We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good value for your money!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located near Leidseplein.Ideal to start shopping or for a night out. Very friendly staff. We were surprised to find a shower in our room. Small but clean room. If you need a clean and cheap place to sleep, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
thank u for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    83
    77
    24
    27
See reviews for
27
122
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My room was very small but clean. Although tight, the private bathroom was clean and an advantage. The stairs were a bit steep and tight. The staff is really, really friendly and helpfull. The breakfast/lounge/garden area is very nice. I recommend it because is a good value for money and is close to important places like Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Voldenpark, for example.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. If you come to Amsterdam again we wil offer you a special arrangement. Please book us directly and you get the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel has a very good location with a perfect view. The room was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend Hotel Iris to everyone! It is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
thanks for this great review.

Please come back to Amsterdam.

On our website you can book directly and we give the city tax as a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel has a very good location with a perfect view. The room was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend Hotel Iris to everyone! It is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the great respons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hostel team was really nice and helpful.
The room was ok but the bed sheet were a bit dirty...
Plus we were just in front of the reception desk, so it was a bit noisy.
But nice place anyway, it was especially pleasant to have our breakfast close to the little garden outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Come back again and we make a special arrangement for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a cheap hotel with a great location and great staff. Everyone I met during my stay were helpful and friendly. The rooms aren't the greatest, and the beds are not the comfiest, but it's just fine for a few days' stay. The wall-to-wall carpet in the rooms could well be replaced by wooden floors, but to me that was no biggie. When in Amsterdam, you should *NOT* spend more time than absolutely necessary in your hotel room!

Unless you've got a back that requires high quality beds, this hotel is a no-brainer for people who want a cheap hotel with access to the canals, tram, bus and even reaching the city centre by foot in less than 20 mins.

I will definitely consider the Iris for my next trip to Amsterdam.

Just be aware that this is not a high quality hotel, and might not fit the bill for older people due to steep stairs (good luck avoiding that in Amsterdam!), small rooms and not-the-best beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. Hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montespertoli, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is cool, in a Beautiful place, not so far from the city center and near the metro station and the bus stop. The room was not so big, but is ok. The price is good and last but not least The girls at the desk are very Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringraziamo per il vostro apprezzamento. Speriamo di darvi il benvenuto come ospite nel nostro hotel di nuovo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Sarphatikade 17, 1017 wv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is recently in 2012 totally renovated. This renovation is finished at the 1th of June.We have 19 rooms. We have nice cosy small rooms. WE HAVE A NICE GARDEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.