We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where hope goes to die....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivaldi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where hope goes to die....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We only have ourselves to blame but I do wish we read the comments before we booked this hotel.
Colossal Nightmare – comes to mind when we walked into this hotel. Originally we booked with their sister hotel (Hotel Paganini) but upon check-in we were thrown into a room at this hotel – right next to reception (Room 001).
The man at the front desk looked up when we walked in, rolled his eyes and said “Name or something?”.
The “cell”, apart from the dust, mould on the bathroom ceiling, no blackout curtains (and our room was on street level), lack of double glazing, holes in the bed sheets, bathroom that flooded, one lumpy pillow (we think it was that), no heating, TV that didn’t work/no remote, no cupboard, NO soundproofing, room size was the width and length of two single beds – was OK.
On the first night we got back in quite late and decided to shower. We let the water run for 5mins to allow it to warm up and we were greeted with the shrilling sound of the fire alarm which appears was set off by the steam. After about 5mins the man at reception came to our cell to enquire on what happened. We explained it was from the steam and he left. In the morning the lady on reception said she needed access to our cell to check the fire alarm. When we came back that night we noticed there was a wire sticking out of the alarm. We thought this a little odd so, we ran the hot water again to see if we could set the alarm off. It didn’t go off so we believe they cut the fire alarm (and in a building like this – that it not what you want to know).
It’s Amsterdam, and people are out late and make noise when coming in – we totally get that. In any other hotel it wouldn’t be a problem but when you’re in a hotel where you’re only separated by the lowest grade plywood it suddenly becomes an issue.
First night it sounded like there was a herd of elephants running around on top of us. Second night, our lovely/not lovely neighbours kept locking themselves out of the room, screaming expletives and repeatedly knocked on the door to get someone to let them in. From what we could gather – someone was having a bad experience on some pretty funky stuff. This went on for HOURS and, for two young women staying in a below substandard hotel – that is not cool.
Needless to say, we decided against paying 4euros to eat in the grotty breakfast bar.
Really, we could write pages and pages more but you get the drift. I wouldn’t let my dog stay in this dirty, unsafe, disaster of a “hotel”. I know it’s tempting to stay somewhere on the cheap for a little break but PLEASE – DO NOT BOOK HERE This place, and its’ sister hotel (which has a worse rating then this place, so I suppose we did get some luck!) need to be shut down immediately. How they are still allowed to stay open for business is beyond me. It’s a squat of the lowest kind.
AVOID AVOID AVOID.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    21
    35
    32
    77
See reviews for
12
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I can't spreak for the rest of the rooms but family room 503 was disgusting! I realize this is a budget hotel but for €271,00 I don't expect a moldy shower, moldy pillow and a toiletbrush that.... lets just say, shoud have been thrown out years ago. Two legs on 2 of the single beds broke which meant a very uncomfortable night. I would not recommend nor return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Reading all that comment i felt like i have the chance i stayed 3 Nights in a twin room on the last floor with a nice view the check-in was fast,tight room, perfect location , very clean bathroom, good buffet breakfast for only 4 euros you can't expect better for that budget .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

On arriving late Friday night we were told we were staying in a different hotel as there was no room to stay here, even though we had booked and confirmed a room 4weeks previous. The place where we were to stay is apparently a sister hotel but it didn't state this when we were booking it. We were very frustrated as the room we were put in was small dirty and smelled. The Asian man on the desk didn't care and basically did nothing to help improve out stay. As it was nearly 1am we had other choice but to stay for the night. At half 7 the next morning we were woken by an Asian woman who asked us about the issue we had staying she then told us to leave, pushed her way into the room and tried to take our belonging, she physically pushed us and try to steal. We had to call the police as we were frightened and unsafe. This sounds like a made up story and me and my friends are still shocked it happened. This place needs to be shut down it is disgraceful. Luckyily we walked 10mins up the street to the Apollo museum hotel where the staff are very nice and helpful and the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

In fact the reviews mentioned below are TRUE. Can't they read those reviews and try and improve their standards. Lobby needs a lick of paint, fag ends need clearing up from the front entrance. Yucky smell from shower trap needs addressing. Two of their staff both of a Chinese origin need staff training, how to welcome guests, assist their needs, instead of peeing their eyes on the computer! Only good thing they have is the powerful shower!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel has the exact price/quality standards.

I stayed there with 3 friends. We payed 100eur for 6 nights. I thought worse for 16eur/night, but I think it was great for such price. I have read the other negative comments - what do you expect for 16eur/night?

Tram stop, bar and the supermarket is just around the corner. The city was ~15min walk and to the Central Station ~25min. We had a room with a great view, so we could see the Amsterdam every morning when we woke up.

The Latvian receptionist was cool and very helpful. Other staff was friendly as well. The room was a bit dirty when we arrived, but it's ok - at least we didn't have to share a bathroom with anyone.

Overall a positive experience!

Greetings from Estonia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Although the shower was amazing, the room was small, very far from the centre, the only window led out into the corridor and was therefore noisy, extremely hot and stuffy and our room was not cleaned.

Room Tip: Don't believe the photos the room is tiny and the hotel is really far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vivaldi Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.