience? We are all here to embrace their culture and lifestyle TRUE???
The breakfast is continental, fresh and vast. Coffee, tea, juices, cereals, waffles and muffins not forgetting local ham and cheeses with freshly cooked breads.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and have comfortable beds. The water pressure is strong and plentiful.
And last but not least the lovely staff, you seriously can not fault them. They always have a friendly smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We loved staying there and look forward to our return.
Love from the Girls in room 7 :) xxxxx

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
thank u ver much for this great review

advise book directly at our website and get discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    44
    15
    22
See reviews for
14
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked to stay for 3 nights paying nearly 300€ for a room, as it was our first holiday, online as the photos of the hotel looked very clean, spacious and comfortable. When we arrived there, we learnt truly how pictures can be deceiving as we were given a room that was the same width as the height of an average man with 2 single bed squeezed into it. To get into the bathroom, you had to side shuffle and the blind for the room were very see through meaning whoever was in the back garden could see into our room whether or not they were closed. When we first complained, the receptionist claimed that she could do nothing about the room and that she would simply put a sheet over the two single bed to make it a double, which was impossible as they were 2 different heights and very uncomfortable. After a 2nd complaint on our very first day we were moved to hotel max over the road and were told by the same receptionist because of their mistake we owed them an extra 10€. The second room, despite being on the top floor, was much nicer in size, however the key failed to work 3 times meaning we were locked out and had to keep running back and forth to Iris to complain. Also my boyfriend was badly bitten by bed bugs in the new room, which did get the 10€ fee waived but wasn't taken seriously by the same receptionist.
The staff were unbelievably rude towards us and left us feeling very angry and stressed during the holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, absolutely appalling service, rooms, hygiene and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Iris R, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hotel Iris Staff and Management would like to contribute the following information:

1. Hotel photos are in fact of our hotel. It is not possible to publicize pictures of every single room, so guests may stay in an accommodation that has not been featured on our website or through one of our online partners.

2. Accurate dimensions of guest rooms are provided on all online publications and available to potential guests prior to making a reservation. This is specifically done to avoid misunderstandings and false expectations.

3. All of our accommodations are equipped with both black-out drapes and sheer curtains. It is also not certain as to why the guest feels that their room could be looked into as the garden is on the ground floor and the guest's room was on the first. It The hotel was not informed of this dissatisfaction from the beginning of the stay until check-out.

4. The guests were upgraded to a larger room and no 10 euro fee was charged.

5. Room key cards become demagnetized when in close proximity of mobile phones or credit cards. The guests were informed of this after the first incident. They were also informed that in the event that they needed further assistance, the doorbell could be used to call Hotel Iris and avoid having to walk back.

6. When the guests claimed to be bitten by bed bugs, they were immediately offered a room move to which they declined! After several unsuccessful attempts to convince them of the severity of this claim, the guest requested to stay in the same room for the last night. With all due respect to the wishes of each individual, we found it unusual that someone would want return to a room with bed bugs.

7. Regardless of the fact that Hotel Iris is truly selective during the hiring process and prides itself on providing genuinely good service, these guests were not poorly treated. It is understandable that expectations may not have been met and that there are aspects of the hotel that can be improved. Suggesting that our team was rude due to this fact is simply untrue.

With this information we hope to have provided our past, present and future guests with a better understanding of the situation.

We encourage anyone interested in our hotel to please see all of our publications and/or to contact us directly for more information.

With kind regards from Amsterdam,

Hotel Iris Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We extended our stay and change to hotel Iris. Because the max was fully booked.
Very nice hotel. Good service.
Amsterdam was a great experience for us. Thanks to great service we had from Hotel Max and Hotel Iris

Room Tip: there is no swinmmingpool but tripadvisor doesnt allow me to clear it up TIP bike rental@hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We want to thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I would definitely go back to Hotel Iris, since it's cost benefit relation is very good. The staff was always helpful and the Hotel's localization is also a strength. We didn't had a big problem with the stairs because our room was on the ground floor. Although the room was small, it was still comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lousy breakfast. No coffe. Has toilets without a basin to wash hands. Yek! Wet paint in hallway.
No proper luggage storage. No elevator, very steep stairs. Extra charge at check-out on top of price agreed in reservation. And not even cheap.
Go somewere else!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Frist of all we had discount prices because of the construction. The sink is in THE room to wash hands. We never mentitioned anything Aboutaleb elevator. This is an historical building okt of 18 century.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice staff and a great location right on the canal, just a short walk to the museums and restaurants. The breakfast was pretty basic, continental style. The room was so small that it had two twin (mattresses only) beds with only 12-18 inches between them, a folding chair and a tv. No room to move around, as the width of the room was as wide as the two beds plus 18 inches. The length was just a bit longer than the beds. The bathroom, while cute, offered a toilet that you had to turn sideways to sit because there was no legroom. It was literally placed in the tile shower area! Strange design! We wondered if perhaps this was a youth hostel because it was so bare bones and tiny. If you are elderly, the stairs are very narrow and steep with no elevator. If you have heavy luggage, it presents a bit of a problem when on the top floor. But we are 18 and 51 years old and in shape so it didn't bother us. In comparison with the other hotels we stayed in around Europe the price did not match up with the accommodations at all. But, as long as you know what to expect, the location and courteous staff are great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the review. This helps to improve our business,.

For a future visit to Amsterdam. Please book directly with us and we can grant a room with preferences as. Garden view or Canal view or groundfloor.These roomtypes are only bookable by the hotel at better room rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is recently in 2012 totally renovated. This renovation is finished at the 1th of June.We have 19 rooms. We have nice cosy small rooms. WE HAVE A NICE GARDEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, T4B, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.