We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Vivaldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    23
    39
    35
    88
See reviews for
13
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was our second stay in this hotel. We got a room in the basement, little window but no daylight, poor electric light. Window wasn't able to shut perfectly. Room side was at an intersection - therefore it was very loud. Couldn't sleep at all.
We asked to switch rooms, no comparison. Got an awesome room on the first floor, with big windows and a great view. We even had a little balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Clean, great location & cheap! Me & my friends recently stayed here and had a brilliant time. Ignore the negative reviews. It was well worth the money. Great place to stay if your in Amsterdam to party or travelling! Ignore the negative reviews!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemgo, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

the hotel is located close to the main attractions, and with good transport network.
the room is very small, cannot open the door because of the bed, and the bathroom door because of some small table fixed in the wall. it was pretty clean and quiet. we stayed 4 nights, nobody came to clean the room or take the garbage, we had to do it ourselves.
although we booked vivaldi hotel, we were sent to another building, next to the hotel. breakfast is basic and it is not included in the room price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

At the airport I decided to check out the reviews... 72 terribles and not one excellent! O dear, what have we done!? On arrival; okay it doesn't look great from the outside, you walk in and there's a VERY steep, narrow staircase, maybe 72 people have fallen down the stairs... BUT there is a lift for those slightly intoxicated. The staff: Well not the friendliest I must admit but we didn't book for staff we booked for somewhere to put our heads down for 3 nights. After walking up the dodgy stairs we entered our room on the 2nd floor and what a pleasant surprise! Very clean, 6 bed door (perfect for the 5 of us) Bathroom very clean, lot's of fresh towels, the shower was amazing and the beds were pretty dam comfy for bunk beds. Being called a hotel I think this is a bit misleading as yes, it is more of a hostel but what the hell, it's £16.00 a night, you're in Amsterdam, you just want somewhere to sleep and shower before going out again. Location is good. We didn't bother with breakfast as we preferred eating out. So to some up: Good location, clean rooms, good bathroom, great shower, cheap, hostel not hotel, get over the staff and enjoy it. If you want a cheap place to stay then go for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.