We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldnt get no sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Vivaldi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
“couldnt get no sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

i couldve handle the tiny rooms and the not so friendly staff but the noise killed me, i couldnt get no sleep as i could hear every little sound from the other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    48
    40
    104
See reviews for
15
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

rude staff, prison-style room which wasn't anything like the pictures at all! Expensive, not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked double room got twin asked about the double i booked was told to bookout nextday and wait for a double not the hotel in broucher room small curtain were dirty rightt no main road next door to a pub closes at 3 am.
breakfast not continentil this is more like a backpacker hostill than a hotel
dinning room scuffy not for a family holiday got to pay a deposit if you want remote for tv i wiil never go back to this hotel drunks sitting on the steps to into / hotel / out the back of the hotel a mess when we you go to amsterdam dont stay there

Room Tip: dont stay at the vavaldi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Couldn't wait to get out of this hotel and write a review to warn others NOT to stay at Vivaldi Amsterdam! The room was horrible. My double bed literally took up the entire room. There was maybe 2 square meters of walking space which was occupied by two suitcases. There was no closet or shelving only a coathook attached to the wall. The room did not even come with the very standard things such as complimentary soap or even a mug or kettle for coffee. The "television" had one channel and all of the buttons on the unit turn the tv off if touched so there is no adjusting the volume nor is there a remote. The bathroom is adequate. It has an odd smell and the shower is small. I am not sure if the water temperature is the same throughout the hotel but during my stay it was either scalding hot or ice cold. I could have even lived with all of this because my standards are quite low as a travelling student however on top of all of this, the room was FILLED with ants! They were all over the windows and the floors and even the bed. We had to move our pillows to the other side of the bed in order to avoid them somewhat. Do yourselves a favor and NEVER stay at this hotel. It is truly awful!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I didnt expect much when booking this hotel but it turned out to be a very interesting stay. When we first saw the room, which was in an other building, with the entrance floor, we thought we should not stay there for one minute. but since we wouldnt stay in the room, but just for sleeping, we stayed. First of all nothing seems safe. you should give deposito if you want to use tv remote or hair drier. we went outside evertime locking our luggages. its location was very good though very close to tram stop, and its everyhting in Amstrerdam. We wouldnt stay there again, because if you want to visit Amsterdam, you should book early or you could stay a far side of the town, and use trams.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep avoid lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Booked for 4 nights didn`t risk staying one night ,receptionist told us we were to stay in the "Pagannii" down the road and each morning walk back to Vivaldi for breakfast. It quickly became apparent that staying at either of these "hotels" you would be required to wipe your feet before leaving and stepping into the street. Quite honestly whats needed for each of these places is either a bulldozer or being taken out by an air strike.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel was not the most beautiful place and our room was very dark and dingy, however we knew this would be the case due to the incredible price. It was by no means luxurious but the necessities were there, bed linen was changed and towels changed daily so would recommend this place for people who are travelling on a budget but do not want to be in a hostel. It was clean, and with the exception of one, the staff were all very helpful and friendly. There was a little garden area at the back which was nice and it was right on a canal with a nearby park. It was not too central so the area was very pretty but you could walk to the centre very easily as well as to museum square. There was tram stops right outside which take you to the station in maximum 10 mins and to the centre in 5. Cool art gallery nearby and live music cafe further into de pijp which was also really good.
You get what you pay for but I would definitely return to this hotel for the price and great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivaldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.