We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Vivaldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 312 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't do it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I went to Amsterdam for 4 nights with 2 friends. We booked online to stay at the "hotel" and it worked out that we were paying 72E each for all 4 nights. It is the first time we had travelled together and if I am honest we didn't do enough research at all!!

When we arrived at the hotel (it is more like a shabby hostel) we are so tired after travelling 10 hours on the coach from London to get there. We went to check in, to be told that we needed to pay extra because of some kind of tax however, we were under the impression that we had paid all of that online. I showed the male receptionist my booking confirmation etc and he said that it was all wrong and we needed to pay these extra euros. To save any more fuss we agreed, paid and got given our room number and key card.

The room we were staying in was actually in a completely different building so we had to the lug all of our bags down the road to where we would be staying. When we got to the building, it looked rough, smelt damp and wasn't exactly very welcoming. As we were staying for 4 nights, and being all female, we had a fair amount of luggage and to find that there is no lift and our room was number 205 we were not very impressed. After struggling with our bags up the stairs we got to our room... It was tiny! We had a balcony - which would have been quite nice if the view wasn't an overgrown, ugly courtyard, and if the door wasn't open when we arrived and if there was actually a way to lock it!! Not only did we have a door we couldn't close securely, the curtains didn't go all around the windows which would allow people to see inside, see all of our things and worst of all see us getting changed etc. The shower didn't have a door or curtain (although it was powerful and there was plenty of hot water). There was no way of getting a safety deposit box and there was a tiny cupboard which we could use as a wardrobe.

We then had to go all the way back down the road to the main reception to complain about the room and asked to have our room swapped with another where there would be no balcony and with curtains that go all the way over the windows - not much to ask! They changed our room to another and we settled in that one. The room again was small but we weren't there that much so it was just a place to sleep.

The room was cleaned every day and they offered us breakfast however, we found food elsewhere.

All in all... We stayed in the hotel as little as possible.

My advice to anyone going to Amsterdam would be DON'T STAY THERE! And do as much research as you can before you go.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    44
    37
    97
See reviews for
15
52
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

would be happier if could mark it zero stars. Arrived at Vivaldi after a long days walking, from the front we instantly knew this would be terrible. The receptionist was strange and rude. we got out room card and went to our room (which was another horrible building down the street) the carpets were horrific on entrance. We made it to our room and the smell of mould would knock you out. You could hear the people in the next rooms talking. The room was freezing and consisted of stained walls/carpets and a sofa bed which when you sat down it touched the floor. We immediately agreed we could not stay there, we booked another hotel on our phones (Easyjet hotel in van osterstraat). we went back to the reception and explained the situation, the receptionist tried to tell me that he could not refund any money (179E for 3 nights) eventually he refunded one night. the easy jet was 120 and was fabulous. dont make the mistake of bookind the dingy, dirty vivaldi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We paid Euro 62.50 for one night in October 2013. That's about 85 dollars. Our room was relatively clean, although it was at the top of 5 stories in a building with no elevator. Our bed was very soft. So soft that we both kept rolling into the middle of the bed. Our shower was curved at the top and I ended up banging my head against the wall (I am 6'1")

Breakfast is an additional 4 Euro.

I would not recommend this hotel, although it was close to the Heineken Brewery Experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Expensive hotel, and actually it is more like a hostel than a hotel. We paid more than 200 euros per night, and we just got a very small room with 4 beds and a small bathroom. The room was clean though, and the location is allright (not too far from the centre, and next to the Heineken brewery). I think this 'hotel' is way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Probably the worst hotels we've ever stayed in. First off, they weren't sure about our booking even though we had all the paperwork in front of them. The rooms weren't ready even though we came well after the check in time; they had the cleaner in when we were giving our room who rudely told us to wait in corridor unteil he'd finish....to be fair there wouldn't of been enough room for three of us in the room, even one person was pushing it.
The room after cleaning was dirty, very hot and smelly. The shower room was terrible and I think the mrs peeing over me would of been cleaner and of a higher water pressure. Our room was in the basement and right next to the busy road with the bed pushed up against the outside wall and below the window. It honestly felt like I was sleeping with my head on the pavement. The bed itself had stains on stains on stains and a WW2 army issue blanket to keep you warm.
Admittedly yes, we're in Amsterdam and didn't spend much time in the room anyway but after we saw what we had we tried to stay out as late as possible, get as trolleyed as possible and spend as little time as possible in there. I wish I had a bigger suitcase as I would of stayed in that outside over-night.
Breakfast was good......a piece of melba toast, some wafer thin ham and cheese....continental indeed. The best part of our stay at Vivaldi was leaving.

Suppose I should mention the good points.......there was toilet roll, albeit half a roll!

There are much better places to stay at less the cost, don't even think about it!

Room Tip: Anywhere but the front....and possibly the middle or back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.