We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want a disease of some sort, stay in this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivaldi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“if you want a disease of some sort, stay in this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

would be happier if could mark it zero stars. Arrived at Vivaldi after a long days walking, from the front we instantly knew this would be terrible. The receptionist was strange and rude. we got out room card and went to our room (which was another horrible building down the street) the carpets were horrific on entrance. We made it to our room and the smell of mould would knock you out. You could hear the people in the next rooms talking. The room was freezing and consisted of stained walls/carpets and a sofa bed which when you sat down it touched the floor. We immediately agreed we could not stay there, we booked another hotel on our phones (Easyjet hotel in van osterstraat). we went back to the reception and explained the situation, the receptionist tried to tell me that he could not refund any money (179E for 3 nights) eventually he refunded one night. the easy jet was 120 and was fabulous. dont make the mistake of bookind the dingy, dirty vivaldi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    22
    35
    34
    84
See reviews for
12
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We paid Euro 62.50 for one night in October 2013. That's about 85 dollars. Our room was relatively clean, although it was at the top of 5 stories in a building with no elevator. Our bed was very soft. So soft that we both kept rolling into the middle of the bed. Our shower was curved at the top and I ended up banging my head against the wall (I am 6'1")

Breakfast is an additional 4 Euro.

I would not recommend this hotel, although it was close to the Heineken Brewery Experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Expensive hotel, and actually it is more like a hostel than a hotel. We paid more than 200 euros per night, and we just got a very small room with 4 beds and a small bathroom. The room was clean though, and the location is allright (not too far from the centre, and next to the Heineken brewery). I think this 'hotel' is way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Probably the worst hotels we've ever stayed in. First off, they weren't sure about our booking even though we had all the paperwork in front of them. The rooms weren't ready even though we came well after the check in time; they had the cleaner in when we were giving our room who rudely told us to wait in corridor unteil he'd finish....to be fair there wouldn't of been enough room for three of us in the room, even one person was pushing it.
The room after cleaning was dirty, very hot and smelly. The shower room was terrible and I think the mrs peeing over me would of been cleaner and of a higher water pressure. Our room was in the basement and right next to the busy road with the bed pushed up against the outside wall and below the window. It honestly felt like I was sleeping with my head on the pavement. The bed itself had stains on stains on stains and a WW2 army issue blanket to keep you warm.
Admittedly yes, we're in Amsterdam and didn't spend much time in the room anyway but after we saw what we had we tried to stay out as late as possible, get as trolleyed as possible and spend as little time as possible in there. I wish I had a bigger suitcase as I would of stayed in that outside over-night.
Breakfast was good......a piece of melba toast, some wafer thin ham and cheese....continental indeed. The best part of our stay at Vivaldi was leaving.

Suppose I should mention the good points.......there was toilet roll, albeit half a roll!

There are much better places to stay at less the cost, don't even think about it!

Room Tip: Anywhere but the front....and possibly the middle or back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vivaldi Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.