We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Vivaldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I agree with everything said by the other reviewers here. This was a cheap option but we definitely got what we paid for (if not worse). Our first room was dreadful, on the ground floor and facing the road. The sound of the pedestrian crossing, cars, bikes, people and the soft beds ensured that we had a terrible night's sleep. We asked for a move to the back of the hotel and were told that the room would be smaller - wasn't sure how this could be, but it was - no space between the beds at all. And only two hangers for both of us (four in the first room)! When I asked about this at reception, I was told that there were no more available. The rooms were fairly clean but the state of decoration was terrible, with wallpaper hanging off the walls, broken chests of drawers on the hallways, etc. The reception staff in the main were terrible, with no idea of customer service, although I will say a good word for the blond man, who did help us as much as he could. All in all, not somewhere I would recommend at all.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    50
    44
    117
See reviews for
18
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pretty run down place, our room was on the bottom floor there was no space to even walk as you open the door the bed is just at your feet. Room faced a tiny window towards the street which constantly had people sitting in front of and talking even at night so sleeping was hard. The breakfast was stale food and pretty inedible in my opinion. The elevator fits barely two people and is better to just take the stairs. Staff was unhelpful and unfriendly I found when I asked them a question I was bothering them.

Positives were that the WiFi signal reached to my room and that you are right across from the Heineken Experience. The positives don't out weigh the negatives. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you don't mind the sound of traffic, and feeling every car,bike, truck, tram go past the room window and shaking the room, beeping of horns and just generally too loud; for a window that won't close then this is the hotel for you. The bedroom was awful, the walls were all mucky and had lots of holes and wallpaper was coming off the walls. However, the bathroom was wonderful, great shower, great toilet, great sink; the bathroom had no fault. The rest of the room was just hideous and is definitely not the standards of Vivaldi's art work.

Room Tip: It was too noisy, if you're looking for somewhere cheap to stay and don't mind staying wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is unquestionably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.Yes,it's fairly cheap;but not excusably so.I don't mind staying in small bedrooms;but not smelly(the Toilet/shower room ),scruffy(peeling wallpaper)and potentially dangerous (the large broken shard of glass on the one mirror.)The hotel's only favourable commendation would be its position - but this,of course,is not something the staff/management can be given any credit for.For those interested in seeing how bad it's possible for a Hotel to actually be,I suppose I would perversely recommend a visit.To add insult to injury,there was even a large Beehive right outside my bedroom window!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Absolutely terrible. Room in basement, damp beds, mold in bathroom, bugs in rooms. Mold on curtains. Common areas absolutely disgusting also. Washed everything from my shoes to my toiletry bag as soon as I got home. For the price you pay, you could stay at a much nicer hostel, that isn't as far of a walk from the city's center. I can't state enough how absolutely horrible this hotel was.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, try to get a room on a top floor where you can safely open a window. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked this place with a group of friends and I can't say that I would recommend it to anyone. The only good thing about this hotel is the very good location right by the Heineken brewery. Otherwise, I can confirm everything from the other reviews: small rooms, mold in the bathrooms, smelly rooms, et cetera. Do yourself a favor and look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#270 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#150 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.