We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very convenient and clean hotel for a very cheap price.

Certainly no frills and no customer service to speak of. If you're going to be out most of the day then this is a fine place to sleep for little cash. If you're the kind of person who gets upset by basic accommodation then pay more for a better hotel. If you want to keep it as cheap as possible then this place will do.

Good location, only 15 min walk to main center and the room was a good size. Tiny bathroom but wasn't a problem for us. Importantly the room was warm and clean so we were happy enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. If you come to Amsterdam again we wil offer you a special arrangement. Please book us directly and you get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    60
    16
    24
See reviews for
16
90
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flensburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was promissed a loft room
but when arrived tired in the afternoon, we got a dirty and wery wery small room, with toilet in the hall, so small that you hardly couldnt turn aaround in the, same with the room awfull small

will newer recomend this not ewen too my enemy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
The room which was reserved was a basic room instead of the mentioned room. The guest thought he booked something else. Our hotel has NO LOFT ROOMS for couples. This guest unfortunaly thinks different. Everybody is free to make there comments but this is out of proportion. We are happy that the majority of the guests like Hotel Iris.

If you book directly by us we can give you benefits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Located near Leidseplein.Ideal to start shopping or for a night out. Very friendly staff. We were surprised to find a shower in our room. Small but clean room. If you need a clean and cheap place to sleep, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
thank u for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My room was very small but clean. Although tight, the private bathroom was clean and an advantage. The stairs were a bit steep and tight. The staff is really, really friendly and helpfull. The breakfast/lounge/garden area is very nice. I recommend it because is a good value for money and is close to important places like Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Voldenpark, for example.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. If you come to Amsterdam again we wil offer you a special arrangement. Please book us directly and you get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel has a very good location with a perfect view. The room was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend Hotel Iris to everyone! It is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
thanks for this great review.

Please come back to Amsterdam.

On our website you can book directly and we give the city tax as a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel has a very good location with a perfect view. The room was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend Hotel Iris to everyone! It is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the great respons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hostel team was really nice and helpful.
The room was ok but the bed sheet were a bit dirty...
Plus we were just in front of the reception desk, so it was a bit noisy.
But nice place anyway, it was especially pleasant to have our breakfast close to the little garden outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Come back again and we make a special arrangement for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is recently in 2012 totally renovated. This renovation is finished at the 1th of June.We have 19 rooms. We have nice cosy small rooms. WE HAVE A NICE GARDEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.